Databases
Engineering Home

 

The Pollak Library subscribes to the following article and reference databases for engineering students:

Articles

Engineering Village

Five independently searchable databases covering all areas of engineering: Compendex, Website Abstracts, US Patents, CRC Press Handbooks, Industry Specs and Standards. Materials provided include engineering journals, conferences, reports and technical reports; evaluated, rated and indexed web-sites, patents, CRC Press Engineering Handbooks, and Industry Specs and Standards.
 

IEEE Xplore

Articles from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc) Society-sponsored journals and magazines. Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical technology, computer science, computing and control technology, consumer and industrial electronics, electrical and electronics engineering, information systems, power, robotics, telecommunications.

Search defaults will retrieve citations and abstracts for many items not included in CSUF subscription. Items not included in CSUF subscription may be available through Interlibrary Loan.

Annual Reviews

Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

JSTOR

The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.

LexisNexis Environmental

Covers topics including energy, air pollution, land use, global warming, waste management, and wildlife. Provides abstracts for journal articles and conference papers; full-text from news, journals, and reference materials. Includes federal and state codes, federal agency regulations, and federal and state case law and agency decisions. Federal and state waste site data and hazardous materials information available, including material safety data sheets (MSDS).

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text articles from 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. It is updated daily. Users may limit search to peer-reviewed / scholarly publications.
 

SpringerLink Journals

Full-text journal articles in science, medicine, engineering, economics, architecture, construction and transport. Includes more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals, comprising more than 600,000 individual documents. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996, with digital conversion of all back issues under way. SpringerLink now includes Kluwer Journals. Articles may be retrieved in PDF and HTML formats.

Web of Science

The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded® (covering over 164 scientific disciplines), and Social Sciences Citation Index® (covering over 50 disciplines). It enables users to search approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward and backward through the literature relevant to their researh.

ScienceDirect

Journal articles, many full-text, in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business & management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering & technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics & computer science, microbiology & immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology & toxicology, physics, social sciences and more.

To view list of journals indexed, at main screen click on BROWSE.

Blackwell Synergy

Blackwell Synergy is an online database that contains the full-text of over 850 journals, most of which are published by Blackwell Publishing. Subject coverage includes Medicine, Science, Social Science and the Humanities.

LexisNexis Academic

This database covers all subjects, but it is especially strong in business and law. It contains full-text online news, business, medical, and legal information from more than 5,000 sources, including major newspapers, magazines, SEC filings (annual reports, 10-K’s), federal and state court decisions, and law reviews. It allows printing and e-mailing of full text. Updated several times each day.

To browse or search a list of resources included in this database, at the top of the opening screen, click on SOURCES

ProceedingsFirst (OCLC)

Index of conferences, meetings, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia proceedings worldwide that are received at the British Library

PapersFirst (OCLC)

Index of over 5.4 million records of papers presented at conferences, congresses, symposia, expositions, and workshops in virtually all subject areas. Coverage is international.

Computer Abstracts Int'l (Emerald)

Abstracts of articles appearing in over 200 leading computer science journals. Subjects include artificial intelligence, communications and networks, computer theory, database and information systems applications, hardware, human-computer interaction, mathematics of computing, programming and systems organization.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.

Patty's Toxicology

Patty's Toxicology is the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. It is organized into two discrete works - Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Patty's Toxicology.

Patty's Industrial Hygiene presents the most up to date information on the recognition and evaluation of chemical agents, physical agents and biohazards in the workplace as well as engineering control of exposure and personal protection.


Patty's Toxicology presents comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds from metals to synthetic polymers. Information for each compound includes CAS numbers, RTECS numbers, physical and chemical properties, threshold limit values (TLV's), permissible exposure limits (PEL's), maximum workplace concentrations (MAK), and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures (BAT).

EOLSS [UNESCO]

Note: At login, click on 'Access for Institutions.'
Home page description: "The EOLSS contains a vast body of integrated knowledge dedicated to the health, maintenance, and future of the web of life on planet Earth, focusing on the complex connections among all the myriad aspects from natural and social sciences through water, energy, land, food, agriculture, environment, biodiversity, health, education, culture, engineering and technology, management, and development to environmental security."

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online

Detailed information on chemistry and chemical technology, the chemical industry and allied fields.

Access Science: McGraw-Hill Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

Full-text trends, news, updates and developments in science and technology, dictionary of scientific & technical terms, biographies of scientists, evaluated Web sites, learning resources and study guides, illustrations, animations, and image galleries in all areas of science and technology

 

Last Updated: 4 June 2007                                                         

Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.