csuf logo

 Endangered Species:
 
FEDERAL

  A Guide to Resources in CSUF's Pollak Library
Home Books Articles Federal California International Web Sites Kids

Search by Species Name            top

To find IMAGES: Google Images
    
Sample search:  "san joaquin kit fox"

To find information about a species:
     US FWS: Search by common or scientific name
     US FWS: Endangered Species Program | Browse List
     NAAEE: EE Link Endangered Species
     US FWS: Fish & Wildlife Species
     NBII: National Biological Information Infrastructure | Browse List
     California: California Threatened & Endangered Species
     International: International Red List Of Endangered Species
     Google: Google: Sample Search: "san joaquin kit fox" and endangered

To find books in Pollak Library:
     Library Catalog
          Sample Search: 
KEYWORDS: northern spotted owl

Endangered Species Act of 1973--Citation   top

Citation: Public Law 93-205, 87 Stat. 884, 16 U.S.C. 1531-1544

Endangered Species Act of 1973--Text

  • Online: Endangered Species Act (overview and links to full text) [EPA]
  • Online:Text of the Endangered Species Act of 1973: HTML | PDF
  • Print: Public Law: PL 93-205 - REFERENCE KF50 .U5 v.87 page 884
  • Print: Statutes-at-Large: 88 STAT 884 - REFERENCE KF50 .U5 v.87 page 884
  • Print: U.S. Code, 2000 Edition: Title 16 Sec. 1531 - DOCS/US  Y 1.2/5:2000/V.9 page 33-68
  • Print: U.S. Code Annotated (2000 edition): Title 16 Sec. 1531 - REFERENCE KF62 .W48x V.16 pt.4 page 748
  • Print: U.S. Code and Administrative News: REFERENCE KF63 .U5x 1973 v.1 page 979.
  • Print: Compilation of Selected Acts Concerning Wildlife Conservation and Related Matters: with amendments through the end of the 106th Congress [see Table of Contents] CATALOG RECORD

Endangered Species Act of 1973--Legislative History

  • Online: History and Evolution of the Endangered Species Act
  • Print: Legislative History (text of legislative publications) - U.S. Code and Administrative News
    REFERENCE KF63 .U5x 1973 v.2 page 2989.
  • Online--subscription database: Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
    • Click on CIS Index
      • Legislative Histories by Number
      • Public Law 93-205
  • Online: Legislative History (brief) from Library of Congress Thomas Web Site
  • Online--subscription database: Legislative History (journal article): "Congress and Charismatic Megafauna: A Legislative History of the  Endangered Species Act." Environmental Law, Summer 1999, v29 i2 p463. For full text, search the Factiva and LexisNexis Academic by article headline.
    PERIODICALS K5 .N85

Endangered Species Act of 1973--Pathfinder to Information on the Endangered  Species Act of 1973 [LLRX.com]

This pathfinder was compiled by Mary Kilpatrick, a reference librarian at the Massachusetts School of Law. It is selective rather than comprehensive. Resources have been annotated to provide an overview of the range of legal materials available related to the Endangered Species Act of 1973.

Listing Process           top

The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service has issued information on the listing process:
     The Listing Program
     Listing a Species at Threatened or Endangered [Section 4 of the Endangered Species Act]
     Delisting A Species
 
Following is a basic overview of the process:
In order to locate government information compiled during the listing process, it is helpful to understand the steps involved. Following is a brief outline.
  • U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service publishes a Proposed Listing in the Federal Register to list a species as threatened or endangered (Proposed Rule).
  • There follows a public comment period. During this time, the general public, the scientific community, other government agencies, and foreign governments are encouraged to participate. These comments are published in the Federal Register (Petition Findings).
  • After reviewing findings, the Service decides if the rule should be approved, revised, or withdrawn.
  • If the rule is approved, it is published in the Federal Register as a Final Listing (also referred to as a Final Rule). This Final Rule will usually repeat all relevant documentation that supports the listing of the species. It will include scientific findings on life history, habitat, breeding, adaptations, and statistics. This can be a compilation of a substantial amount of the information known about the species at the time.
  • To locate Proposed Rules, Petition Findings, and Final Rules, see following information on Federal Register.

