Engineering
Engineering Home Find Articles Find Books Journals List Reference Find Web Sites Standards Find Patents Databases

 

 

The CSUF library has a wealth of resources for your engineering research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. Each section includes resources for students of electrical, civil, and mechanical engineering.

The links above will show you the following:

Articles: How to find articles on your engineering topic.  These articles may be found in books, journals, or may even be in full text online!
Books: How to find books on your engineering topic
Journals: A list of engineering journals accessible to students at Cal State Fullerton.  Information on how to access the most respected journals in the field is provided.
Reference: An annotated list of guides, dictionaries, directories, etc.
Web Sites: An annotated list of recommended engineering Sites
Patents: A list of sources you can use to locate patent information.

How to begin research on engineering

Before you begin your research, ask yourself the following questions:

What is your specific topic?
Write down your topic and the aspects involved. Your topic can be a keyword, a phrase, or a complete sentence.
What types of materials do you need and how many? Do you need Books? Journal articles? Government Documents? Statistics? Newspaper sources? Scholarly or popular articles?
Do you need current information? Historical information? Both?
Formulate your research strategy.
1. Can you identify the key terms in the topic that are unique?
2. What synonyms or other similar concepts might you use to make your search more comprehensive?
3. What synonyms or other similar concepts might you use to make your search more comprehensive?
4. Is your topic so narrow that not enough information is found?  If so, you might want to choose a broader term.
5. Are there any thesaurus, indexes, or subject terms that are specific to a database? 
Select relevant research sources or databases. Our library has a wealth of resources for your research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. Use the buttons to the left to see the wide variety of sources available, both paper and online.
Find out more about the research process by reading the CSU Information Competency project.
Evaluate your search results.
1. Are your search result relevant? Why or why not?
2. Is the information (articles or books) written in an authoritative, accurate, and objective?
3. How might you improve your search result?
Read Library Survival Skills to ensure that you understand the research process and familiarize yourself with the Pollak Library.
Ask for assistance.
1. You will find Librarians at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the North Wing of the Pollak library.
2. You may also fill out a "Research Assistance Appointment Form" for long inquiries and in depth help.
3. You may email me.
Cite your sources.  Consult style guides for more information.
 

Last Updated: 4 June 2007                                                         

Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.