Pollak Library Library News Featured Reference Books
  The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath   Lucy, Jamaica Kincaid Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, J.K. Rowling Banned Books Resource Guide
Celebrate your freedom to read!
Banned Books Week: September 23 - 30, 2006

Created by Stacy Russo (2006)

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou

Reference Books  |  Periodicals  |  Web Resources  |  Reading List


100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 1990-2000 Flyer [PDF]


Reference Books - during September 2006, see the display at the Reference Desk, 1st Floor, Library North

Banned Books Resource Guide CALL NUMBER: Z658.U5 B37
This resource includes information on over 1500 banned or challenged books, brief summaries of "Notable First Amendment Court Cases," and a list of "National Organizations Concerned with First Amendment Issues." 

Banned in the U.S.A.: A Reference Guide to Book Censorship in Schools and Public Libraries
CALL NUMBER: Z658.U5 F64 2002
This book is divided into chapters titled "A Survey of Major Bookbanning Incidents," "The Law on Bookbanning," and "The Most Frequently Banned or Challeged Books, 1996-2000."

Censorship: A World Encyclopedia (4 volumes) CALL NUMBER: Z657.C393 2001 
This substantial work on international censorship presents the work of nearly 600 contributors from 50 countries.

Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics: Censorship, Revolution, and Writing (3 volumes)
CALL NUMBER: PN51.E63 2005

Literature and politics have an often volatile relationship. This 3-volume set explores writers, theorists, specific works, and related topics on an international scale.

Hit List for Children 2: Frequently Challenged Books CALL NUMBER: Z1019 .H682 2002
Published by the Office for Intellectual Freedom of the American Library Association, this resource provides entries by author. Each entry includes information on the author's book(s) that have been challenged, along with a summary of challenges, reviews of the book(s), and references about the author and, if applicable, the illustrator. Note: Hit List for Children: Frequently Challenged Books (publication date: 1996) is also available  

Hit List for Young Adults 2: Frequently Challenged Books CALL NUMBER: Z1019.L48 2002
Similar to the Hit List for Children, this publication, organized by author, provides information on challenged books.
Note: Hit List for Young Adults (publication date: 1996) is also available.

Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds CALL NUMBER: Z658.U5 K37 1998
This resource provides the censorship histories of numerous works on political grounds.  

Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds CALL NUMBER: BL65.C45 B35 1998 
Found here are discussions of the censorship history of many works. Also included are quotes by writers who have been censored for religious reasons.

Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds CALL NUMBER: PN56.E7 S68 1998
Nabokov's Lolita and Joyce's Ulysses are just two of the many works included here.  

Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds CALL NUMBER: Z658.U5 S69 1998  
This volume includes plot summaries and censorship histories of many classic works. A few titles included are The Scarlet Letter, A Farewell to Arms, The Color Purple, Catch-22, and Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl.

People For and Against Restricted or Unrestricted Expression CALL NUMBER: JC591.H37 2002
This resource includes profiles of 50 individuals, ranging from those who seek to limit free speech to those who advocate for it.


Periodicals - 2nd Floor, Library North

Index on Censorship CALL NUMBER: AP4.I55 (also online - CSUF students, faculty, & staff only)
First published in 1972, Index on Censorship is a quarterly journal that examines the issue of free expression through essays, opinion pieces, fiction, and poetry.

Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom CALL NUMBER: Z671.N47
This is the bi-monthly newsletter of the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom. First published in 1952, the newsletter reports on "targets of the censor," including books, periodicals, film and video, and broadcasting.


Web Resources

 

Amensty International USA: Banned Books Week

American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression

American Library Association

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund

Digital Freedom Network

Electronic Frontier Foundation

Feminists for Free Expression

First Amendment Center

Free Expression Policy Project

Freedom to Read Statement (American Library Association)

Human Rights Watch for Free Expression on the Internet

The Most Frequently Challenged Books of 2005 (American Library Association)

 

The Most Frequently Challenged Authors of 2005 (American Library Association)

 

The Most Frequently Challenged Books Written by Authors of Color 1990-2000 (American Library Association)

Pen American Center

Society of Professional Journalists


Reading List

The following is a list of selected banned or challenged titles available at the Pollak Library. For additional titles, you may refer to the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 1990-2000 Flyer (PDF). Please click on the titles below to see if the book is currently available for check out. Multiple editions are available for some titles. Ask a Librarian for help locating a book you would like to read.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
CALL NUMBER:
PS1305 .A1 

Always Running by Luis Rodriguez
CALL NUMBER:
HV6439.U7 L77 1993

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 
CALL NUMBER:
PS3566.L27 B4 1996b 

Beloved by Toni Morrison
CALL NUMBER: PS3563.O8749 B4 2000    
 

Bless Me Ultima by Rudolfo A. Anaya
CALL NUMBER: PS3551.N27 B58 1999

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
CALL NUMBER: PR6015.U9 B65 1998   
 

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
CALL NUMBER:
PS3537.A426 C315 1991 

The Color Purple by Alice Walker
CALL NUMBER:
PS3573.A425 C6 1983  

The Education of Harriet Hatfield by May Sarton
CALL NUMBER: PS3537.A832 E38 1989 

Fear of Flying by Erica Jong
CALL NUMBER: PS3560.O56 F4x 1974 

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
CALL NUMBER: PR9199.3.A8 H3 1986

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
CALL NUMBER:
PR6068.O93 H37798 1998   

The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende
CALL NUMBER:
PQ8098.1.L54 C313 1985 

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
CALL NUMBER:
PS3551.N464 Z466 1997 

Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
CALL NUMBER: PS3555.L625 I5 2002 

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence
CALL NUMBER:
PR6023 .A93l2   

A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein
CALL NUMBER: PS3569.I47224 L5 1981
Located in the Juvenile Section (4th Floor North)

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
CALL NUMBER:
PR6013 .O35l 

Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid
CALL NUMBER: PR9275.A583 K5638 1990 

Native Son by Richard Wright
CALL NUMBER:
PS3545.R815 N25 2003   

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
CALL NUMBER: PS3537.T3234 O3 1993 

One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
CALL NUMBER: PS3561.E667 O5 1999 

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
CALL NUMBER: PQ8180.17.A73 C513 1995 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
CALL NUMBER:
PS3562.E353 T6335 1999  

When I Was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago
CALL NUMBER: F128.9.P85 S27 1994   

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
CALL NUMBER: PZ7.L5385 Wr 1998
Located in the Juvenile Section (4th Floor North
)


Library Home Page

An instructional page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This guide created and maintained by Stacy Russo (2006).
Created: 08/18/06. Updated: 01/05/07 .