Find Books
Engineering Home

 

Engineering: Books

Books are a primary means of communicating research and studies.  To find books on your topic, you may use online catalogs such as the CSUF OPAC, LINK+, Melvyl, and WorldCat.  These catalogs have the capability for you to download and email records.  However, the texts of books are not available online.  You will need to go to the book shelves in the Pollak Library or request books the Pollak Library does not own directly online from LINK+ libraries and WorldCat.  


Pollak Library Catalog
Provides bibliographic descriptions of books, journals, government documents, web sites, and other materials owned by CSUF.   It also gives the necessary information you will need to find the material on the shelves, including location, call number, and status.    

Materials in this library are classified and shelved by the Library of Congress classification system. most call numbers for Engineering subjects start with T. However, you will find books related to engineering all over the library.  it is therefore necessary to search the OPAC by subjects and keywords to make sure you get all of the material you need for your research.  These subjects are standard and may be used in searching most other library catalogs and many periodical databases as well.

Some useful subjects to search for items on engineering are:

 

Engineering
Acoustical Engineering
Agricultural Engineering
Aerospace Engineering
Marine Engineering
Systems Engineering
Civil Engineering
Earthquake Engineering
Environmental Engineering
Highway Engineering
Transportation Engineering
Electric Engineering
Electric Network Analysis
Electric Power Distribution
Electric Power Production
Electric Power Systems
Mechanical Engineering
Industrial Engineering
Machinery
Mechanical Movements
Power Mechanics

Other library catalogs you can search for books in include:

LINK+
Provides bibliographic descriptions of books, journals, government documents, and other materials owned by the 42 LINK+ Libraries.  You may request circulating books directly online using the Link+ system.

WorldCat

Provides bibliographic descriptions of books, journals, government documents, and other materials owned by libraries worldwide that contribute their records to OCLC, the largest bibliographic utility in the world.  You may request books online using our Illiad Interlibrary loan system.    

Melvyl
Is the union catalog for the libraries of the nine University of California campuses. It consists of two databases. Melvyl Catalog is for locating books in the UC libraries.  Periodicals Titles is a database for locating periodical titles in libraries in the state of California, including the UC libraries, California State Library, California State University libraries, Stanford University libraries, and others.  You may request books you find in this catalog using our Illiad Interlibrary loan system.

Last Updated: 4 June 2007                                                         

Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.