Federal Register top

The Federal Register contains the rules and regulations of the agencies of the federal government. Proposed Rules, Petition Findings, and Final Rules dealing with endangered and threatened species are published in the Federal Register under Fish & Wildlife Service.

Important to note: The US FWS gives direct links to many, but not all, Federal Register notices on its Species Information site at http://www.fws.gov/endangered/wildlife.html. Go to the site, search by common or scientific name, and scroll down to the link: Federal Register documents that apply to (species name).

Access to the Federal Register in Pollak Library is available in print, microfilm, and online, depending on the year of publication:
Print:
recent issues only. Microfilm: 1936-2002. Online: 1994-present. See CATALOG RECORD.

YEAR FORMAT SOURCE
Current Year Internet

Federal Register: Environmental Documents [EPA]
Links to full-text entries, 1994-current date.

Federal Register [GPO Access]
GPO ACCESS is the official government site for the Federal Register. It provides full-text access from 1994 (Volume 59) to date.

Federal Register & Code of Federal Regulations [Science.gov]
This site allows users to search both sources simultaneously via the Science.gov service.

Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
This database provides full-text to The Federal Register from 1980-date. It is updated daily.

Current Year
Print

 

Federal Register CATALOG RECORD
REFERENCE KF70 .A24

NOTE: The INDEX to the Federal Register is arranged by department (not by subject). To find information on the California bighorn sheep, therefore, first search under Fish and Wildlife Service and then under Endangered and threatened species. Under this subheading, search for the common name of the species, i.e., California bighorn sheep.
1994-date
Internet

 

Federal Register: Environmental Documents [EPA]
Links to full-text entries, 1994-current date.

Federal Register [GPO Access]
GPO ACCESS is the official government site for the Federal Register. It provides full-text access from 1994 (Volume 59) to date.

1980-date Internet Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
This database provides full-text of The  Federal Register from 1980-date. It is updated daily.
1936-1999 Microfilm Federal Register [microfilm]
DOCS/FILM AE 2.106: (CSUF LIBRARY, 2D FLOOR NORTH)
This is the archival copy of the Federal Register and CSUF's holdings include all issues of the Federal Register going back to its first publication in 1936.
Note: The Index to the Federal Register is arranged by department (not by subject). To find information on the California bighorn sheep, therefore, first search under Fish and Wildlife Service and then under Endangered and threatened species. Under this subheading, search for the common name of the species, i.e., California bighorn sheep.

Code of Federal Regulations      top

After the Final Ruling has been published in the Federal Register, the species is officially listed in Title 50 of the Code of Federal Regulations (the CFR is a codification of the general and permanent rules of the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government). CFR Title 50 section 17.11 contains the names of all species of wildlife which have been determined by the Service to be Endangered or Threatened. Species are listed by common name followed by scientific name, historic range, status, when listed, critical habitat, and special rules.

The Code of Federal Regulations is available in print and online:

  • Print: REFERENCE KF70 .A3
  • Online:  Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
    Note: Congressional Universe is a subscription database.
    Log on to Congressional Universe, then click on
    REGULATIONS then
    CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Lists of Endangered Species        top

Federally Listed:

The Number of Species Listed as Threatened or Endangered

The Number Removed from the Threatend or Endangered List

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 50, Section 17.11
PRINT: REFERENCE KF 70 .A3 TITLE 50 (CSUF Library, 1ST FLOOR NORTH)
ONLINE: 50 CFR 17.11 (Wildlife) | 50 CFR 17.12 (Plants) | CFR [GPO Access]
 
Online:  Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
Log on to Congressional Universe, then click on REGULATIONS then CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS
NOTE: Congressional Universe is a subscription database. When asked for username and password, enter your CSUF logon username and password.
Online:  U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species: Species Information
NOTE: This site allows the viewer to search by species or browse lists, then gives links to information about the species.

For California listed species:  see California: Lists of Endangered Species.

