Journals & Articles
(restricted to CSUF students, staff, & faculty)
Databases for research in English
Journal Title List for
Literature (page may load slowly)
Journal Title List for
Language and Linguistics (page may load slowly)
Books
To search for books, use the
Library Catalog. Books most useful for
English research topics are located on the 4th and 5th Floors of the Library's
South Wing. Books are arranged according to the
Library of Congress (LC) classification system. Below are the LC letter abbreviations for English
subjects:
- P-PA Philology, classics, and
linguistics
- PB-PH Modern European languages
- PE Dictionaries of all kinds
including the OED, thesauri, and dictionaries of slang
- PL African literature, criticism,
and writers
- PN General literature, quotations
- PR English literature, criticism,
and writers
- PS American literature, criticism,
and writers
The following is a list of selected Reference books
available at the Pollak Library in the categories of
General Literature
and Special Topics,
American
Literature, British Literature,
Shakespeare,
Literary Criticism, and
Writing
and Research Tools.
General Literature and Special Topics
Dictionary of Literary Biography PN451 .D531 1997
Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature PN56.U8 S66 1995
The Gay and Lesbian
Literary Heritage: A Reader's Companion to the Writers and Their
Works, From
Gay & Lesbian Literature PN56.H57 G36 1994
Interviews and Conversations with 20th-Century Authors Writing in English: An
Index PR 471z V73 1982
Reference Guide to World Literature
PN524 .R44
2003
Twayne Companion
to Contemporary World Literature: From the Editors of World Literature
Today PN771 .T93 2003
American Literature
African American Writers PS153.N5 A344 1991
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide
PS147 .A4
The Beat Generation:
A Gale Critical Companion
PS228.B6 Z68
2003
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature PN41 .B4 1987
Chicano Literature: A Reference Guide PS153.M4 C46 1985
The
Companion to Southern Literature: Themes, Genres, Places, People,
Movements, and Motifs
PS261 .C55
2002
Contemporary Authors: A Bio-bibliographical Guide PN771 .C58x
Contemporary Gay American Novelists PS374.H63 C66 1993
The Harlem
Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion
PS153.N5 H245
2003
The Harlem Renaissance: A Historical Dictionary for the Era NX511.N4 H37 1984
Hispanic Literature of the United States: A Comprehense
Reference
PS153.H56 K36
2003
Oxford Companion to African American Literature PS153.N5 O96 1997
Twentieth-Century American Literature
PS221. T834 1985
British Literature
The Age of Milton:
An Encyclopedia of Major 17th Century British and American Authors
PR431 .A36
2004
British Writers PR85 .B688
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English PR85 .C29 1993
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English
Literary Studies PR83z. H34 2002
Oxford Companion to English Literature, 6th ed. PR19 .O94 2000
Shakespeare
Columbia Dictionary of Quotations from Shakespeare PR2892 .F48 1998
Complete and Systematic Concordance to the Works of Shakespeare PR2892 .S66
Concordance to Shakespeare PR2892 .B34
Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare PR2892 .S662x
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World: Britain, Ireland, Europe, and America DA357 .W34 1999
Reader's Encyclopedia of Shakespeare PR2892 .C3
Shakespeare Glossary PR2892 .O6 1986
Shakespearean Criticism PR2965 .S44
Literary Criticism
In Print -
The Bedford Glossary of
Critical and Literary Terms
PN44.5 .M86 2003
Black Literature
Criticism PS153. N5 B556 1999
Contemporary Literary Criticism PN771 .C59
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory PN81.E43 1993
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory PN98.W64 E53 1997
The Johns Hopkins
Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
PN81 .J554
2005
Literary Research
Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary
Studies PR83 .H34 2002
Nineteenth-Century
Literature Criticism PN761 .N5
Poetry Criticism PN1010 .P49
Short Story Criticism PN3373 .S386
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
PN771 .G2
Online -
Literature Criticism Online
[Gale]
Writing & Research Tools
Dictionary of Allusions PN43 .G68 1987
Glossary of Literary Terms, 7th ed. PN41 .A184 1999
Writer's Directory S1 .W73 2000
Writer's Market
Ref PN161 .W83 2006
Book Reviews
Online Book Review
Sources
Academic Search Premier - Covers 1985 to the present, depending on the source. Use
the Advanced Search screen. Search for reviews by searching for
Subject: books--reviews. Check
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit results.
