csuf logo

  Endangered Species:
 
WEB SITES

  A Guide to Resources in CSUF's Pollak Library
Home Books Articles Federal California International Web Sites Kids
United States     top
  • Endangered Species Home Page [FWS]
    This is the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service official Web site on endangered species. It includes species lists and information on each species, laws, Federal Register Notices, international agreements, "For the Media," "Species in the Spotlight," and more.
     
  • Endangered Species Bulletin
    Introduction: "The Bulletin is the primary means by which the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service disseminates information on rulemakings (listings, reclassifications, and delistings), recovery plans and activities, regulatory changes, interagency consultations, changes in species' status, research developments, new ecological threats, and a variety of other issues. It is printed on a bimonthly schedule, with six editions per year and an annual index. The Service distributes the Bulletin free of charge to Federal, State and local agencies, and official contacts of the endangered species program."
    .
  • Recovery and Delisting of Endangered Species
    Links to recovery program, recovery reports to Congress, recovery plans, recovery champions, list of recovered species, recoveryin your area, and more.
     
  • Summary Reports to Congress on the Recovery Program for Threatened and Endangered Species, 1996-2002
    Introduction: "In 1988 the Endangered Species Act was amended to include, among other things, a requirement that the Secretaries of the Interior and Commerce report to Congress every two years on efforts to develop and implement plans for the recovery of threatened and endangered species. The Recovery Reports to Congress also provide information on the status of those species for which recovery plans have been developed."
     
  • Recovery Program: Endangered and Threatened Species, 1994: Report to Congress
    Introduction: "This 1994 report to Congress chronicles the success of the Service's efforts to recover endangered species. A good case study, representing the success of the Service's recovery efforts is the conservation of the bald eagle, our national symbol. These birds nested throughout the United States. In 1967, bald eagle numbers in the lower 48 States had dropped to approximately 417 nesting pairs. Population declines were attributed to habitat loss, illegal shooting, and the effects of DDT on reproductive success. In 26 years, the eagle rebounded to more than 4,000 nesting pairs in 1993. This success was due to reintroductions, the banning of DDT, public awareness campaigns, aggressive law enforcement, and other actions involving the Service, States, private organizations, and the cooperation of the American public. As a result, on July 12, 1994, the Service proposed to reclassify the bald eagle from endangered to threatened in all of the lower 48 States."
     

  • Endangered and Threatened Species Recovery Program: Report to Congress, 1992
    This Report to Congress presents the recovery progress for all federally listed endangered and threatened species as of September 30, 1992. The report contains information on the status of recovery plan development, the status of all listed species in the United States, a state-by-state breakdown of listed species, and selected species highlights by state.
  • Wildlife Fact Sheets
    This site has fact sheets compiled by the U.S. FWS giving concise information about endangered species plus links to related sites.
    .
  • Biodiversity and Conservation: A Hypertext Book by Peter J. Bryant [UCI]
    This is a hyptertext publication with chapters on global patterns of diversity, the values of diversity, habitat pollution, exotic introductions, deforestation, and much more. Chapter 8 has extensive links on the Endangered Species Act including problems and political challenges.
  • USGS Biological Resources
    The BRD mission is to make data and information on the nation's biological resources more accessible to more people. It presents a broad collection of information including links to news releases, factsheets, non-government organizations, museums, and also state, federal, and international information.
  • National Library for the Environment [NLE]
    NLE provides a list of links to Web sites on population and the environment, career pages, State of the Environment Reports (by country, by state, and by world region). Of special note: it provides links to the respected Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports on environmental issues.
  • USA.gov
    USA.gov is a World Wide Web information portal for the U.S. government information.Searches retrieve information from the Endangered Species Home Page, from the Federal Register, from Committee hearings, from state government Web pages, and other government sources both state and federal.
California      top
  • California Natural Diversity Database
    The California Natural Diversity Database (CNDDB) is a statewide inventory of the locations and condition of the state's rarest species and natural communities. Their goal is to provide the most current information on the state's most imperiled elements of natural diversity and to provide tools to analyze these data. Includes up-to-date lists of endangered and threatened animals and plants, lists by county, and research reports.
  • CERES: California Environmental Resources Evaluation System
    The California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES) is an information system developed by the California Resources Agency to facilitate access to a variety of electronic data describing California's rich and diverse environments. It links to information by theme, by geographic area, and also to environmental education and environmental law information.
  • Enforcement of the Endangered Species Act in California [federal act]
    This is the text of a U.S. Congressional committee hearing held in Hemet, California, in July 1999 to receive testimony from the citizens from Southern California who have experienced first hand how the Endangered Species Act is enforced and implemented. The committee sought testimony dealing with concerns that the ESA is no longer the national law that Congress intended it to be when it was originally enacted in 1973, that it is increasingly used to stop growth and economic development in only certain areas of the country, particularly in the West.
International      top
  • Red List of Threatened Species [IUCN]
    The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on taxa. It seeks to determine the relative risk of extinction. The main purpose the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those taxa that are facing the highest risk of global extinction.
  • Endangered Species International [ESI]
    From home page: "Endangered Species International, we are strongly committed to reversing the trend of human induced species extinction and preserving their vital ecosystems. Our programs are to be measurable, concrete, positive, scientific, educational, apolitical, sustainable, and beneficial to indigenous people."
     
  • World Conservation Union [IUCN]
    The World Conservation Union is a global framework of 78 states, 112 government agencies, 735 NGOs, 35 affiliates, and some 10,000 scientists and experts from 181 countries. Its mission is to influence, encourage and assist societies throughout the world to conserve the integrity and diversity of nature and to ensure that any use of natural resources is equitable and ecologically sustainable. Its Web site provides news, programmes, and research publications on species and ecosystems around the world.
  • Endangered Species: International Agreements and Permits
    This special division of the U.S. FWS works closely with the governments of Canada and Mexico to cooperatively conserve species at risk across North America. Among other responsibilities, the International Affairs Program oversees permits for the import or export of foreign endangered species and for representing the Service under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

top

CSUF LIBRARY CSUF BIOLOGY DEPARTMENT CSUF ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES PROGRAM

Created and maintained by Catherine Kaye
Created: 11-04-00. Updated 01/24/08.