csuf logo

  Endangered Species:
 
ARTICLES

  A Guide to Resources in CSUF's Pollak Library
Home Books Articles Federal California International Web Sites Kids
 
How to Find Articles     top
Following are databases that retrieve abstracts and full-text articles of journals in the fields of Biology and Environmental Studies.
Biological Abstracts
 
  • Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
  • 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
  • For full text, click on SFX.
LexisNexis Environmental
FULL TEXT
 
  • Full text, abstracts
  • Public laws, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations
  • Scholarly journals and general news sources
SpringerLink Journals
FULL TEXT
  • Full text, 1996-current date
  • Scholarly and professional journals
Oxford Journals
FULL TEXT
  • Full text, scholarly journals
Sage Journals
FULL TEXT
  • Full text, scholarly journals
Wiley Interscience
FULL TEXT
  • Full text, 2000-date.
  • Professional and scholarly journals
  • NOTE: After logging on, scroll down and click on JOURNAL SEARCH
Annual Reviews
FULL TEXT
  • Full text, scholarly journals, 1996-present
Science Direct
FULL TEXT
  • After logging on click on SEARCH
  • Abstracts, full text, 1995-current date
  • 1200 scholarly journals
Agricola
  • Three million citations to scholarly journal articles and books, 1970-date.
  • Rank by relevance or by date.
  • While viewing citation, it is possible to determine if the CSUF Library owns the journal.
EBSCO: Academic Search Premier
SOME FULL TEXT
  • Most articles are full text, some as PDF files. Some articles give citations only
  • General and scholarly sources.
  • Limit search to scholarly journals, to full-text articles only,  and by journal title.
Opposing Viewpoints
FULL TEXT
  • This database is excellent for Debate students who are seeking pro & con resources.
  • Full-text current resources
  • Viewpoints, Statistics, Articles, Reference, Primary Documents, & Web Sites
  • Research Guide available to help evaluate resources
CQ Researcher
FULL TEXT
  • This database is excellent for Debate students who are seeking pro & con resources.
  • Full-text in-depth analytical reports, 1983-date.
  • Search: "endangered species" [NOTE: include double quotes around search terms]
  • Issue of note: "Endangered Species Act," 06/03/2005 NEW!
  • Issue of note: "Invasive Species," 10/5/01
  • Issue of note: "Mass Extinction," 9/15/200
  • Issue of note: "Zoos in the 21st Century," 4/28/2000
  • Issue of note: "Endangered Species Act," 10/1/99
  • Issue of note: "Protecting Endangered Species," 4/19/96
ProQuest Newspapers
FULL TEXT
  • Full-text articles in major newspapers.
  • E-mail feature.
LexisNexis Academic
FULL TEXT
  • Full-text articles in newspapers and magazines.
  • To search Los Angeles Times: At logon screen, click on SOURCES (top of screen in menu bar) and in search box type los angeles times.
  • E-mail feature.
ArticleFirst
  • Citations and abstracts in 13,000 general and scholarly journals, 1990-date.
  • The special value of this database is the large number of journals it indexes. Some endangered species receive little coverage and this database may find articles in obscure sources.
LexisNexis Congressional Universe
FULL TEXT
  • Full-text legislative histories, public laws, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional reports and documents, committee prints, and bills.
  • E-mail feature.
Journals & Annual Publications in Pollak Library      top
Scholarly  vs. General Journals          top
SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Scholarly journals publish articles that communicate recent research results in a field of study. Authors conduct thorough literature review and research prior to writing articles. Articles are submitted to an editorial board and are critically evaluated via the peer review process before they are accepted for publication. Scholarly articles document their research and invariably include a list of references at the end of the article. Professional organizations, academic presses, and commercial publishers are the most prolific publishers of scholarly journals. To find articles in scholarly journals, see the database descriptions above.
GENERAL JOURNALS
General interest magazines contain articles on a wide range of topics. Instead of focusing on an academic and scholarly community as scholarly journals do, general interest magazines intend to attract general readers and cover articles of varied interests. General interest magazines contain advertising and pictures. Articles in these magazines are written for the general public and are easy to read. General interest magazines can be popular magazines like Reader's Digest and Sports Illustrated,  news magazines like Time and U.S. News and World Report, opinion magazines like The Nation and The New Republic, or trade magazines like Advertising Age and Web Review. To find articles in general (versus scholarly) journals, see the database descriptions above.

 top

CSUF LIBRARY CSUF BIOLOGY DEPARTMENT CSUF ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES PROGRAM

Created and mainted by Catherine Kaye Catherine Kaye
Created: 11-04-00. Updated 07/31/08.