America:
History and Life - Covers 1964 to the present. Search
for reviews in scholarly journals by author's last name in Author field,
book title in Title field, and then add book review in the Document Type
field.
Arts
and Humanities Search - Covers 1980 to the present and includes
reviews from scholarly journals. Search for reviews in journals by
author's last name in Author field, book title in Title field and then add
review as a keyword.
Book Review
Digest
- Covers 1983 to the present. Reviews of fiction and nonfiction in English language published in the
United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Search by author's last
name in Author field and book title in Title field.
Factiva
- Covers from 1983 to present and includes reviews from
magazines, journals, newspapers and trade publications. Search using author's last name AND book title AND review.
JSTOR - Provides back issues of journals in the humanities and other
disciplines. JSTOR does not contain the most recent 3-5
years of published issues. Search by author's last name in
Author field, book title in Title field and review in Full Text field.
Lexis-Nexis Academic - Starting date begins 20 years ago and varies
from title to title. Select Guided Search --> Arts & Sports News
--> Book, Movie, & Play Reviews to find book reviews.
Project
Muse Premium - Coverage dates vary from journal to journal. Book reviews from scholarly, electronic journals in history, literature,
politics, and cultural studies. Select Search, then Advanced
Search, type author's last name in the Author Reviewed field and book
title in Title Reviewed field. If there are no hits, try either author or
title reviewed, but not both.
Women's
Studies International - Covers 1972 to the present. Subjects range from feminist
theory, family, health, and art, to language & culture,
political/social activism, prejudice & sex discrimination, and the
women's liberation movement. Select Advanced Search and enter
author's last name in Author field and the book title in the Book Reviewed
field.
Print Book Review Sources
Book Review Digest
(1905-1999)
Book Review Index
(1965-present)
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
(1961-1990)
Los Angeles Times Index
(1881-present)
Online:
Los Angeles Times online
(1985-present)
Online:
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1984)
New York Times Index
(1851-present)
Online:
New York Times Book Review (1999-present)
Online:
New York Times
(1995-present)
Online:
New York Times Historical (1851-2001)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
(1900-1994)
Online:
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective (1890-1982)
Web Sites
The Academy
of American Poets
African
American Women Writers of the 19th Century, New York Public Library,
"a
digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century
black women writers."
Arts &
Letters Daily, "A service of the Chronicle of Higher Education"
British Women Romantic
Poets, UC Davis electronic collection of texts
CSUF
English, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics Department Page
The Cambridge History of English
and American Literature: An Encyclopedia in Eighteen Volumes
Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia Library,
includes online texts covering different time periods and genres with much of
the collection accessible to the public.
The Literary Encyclopedia
Luminarium, Medieval,
Renaissance, and 17th Century literature
MLA Guide to
Doctoral Programs in English and Other Modern Languages from the
Modern Language Association
website
The
Modern Word, provides information on Beckett, Borges, Marquez, Joyce,
Kafka, and others, as well as many links to literature- and writing-related
sites.
The Online
Medieval and Classical Library, UC Berkeley Digital Library
Poets
& Writers
Victorian Women Writers Project, Indiana University
Voice of the
Shuttle: Website for Humanities Research, UC Santa Barbara English
Department, includes sections on literary theory and literature.
Citing Your Sources
Citing sources properly is
an important part of your research. The following list of tips may help you
with your citations:
-
Confirm with your professor the style manual you are to use.
-
Make
sure you have all the information you will need from each source to create a
proper citation, including data such as publication information from the
front of books, journal volume/issue numbers, and page numbers for articles
and book chapters. You can use
RefWorks, an online citation manager to store your citations and create
reference or work cited pages.
E-mail me with questions about RefWorks.
-
Plagiarism is a serious issue, which includes presenting the work or ideas
of another individual as your own. Keeping careful notes while researching
your topic will help you to properly give credit for an idea or passage you
came across.
-
Read
the "Student
Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism: How to Write an Effective Research Paper,"
prepared by Sandra Rhoten, Associate Dean, Judicial Affairs,CSUF.
-
Attend
a
Citation Workshop at the
library to receive basic instruction on proper citing.
-
Use the Pollak Library's
How do I Cite Sources?
page, which provides information for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
-
The
complete style guides (MLA, Turabian, APA, Chicago Manual of Style) are
available behind the Reference Desk, 1st Floor, Library North.
An administrative page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created August 16, 2006. Last Updated:
May 08, 2008
|