Recent Titles ↑
- California Assembly Bill 651: "Suicide Measure Fails in Key Test; By one vote, a Senate panel rejects a bill that would have allowed the terminally ill to opt for a lethal prescription." June 28, 2006, Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, CALIFORNIA; Metro; Metro Desk; Part B; Pg. 1. Available full text in LexisNexis. Text of the bill: California AB 651 (2005-2006 Session): Assisted Suicide.
- "Right to Die," May 13, 2005, CQ Researcher.
Encyclopedias ↑
- Online:
Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Euthanasia: A Reference Handbook
- Gallup Poll [in INDEX, see "suicide"] [annual]
- Handbook of Death and Dying
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
- National Survey of State Laws (in 2003 ed., see pages 489-527)
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law [in INDEX, see "Euthanasia and Suicide]
-
Online:
Voluntary Euthanasia [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]
Statistics ↑
- Oregon's Death with Dignity Act
- 8 Years Under Oregon's Assisted Suicide Law
- Physician Assisted Suicide: Oregon: Annual Reports 1998-current
- Suicide in the United States [CDC]
- Suicide Facts
Books ↑
Below is a selective list of books in Pollak Library. To find more books in Pollak Library, search the Library Catalog using these searches as examples:
- Subjects:
Book titles of note:
- Euthanasia, Ethics, and Public Policy: An Argument Against Legalisation (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- A Merciful End: The Euthanasia Movement in Modern America (2003) CATALOG RECORD
- Assisted Suicide and End-Of-Life Decisions [APA]
- A Natural Right to Die: Twenty-three Centuries of Debate (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- The Supreme Court in the Intimate Lives of Americans: Birth, Sex, Marriage, Childrearing, and Death (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- BioethicsLife, Liberty, and the Defense of Dignity: The Challenge for Bioethics (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- The Right to Die with Dignity: An Argument in Ethics, Medicine, and Law (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- Dying Right: The Death with Dignity Movement (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- Assisted Suicide: A Disability Perspective
- Assisted Suicide: The Continuing Debate (2002)
- Come Lovely and Soothing Death: The Right to Die Movement in the United States (1999) CATALOG RECORD
- Cultural Issues in End-of-Life Decision Making (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- Death and Bereavement Across Cultures CATALOG RECORD
- Debate over Physician-Assisted Suicide: Empirical Data and Convergent Views
- The Ethics of Killing: Problems at the Margins of Life (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- Euthanasia and the Right To Die: A Comparative View CATALOG RECORD
- Families Facing Death: A Guide for Healthcare Professionals and Volunteers CATALOG RECORD
- History of Suicide: Voluntary Death in Western Culture (1999) CATALOG RECORD
- In the Arms of Others: A Cultural History of the Right-To-Die in America (1999) CATALOG RECORD
- Last Choice: Preemptive Suicide in Advanced Age (1998) CATALOG RECORD
- Lethal Judgments: Assisted Suicide and American Law (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- Practical Issues in Physician-Assisted Suicide
- Suicide and Euthanasia in Older Adults: A Transcultural Journey (2001) CATALOG RECORD
Articles ↑
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Laws↑
- Oregon: Oregon's Death with Dignity Act: Text
- Oregon: Death With Dignity Act: Legislative Statute
- California: California AB 651 (2005-2006 Session): Assisted Suicide
- California--Assembly Bill 651:
"Suicide
Measure Fails in Key Test; By one vote, a Senate panel rejects a bill
that would have allowed the terminally ill to opt for a lethal
prescription."
June 28, 2006, Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, CALIFORNIA; Metro; Metro Desk; Part B; Pg. 1. Available full text in LexisNexis. - State laws: National Survey of State Laws (all 50 states) (see page 549) (2003) CATALOG RECORD
- Act to Clarify Federal Law with Respect to Restricting the Use of Federal Funds in Support of Assisted Suicide. Public Law 105-12 (1997) PDF-8 pages
- Death, Dying, and the Law CATALOG RECORD
- Dying Right: The Death with Dignity Movement (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- Lethal Judgments: Assisted Suicide and American Law CATALOG RECORD
- Euthanasia and Assisted Suicide: A Family Practice Perspective
- Law at the End of Life: The Supreme Court and Assisted Suicide CATALOG RECORD
- The Right to Die with Dignity: An Argument in Ethics, Medicine, and Law (2001) CATALOG RECORD
- The Supreme Court in the Intimate Lives of Americans: Birth, Sex, Marriage, Childrearing, and Death (2002) CATALOG RECORD
- U.S. Supreme Court Rules on Physician Assisted Suicide Cases
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law [In INDEX , see Euthanasia and Suicide] CATALOG RECORD
Primary Sources ↑
Pro and Con ↑
- Opposing Viewpoints [CSUF only]
- CQ Researcher [CSUF only]
