|
Each year the month of April is tied to
poetic expression as we celebrate
National Poetry Month. Here
you will find information on poetry-related resources in Pollak
Library and beyond, including
Reference Books,
Magazines
and Journals, Web sites, and
Los Angeles
& Orange County Poetry Venues.
The
Poetry Resource Guide was
created in conjunction with several upcoming events the Library is
co-sponsoring:
-
Thursday, April 20, 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Chun
Yu, poet and author of Little Green: Growing Up During the
Chinese Cultural Revolution will give a
public reading/book signing.
-
Monday, April 24, 12:00 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
Maurya Simon, poet and UC Riverside creative writing professor, will
offer a poetry lecture and give a public reading/book signing.
-
Wednesday, April 26, 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
(lecture); 5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. (reading)
Alberto Rios, poet
and Katharine C.
Turner Chair in English at Arizona State University, will offer a
poetry lecture and give a public reading/book signing.
-
Thursday,
May 4, 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Yiyun Li, author of
A Thousand Years of Good Prayers
will give a talk/public reading and book signing.
All events will be held in Pollak Library, Room 130. Please contact
Barbie McConnell,
Stacy Russo, or
Jie Tian for information.
Reference Books
Located on the First Floor of Library
North
Breen, N. (Ed.). (2006).
Poet's Market.
Cincinnati: Writer's Digest.
CALL NUMBER
PN1059.M3 P63
This reference book provides
help for getting one's poetry published, including information
on publishers, contests and awards, grants, and conferences and
workshops.
De Stasio, G. W., Cambon, G.
& Illiano, A. (Eds.).
Dictionary of
literary biography: Vol. 114. Twentieth-Century Italian poets.
Detroit: Gale Research.
CALL NUMBER PN451 .D53
v. 114
This volume gathers together
36 Italian poets with substantial entries on each that include a
list of published works, biographical information, and
bibliographies for further reading.
Haralson, E. L. (Ed.).
(2001).
Encyclopedia of American poetry: The Twentieth Century.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn.
CALL NUMBER PS323.5 .E53 2001
Read about the influence of
Zen Buddhism in the poetry of John Cage (1912-1992) or the
"curious" publication history of T.S. Eliot's influential
Four Quartets. This comprehensive resource provides entries
on poets, major poems, and significant events in 20th century
poetry.
Huang, G. (Ed.). (2002).
Asian American poets: A bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook.
Westport, CT: Greenwood.
CALL NUMBER PS153.A84 A826 2002
This sourcebook illustrates the diversity
in Asian American poetry through narrative portraits of nearly
50 poets.
McGreal, I. P. (Ed.). (1996).
Great literature of the Eastern world: The major works of prose,
poetry and drama from China, India, Japan, Korea and the Middle
East.
New York: HarperCollins.
CALL NUMBER PJ307 .G74
1996
This collection provides a
strong introduction to the poetic traditions of the East.
Nelson, E. S. (Ed.). (2003).
Contemporary gay American poets and playwrights: An A-Z guide.
Westport, CT: Greenwood.
CALL NUMBER
PS325 .C656 2003
Learn about the poetic contributions of
lesser- and well-known gay poets in this resource that profiles
62 poets and dramatists. Recognizable names include Allen
Ginsberg, Thom Gunn, and Frank O'Hara.
Pettis, J. (2002).
African
American poets: Lives, works, and sources.
Westport, CT: Greenwood.
CALL NUMBER
PS153.N5
P48 2002
This volume showcases the lives of such
notable African American poets as June Jordan, Nikki Giovanni,
Maya Angelou, and Audre Lorde, along with 44 others.
Preminger, A. & Brogan, T.V.F.
(1993). The new
Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics.
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.
CALL NUMBER PN
1021.N39 1993
Nearly every region of the world,
along with definitions for virtually all poetic terms, may be found
in this title from Princeton University Press. Read about Chinese,
Chicano, Japanese, Turkish, Thai, Russian, Spanish-American,
Swahili, Swiss, Sumerian, Arabic, and Italian poetry - just to name
a few.
Thesing, W. B. (Ed.).
Dictionary of literary
biography: Vol. 199. Victorian Women poets.
Detroit: Gale Research.
CALL NUMBER PN 451. D53 v. 199
Thirty-seven Victorian women
poets are showcased here, including the Bronte sisters and Elizabeth
Barrett Browning.
West-Duran, A. (Ed.). (2004).
Latino and Latina
Writers: Vol. 1.
New York: Thomson Gale.
CALL NUMBER
PS153.H56 L39 2004 v. 1
Volume I of this two-volume
resource profiles poets and writers. Poets include Sandra Cisneros,
Jimmy Santiago Baca, and Lorna Dee Cervantes.
Winfield, J. P. (Ed.).
(1994).
Dictionary of literary biography: Vol. 134. Twentieth-Century
Spanish poets.
Detroit: Gale Research.
CALL NUMBER PN 451. D53
v. 134
Gathered in this volume are
biographies of 31 Spanish poets along with photographs of each
poet and lists of published works.
Witalec, J. (Ed.). (2003).
Harlem Renaissance: A Gale critical companion: Vol 3: Authors
I-Z.
Detroit: Gale.
CALL NUMBER
PS153.N5 H245 2003
v. 3
This three-volume set traces
the significant cultural contributions of the Harlem
Renaissance. Poets found in Volume 3 include Jean Toomer, Anne
Spencer, and Helene Johnson.
Zott, L. M. (Ed.). (2003).
The Beat Generation: A
Gale critical companion: Volume 3: Authors I-Z.
Detroit: Gale.
CALL NUMBER PS228.B6 Z68 2003 v.
