|
| |
Education: Reference Sources
Reference materials, kept on the
first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and
subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories,
etc. A small sample of the collection is represented below. Click on the
title in the list below to link to the
catalog record for location and call number.
|
|
 |
Almanac of American Education [annual]
(2005-present) [Bernan]
Previously titled Education Statistics of the United States.
Education and demographic data presented to allow the user to
understand and compare the quality of U.S.
education at the national, state, and county levels. |
|
|
|
 |
Career
Opportunities in Education 2001
For 90 careers in the field of education, this book provides detailed
position descriptions and information on salaries, special skills and
requirements, employment prospects, advancement prospects, associations,
and tips for entry. |
|
|
|
 |
Dictionary of Multicultural Education 1997
An alphabetical listing of terms related to multicultural education.
Includes court cases and legal precedents regarding diversity and
multicultural education. Does not contain biographies. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
American Education (3 volumes) 2001
Brief background information on education topics. Includes short
biographies. Appendices: Chronology of Education in the United States,
Signification Federal Legislation, Significant U.S. Supreme Court
Decisions on Education. Index. |
|
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Education (8 volumes) 2003
Background information on topics in education including affirmative
action, creativity, dropouts, drug and alcohol abuse, ethics,
multicultural education, and risk behaviors. Volume 8 includes Appendix:
Court Cases, Legislation, and International Agreements. INDEX.
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Special Education 2000
Includes biographies, articles on educational and psychological tests,
legal materials, and articles on interventions and conditions relating to
special education. |
|
 |
Fact Book: Handbook of
Education Information 2002 (California Dept. of Education)
The annual Fact Book is a collection of statistics and information
on a variety of subjects and issues concerning education in California. It
is designed to aid reporters covering education and to serve as a
reference for educators, legislators, and the general public. |
|
|
|
 |
International Encyclopedia of Education Second Ed.1994
A twelve-volume encyclopedia which presents
an overview of the international scholarship being conducted on
educational problems, theories, practices, and institutions. Includes
extensive indexes and bibliographic references. |
|
 |
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook 2003
Contains basic consumer health information about learning disabilities,
including dyslexia, developmental speech and language disabilities,
non-verbal learning disorder, and other conditions such as ADHD, brain
injury, hearing impairment, etc. Includes facts about educational
issues and assistive technology, coping strategies, a glossary of
related terms, and resources for further help. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
Quick Guide to Education
Data Resources
2003
A tabletop reference to selected NCES (National Center for Education
Statistics) web site tools. For librarians, students, and parents. Helpful
information on finding information on the NCES web site. |
|
 |
Social Sciences Citation Index 1966-1991
This multi-volume set allows researchers to find research that has been
cited in other works (books or articles). From 1991 to
present, doing so is even easier by using the index in its online form
on
Web of Science
database. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|