Pollak Library Research Guides Handouts for Specific Courses ETHNIC COMMUNITIES

Pollak Library

Ethnic Communities
ASAM 101 AFRO 101 CHIC 101
A Pollak Library Research Guide

Books
Newspapers
Journal Articles
Chinatown / Koreatown / Little Saigon
Demographic Data
Congressional District Data
Zip Code Data
Education Data
Recent California Information
Public Policy Institue of California
Pew Research Center

Books    

opac screen

Search the Library Catalog by:

SUBJECT: ethnic neighborhoods
SUBJECT: community life california
SUBJECT: hispanic american neighborhoods
SUBJECT: sociology urban california
KEYWORDS: diversity community california
KEYWORDS: diversity neighborhoods california

Tip: While viewing list of results, sort by year.


Newspapers    

To access databases, at the Library Home Page click on DATABASES A-Z.

Orange County Register

Los Angeles Times

ProQuest Newspapers
Includes major newspapers from around the country.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text collection of 275 newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press.  


Journal Articles    

The following databases contain scholarly journal articles. To access these databases from the Library Home Page, under QuickLinks click on DATABASES A-Z.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text articles from 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Journals cover all disciplines. It is updated daily. Users may limit search to peer-reviewed / scholarly publications. 

Omnifile
Full text of articles from over 1,750 publications and article abstracts and indexing from over 3,500 publications. Journals cover all disciplines.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text collection of 275 newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native press.  

Social Sciences Full Text
Full text articles 1994 to present in the social sciences.

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes scholarly journals on culture, family, social psychology, aging, anthropology, demography, methodology, social structure, ethnic studies, urban studies, violence, and more. It offers citations to journal articles, book reviews, books, chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Some articles are available full text; some provide SFX links.

Chicano Database
This comprehensive bibliographic resource identifies all types of material including newspaper, magazine, journal, and book articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, and dissertations about Mexican-Americans, Chicanos, and Latinos.
Subjects covered: art, bilingual education, culture, economics, education, film, folklore, health, history, labor, law, literature, mental health, music, politics, psychology, public policy, religion, sociology, women's studies, and more.

For a more comprehensive list of recommended databases for minorities studies:

          Afro-Ethnic Studies: Recommended Databases
          Asian American Studies: Recommended Databases
          Chicano Studies: Recommended Databases


Chinatown, Koreatown, Little Saigon: Recent Articles    


Search the subscription databases to find articles in The Los Angeles Times and other California newspapers. To access databases, at the Library Home Page click on DATABASES A-Z.

ProQuest Newspapers
              
Sample search 1:    text: Koreatown
                                        location: Los Angeles
 

   Sample search 2:     citation and abstract: orange county california and
                                       ethnic and neighborhoods

Ethnic Newswatch
              Sample search:    text: Koreatown

                                       location: Los Angeles


Demographic Data     

Most Detailed U.S. Census Data by Race/Ethnicity for Smaller Geographic Areas
American FactFinder: Fact Sheet for a Race, Ethnic, or Ancestry Group

Geographic levels: state, county, city

arrowAmerican FactFinder home page

  1. Go to American FactFinder - http://factfinder.census.gov/

  2. On left side of screen, hover over FACT SHEETS and click on Fact Sheet for Race, Ethnic, or Ancestry Group.

  3. In Find a population group search box, type a word for the ethnic group, i.e.: Chinese. Click FIND. Click GO.

  4. Type in a city: West Covina and select California. Click GO.

Tip: At the top of each table, click on show more to see more detailed data.

City and County Data
American Community Survey

Geographic levels: state, county, city (place), Congressional District
¿
Most recent U.S. Census data (2005)
¿
5 tables for each geographic area: demographic, social, economic, housing, narrative

arrowAmerican FactFinder home page

  1. Go to American FactFinder - http://factfinder.census.gov/

  2. On left side of screen, hover over DATA SETS.

  3. Select American Community Survey

  4. On right side of screen, for 2005 American Community Survey, click on Data Profiles.

American Community Survey web page

arrow
  1. Under Select a geographic type, select place (or state, county, Congressional District).
  2. Select a state: California.
  3. Select a geographic area: scroll down to West Covina city.
  4. Click Show Result
Displayed will be Demographic Statistics. There are 5 tables that can be viewed:
Demographic - Sex and Age, Race, Relationship, Household by Type
Social - Education, Marital Status, Fertility, Grandparents...
Economic - Income, Employment, Occupation, Commuting to Work...
Housing - Occupancy and Structure, Housing Value and Costs, Utilities...
Narrative - Text profile with graphs for easy analysis...

Congressional District Data    


Fast Facts for Congress
Geographic levels: Congressional District, state, county

For Koreatown, Chinatown, and Little Saigon, students will need to determine a city name, county, zip code, or Congressional District that encompasses those neighborhoods. The following steps show how to find the Congressional District.

To find the Congressional District for an address and its demographic data:

Fast Facts for Congress web page

  1. Go to Fast Facts for Congress - http://fastfacts.census.gov/

  2. Enter an address or zip code under LOCATE A DISTRICT.

  3. Scroll down page. Displayed is a table of 2005 data from the American Community Survey (ACS) for a Congressional District.

Tip: At the top of each table, click on show more to see more detailed data.
Tip:
At the top of the table, click on NARRATIVE PROFILE to view discussion of the data.


Zip Code Data    


American FactFinder 

Note: To find the zip code of a specific address, go to:
     Zip Code Lookup

To search American FactFinder by zip code:

American FactFinder home page

  1. Go to American FactFinder - http://factfinder.census.gov/

  2. In left frame, hover over FACT SHEET and click on FACT SHEET.

  3. Type in a zip code.

  4. Click GO.

Tip: At the top of each table, click on show more to see more detailed data.


Zip Code Data: Print

Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
REFERENCE
HA203 .S67  2003 CATALOG RECORD
This is a print source for demographic data by zip code.
 


Education Data: Enrollment, Dropouts      


RAND California

College enrollment (CSU and UC) and population projections by race/ethnicity are available in this subscription database:

  1. At the Library’s home page, click on Databases A-Z, and scroll down to RAND California

  2. In KEYWORDS search box, type: asian american

  3. Scroll down through file names to appropriate links. After going to specific pages, tables will have dropdown boxes for ethnicity.

California Research Bureau - report on dropouts (race/ethnicity data)
High School Dropouts, Enrollment, and Graduation Rates in California (2005)
Statewide data on enrollment and dropout rates by race/ethnicity.

Recent California Information    

Orange County Profiles
These are publications by the Center for Demographic Research that report on economic and social conditions in Orange County. Several address immigrant issues. Scroll down through the titles to find titles relevant to your research.
 

The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Los Angeles County PDF-28 pages
Report on race and ethnicity, geographic concentration, social characteristics, economic indicators, language, immigration and citizenship, health indicators and more.

United Way of Greater Los Angeles: Social Reports
A series of social reports that explore many social conditions and trends in the community. Often created in partnership with some of the most respected research institutions in Los Angeles County, these reports offer readable, insightful, and actionable information on the trends that shape life in Greater Los Angeles.

APALC Demographic Research
Reports on Asian Americans and politics.
 


Public Policy Institute of California Reports     

Pew Research Center Reports   

Updated 12/14/07


  Library Home Page 

An instructional page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton.
This page created and maintained by Catherine Kaye.
Created 09/14/07. Updated 12/14/07 .

Locations of visitors to this page