Education: A Pollak Library Research Guide
Cal State Fullerton

Home
Up
Library Home Page Library Catalog

 

Education Law Web Sites
Compiled by Greg Yorba, Reference Librarian

Dictionary of the Law
http://dictionary.law.com/
Definitions of 3,000 legal terms. Searchable and browsable.

American School Board Journal
http://www.asbj.com/index.html
ASB Journal includes an index to articles and some full text on their web site. The journal features a monthly column titled School Law.  For access to past articles, check out the School Law Archive at http://www.asbj.com/schoollawarchive/index.html

Council of School Attorneys
http://www.nsba.org/cosa/
The National School Boards Association presents this site dedicated to "leadership for legal advocacy in the public schools."  The site provides links to recent court cases and government reports of interest to educators.  Note: This site contains some passworded "members only" information.

California Constitution, Article 9, Education
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/.const/.article_9

California Department of Education: Laws & Regulations
http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/lr/
The web site for the CDE includes links to legal information.

California Education Code
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html

To view outline of the Education Code, click next to Education Code and then click Search (do not enter any terms in search box).

Education: Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html
National Archives and Records Administration website to the Code of Federal Regulations, including Federal Education Codes.

Education: Laws
http://www.thecre.com/fedlaw/legal11.htm
Fedlaw's link to education laws and regulations. Note: Scroll down to Regulations.

ERIC Database of Educational Management
http://eric.uoregon.edu/
ERIC's Clearinghouse on Educational Management includes a link to trends and issues in school law.

FindLaw Legal Subject Index: Education
http://www.findlaw.com/01topics/37education/index.html
This site includes various links to Education Law sites.

Guide to Education Law: United States
http://www.hg.org/edu.html#united_states
This site features links to legal and government web sites on education law.

Legal Information Institute. Cornell University. Education Law
http://www.law.cornell.edu/topics/education.html
Provides links to Federal Statutes, Regulations, and Judicial Decisions pertaining to Education.  

US Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov/

How to cite court cases using APA style

Citing Legal Materials Using APA Style

http://www.lib.wsc.ma.edu/legalapa.htm

Created by Westfield State College, this site gives examples of how to cite Federal cases using APA style. 

To cite California cases, use this pattern: Name v. Name, Volume number  Reporter abbreviation  Page number (Court abbreviation  Year).


 

Current Webmaster: S. Rosenblatt. Please send notice of broken links, comments, and questions to srosenblatt@fullerton.edu.
Original Guide
by Carol Bednar. Revised January 2007 M.A. Lynn, June 2009 S. Rosenblatt
An administrative page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999-2010, California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: June 2009.