California Condor       top

Bald Eagle     top

Tracing the listing of the Bald Eagle is especially noteworthy because it allows the researcher to follow the process of identifying (listing) the species as endangered, then follow the actions taken to protect it, then follow the recovery programs enacted, and then read the Final Rule that delists it from endangered to threatened, thus illustrating one of the successes of the Endangered Species Act.

Polar Bear  new    top

Books in CSUF'S Library—A Selective List     top

Congressional Research Service Reports  (CRS)    top

CRS reports are authoritative sources that provide Congress with essential background material for Congressional investigations and legislative proposals. These objective reports include background information, policy analysis, a chronology of legislative action, and a bibliography.

Web Sites—U.S. Endangered Species Information      top

  • Endangered Species Home Page [FWS]
    This is the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service official Web site on endangered species. It includes species lists and information on each species, laws, Federal Register Notices, international agreements, "For the Media," "Species in the Spotlight," and more.
    .
  • Biodiversity and Conservation: A Hypertext Book by Peter J. Bryant [UCI]
    This is a hypertext publication with chapters on global patterns of diversity, the values of diversity, habitat pollution, exotic introductions, deforestation, and much more. Chapter 8 has extensive links on the Endangered Species Act including problems and political challenges.
     
  • Laws to Protect Our Desert Tortoises
    Important laws and regulations about desert tortoises.
    .
  • Wildlife Fact Sheets
    This site has fact sheets compiled by the U.S. FWS giving concise information about endangered species plus links to related sites.
     
  • Reports to Congress 1996-2002: Summary Reports to Congress on the Recovery Program for Threatened and Endangered Species, 1996-2002
    Introduction: "In 1988 the Endangered Species Act was amended to include, among other things, a requirement that the Secretaries of the Interior and Commerce report to Congress every two years on efforts to develop and implement plans for the recovery of threatened and endangered species. The Recovery Reports to Congress also provide information on the status of those species for which recovery plans have been developed."
     
  • Report to Congress 1994: Recovery Program: Endangered and Threatened Species, 1994: Report to Congress
    From site: "This 1994 report to Congress chronicles the success of the Service's efforts to recover endangered species. A good case study, representing the success of the Service's recovery efforts is the conservation of the bald eagle, our national symbol. These birds nested throughout the United States. In 1967, bald eagle numbers in the lower 48 States had dropped to approximately 417 nesting pairs. Population declines were attributed to habitat loss, illegal shooting, and the effects of DDT on reproductive success. In 26 years, the eagle rebounded to more than 4,000 nesting pairs in 1993. This success was due to reintroductions, the banning of DDT, public awareness campaigns, aggressive law enforcement, and other actions involving the Service, States, private organizations, and the cooperation of the American public. As a result, on July 12, 1994, the Service proposed to reclassify the bald eagle from endangered to threatened in all of the lower 48 States."
     
  • Report to Congress 1992: Endangered and Threatened Species Recovery Program: Report to Congress 1992
    This Report to Congress presents the recovery progress for all federally listed endangered and threatened species as of September 30, 1992. The report contains information on the status of recovery plan development, the status of all listed species in the United States, a state-by-state breakdown of listed species, and selected species highlights by state.
  • USGS Biological Resources
    The BRD mission is to make data and information on the nation's biological resources more accessible to more people. It presents a broad collection of information including links to news releases, factsheets, non-government organizations, museums, and also state, federal, and international information.
  • National Library for the Environment [NLE]
    NLE provides a list of links to Web sites on population and the environment, career pages, State of the Environment Reports (by country, by state, and by world region). Of special note: it provides links to the respected Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports on environmental issues.
  • USA.gov
    USA.gov is a World Wide Web information portal for the U.S. government information. Searches retrieve information from the Endangered Species Home Page, from the Federal Register, from Committee hearings, from state government Web pages, and other government sources both state and federal.

 

top

CSUF LIBRARY CSUF BIOLOGY DEPARTMENT CSUF ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES PROGRAM

Created and mainted by Catherine Kaye at ckaye@fullerton.edu
Created: 11-04-00. Updated 05/15/08.