3
The Beat Generation is known for
creative expression in many genres of literature, but it could be
argued that it is best remembered for its poetry. This third volume
provides profiles of several literary figures, many of them poets.
Jack Kerouac, Michael McClure, Gary Snyder, and Jack Spicer are some
of the poets featured. Commentaries and lists of further reading
recommendations make this companion an excellent resource.
Magazines and Journals
American Poetry Review
CALL NUMBER PS301 .A55 (2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
Presents an eclectic mix of poetry and prose
and aims to make poetry a public art form. Published bimonthly.
Calyx: A Journal of Art and Literature by Women
CALL NUMBER PS508 .W7 C35 (2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
Issued
twice a year, this journal publishes creative work by women.
It includes poetry, short stories, visual art, essays, and book
reviews.
The Iowa Review
CALL NUMBER PS501 .I68
(2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
A prestigious literary magazine containing
stories, poems, essays, and reviews. It is published three times
per year by the Department of English and the Graduate College of
The University of Iowa.
Modern Haiku
Publishes haiku,
senryu, haibun, essays, and book reviews. Published 3 times per
year. (Not owned by Pollak
Library, but some of the content is freely available online at
http://www.modernhaiku.org).
Poetry
CALL NUMBER PS301 .P6 (2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
This monthly
magazine published by The Poetry Foundation aims “to print the best
English verse which is being written today, regardless of where, by
whom, or under what theory of art it is written” (goal stated by
founder Harriet Monroe in 1912, from
http://www.poetrymagazine.org/about/,
retrieved 2/29/06).
Poetry Review
CALL NUMBER PN1010 .P7
(2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
The quarterly magazine of the Poetry Society.
Established in 1909, this magazine prints and reviews British and
world poetry.
Poets & Writers
CALL NUMBER PS129 .C55
(2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
This
bimonthly magazine addresses the craft of writing and the art of
publication. It also includes profiles of and interviews with
contemporary American authors.
Writer’s Digest
CALL NUMBER PN101 .W82
(2nd Floor North, Periodicals)
Technique,
inspiration, and trade information for writers. Published monthly.
Web sites
Library of Congress
Poetry
Significant poetry resources at the Library of
Congress include poetry archive, poetry reference sources, Poet
Laureate, Prizes, Fellowships, and Poetry Webcasts.
http://www.loc.gov/poetry
The Academy of American Poets
Founded in 1934, the Academy of
American Poets supports American poets and poetry, including
inaugurating National Poetry Month (April) and establishing the
Poetry Audio Archive, with nearly 500 recordings dating back to the
1960s.
http://www.poets.org/
Poetry Society
of America
Since its founding in 1910, Poetry Society in America has honored
poets and poetry by establishing national awards such as the Frost
Medal and contemporary outreach programs such as Poetry in Motion.
http://www.poetrysociety.org
The Poetry
Foundation
Founded in 1912, The Poetry Foundation is an
independent, non-profit literary organization devoted to poetry. It
publishes
the nation’s oldest monthly poetry magazine.
http://www.poetryfoundation.org
The Poetry
Society (UK)
Founded in 1909, the Poetry Society promotes the study, use and
enjoyment of poetry. The web site highlights include education
resources, poetry news, and landmarks of poetry in Britain.
http://www.poetrysociety.org.uk/
The Poetry Archive
From Alfred Tennyson to Langston Hughes, this web site provides online
recordings of poets reading their own work.
http://www.poetryarchive.org/poetryarchive/home.do
Poetry
International Web
A
new, world-wide forum for poetry on the Internet, Poetry
International Web now has twenty editors from twenty different
countries who work in collaboration, with an emphasis on poetry in
translation.
http://www.poetryinternational.org/
Los Angeles
& Orange County Poetry Venues
Los Angeles and Orange Counties
Poetry Flash
Poetry Flash publishes poetry reviews and a literary calendar
bi-monthly. Its online calendar is a great source to find out about
poetry and literary events in Northern and Southern California, the
West Coast, and/or national-wide.
http://www.poetryflash.org/
Southern
California POETIX
http://www.poetix.net
Orange County Poetry Venues
Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Garden
415 Avenida Granada
San Clemente (949) 498-2139
http://www.casaromanticapoetry.com
Tebot Bach
Golden West College Community Room 102
Huntington Beach
http://www.tebotbach.org
The Ugly
Mug 261 North
Glassell Orange
http://www.poetryidiots.com
Los Angeles County Poetry Venues
Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, UCLA
Campus
http://www.latimes.com/extras/festivalofbooks
UCLA Hammer Readings
Hammer Museum 10899 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles (310)
471-6263 or (310) 443-7000
http://www.hammer.ucla.edu
The Ruskin Art Club/Red Hen Press
800 S. Plymouth Blvd.
Los Angeles (323)
755-3530
http://www.redhen.org/ruskinartclub.asp
Beyond Baroque Literary Arts Center
681 Venice Blvd.
Venice (310)
822-3006
http://www.beyondbaroque.org
Skirball Cultural Center
2701 N. Sepulveda Blvd.
Los Angeles (310)
440-4500
http://www.skirball.org/home.php
The
World Stage
4344 Degnan Blvd.
Los Angeles (323)
293-2451
http://www.theworldstage.org
Moonday
Village Books 1049
Swarthmore Ave.
Pacific
Palisades (310) 454-4063
http://www.moondaypoetry.com
Rhapsodomancy
1514 Hillhurst Avenue
Los Angeles
http://rhapsodomancy.typepad.com
Monday Night Poetry
Santa Catalina Branch of the Pasadena Public
Library 999 E. Washington Blvd.
Pasadena
http://www.home.earthlink.net/~mondaynightpoetry |