|
| |
Reference materials,
mostly kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general
and subject-specific
dictionaries,
encyclopedias,
handbooks,
almanacs,
directories, etc. Click on the links below to connect to the Library Catalog
record for location and call numbers of some useful reference sources that cover
engineering topics.
Important!
Make sure to note the location of the book. Most of these items are kept
in the reference collection on the 1st floor of the North Wing and may not be
checked out. However, there are some that our kept in our circulating
collection. Locations of books not found in the reference collection are
marked in red.
-
Engineering - General
Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations
by Harald Keller and Uwe Erb Ref TA11 .K377 1989
A glossary of 30,000 abbreviations and acronyms used in engineering.
Dictionary of the Physical Sciences: terms, formulas, data
by Cesare Emiliani 4th Floor South Q123 .E46 1987
A complete dictionary of terms, principles, theories, and formulas used
in all sciences.
Encyclopedia of Engineering Signs and Symbols Edited by David D.
Polon Ref TA11 E5
Thousands of definitions and explanations for common graphical symbols
used in Engineering. The book is organized by engineering specialty.
The Engineering Handbook Edited by Richard C. Dorf
4th Floor South TA151
.E424 1996
A basic guide to the principles, formulas, concepts, and history of
Engineering.
Engineering Manual: a practical reference of design methods and
data in building systems, chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, and
environmental engineering and energy conversion edited by Robert H.
Perry 4th Floor South TA151 .P645 1976
This work provides tables, graphs, charts, and basic concepts for
practical use.
Engineers' Illustrated Thesaurus by Herbert Herkimer Ref TA151
.H44
A visual glossary of machines and parts used in engineering.
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals edited by Byron D. Tapley
4th Floor South TA151 .E8 1989
Mathematical tables, formulas, charts, and graphs commonly used in
engineering.
Formulas, Facts, and Constants for Students and Professionals in
Engineering, Chemistry, and Physics by H.J. Fischbeck
4th Floor South Qc61 .F58 1987
Tables and charts for commonly used mathematical formulas used in the
sciences.
Handbook of Mathematical, Scientific, and Engineering Formulas,
Tables, Functions, Graphs, Transforms Ref QA40 .H357 2001
A guide to thousands of mathematical formulas used in engineering.
Practically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations on
Engineering, Technology, and Architecture Edited by C.C. Gaither and A.E.
Cavazos-Gaither. Ref TA9 .P73 1999
Hundreds of famous quotations on issues of engineering and technology.
The book is organized by subject. A bibliography and author index is
provided.
The Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the
Professional Engineer by Sanford I Heisler
4th Floor South TA151 H424
1984
A practical guide to the most widely used mathematics, materials, and
data used by working engineers.
- Civil
Engineering
A Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
by Len Webster Ref TA9 .W43 2000
Definitions of over 15,000 terms used in environmental and civil
engineering.
Handbook of Environmental Civil Engineering edited by Robert G. Zilly
4th Floor South TA 151 Z49
A guide to the principles, practices, formulas, and tools used when
considering environmental factors in civil engineering.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers by Frederick S. Merritt, M.
Kent Loftin, and Jonathan T. Ricketts
Ref TA151 .S8 1996
A guide to the systems, materials, theory, and techniques used in civil
engineering.
-
Electrical Engineering
Electrical Engineer's Reference Book Edited by M.A. Laughton
and D.F. Warne Ref TK145 .E36 2003
A practical guide to the principles, materials, processes, and systems
used by working electrical engineers.
English-Spanish, Spanish English Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dictionary by Steven M. Kaplan
Ref TK9 .K37 1996
Provides translations for terms used in electrical engineering.
Definitions are NOT provided.
IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronics Terms Edited
by Frank Jay 4th Floor SouthTK9 .I478 1988
McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code Handbook by Joseph F
McPartland and Brian McPartland TK260 .N22 1990
A comprehensive guide to the 1990 National Electrical Code produced by
the National Fire Protection Agency.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering Edited by
John G. Webster. TK9 .E53 1999
a 24 Volume set containing over 1400 detailed articles on all aspects of
electrical engineering. Each entry is written by a leading expert in
the field and contains a bibliography of useful sources on the topic.
Wörterbuch Der Electrotechnik, Fernmeldetecknik,
Electronik by W. Goedecke 4th Floor South TK9 G6
A German-English-French translation dictionary of engineering,
telecommunications, and electronics terminology. Definitions are
NOT provided.
-
Mechanical Engineering
Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering By G.H.F. Nayler
REF TJ9 .N28 1996
Contains definitions for thousands of words, terms, acronyms,
abbreviations, and symbols used in mechanical engineering.
Mechanical Engineer's Handbook Edited by Myer Kutz REF
TJ151 .M395 1998
An authoritative volume on all aspects of mechanical engineering.
Sections include materials and design, systems and control, manufacturing,
energy, power, and pollution control, and management.
Mechanical Engineer's Pocket Book By Roger Timings and Tony May
4th Floor South TJ145 .T545 1990
tables, charts, data, and descriptions of materials and processes in
common use for mechanical engineers.
Wörterbuch Maschinenbau und
Tribologie, Dictionary Machine Engineering and Tribology by Fritz Wunsch
TJ1075 .W86 2004
Translations for common words and terminology used in mechanical
engineering, particularly in industrial uses.
-
Environmental Engineering
A Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
by Len Webster Ref TA9 .W43 2000
Definitions of over 15,000 terms used in environmental and civil
engineering.
Environmental Engineer's Handbook edited by David H.F. Lui and Bela G.
Liptak ref TD145 .E574 1997
This encyclopedic volume covers many of the issues and problems related
to environmental engineering.
Handbook of Environmental Civil Engineering edited by Robert G. Zilly
4th Floor South TA 151 Z49
A guide to the principles, practices, formulas, and tools used when
considering environmental factors in civil engineering.
Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering edited by Robert A.
Corbitt. 4th Floor South TD145 .S72 1999
A guide to the principles, practices, issues, tools, and formulas
used in everyday practice by environmental engineers.
|