Reference
A Pollak Library Research Guide

Rob Sage, Reference and Instruction Librarian
Pollak Library 124
(714) 278-4057
rsage@fullerton.edu
 

FINANCE: A Pollak Library Research Guide

The CSUF library has a wealth of resources for your business research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. This guide is especially designed for CSUF students of finance.  Here you will find Library & research resources for every area of finance.

Articles: How to find articles on your business topic.  These articles may be found in books, journals, or may even be in full text online!
Books: How to find books on your business topic
Journals: A list of business-related journals CSUF owns
Reference: A list of guides, dictionaries, directories, etc.
Web Sites: A list of recommended business-related Web Sites
FAQ: A guide to finding answers to the most frequently researched business topics.

 

 

Finance: Business Tables

The business tables are a special area of reference containing highly used print business materials.  These materials can all be found in the Library Catalog.  Many useful and unique sources on corporate finance, accounting, and investments may be found on the business tables.  Click on the above link to access descriptions of our Business Tables collection.

Finance: Reference Sources

Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing (unless otherwise noted) consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the links below to connect to the library catalog record for location and call numbers of some useful resources that cover  business administration topics. Below each link are some descriptions of a few of the most useful books we have in each category of reference book.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online access to the full-text of some of the most popular business reference works.  Available titles include:

Business Information Handbook 2003 2003
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 1, 1995
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 2, 1996
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 3, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 4, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 5, 1998
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 6, 1999
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 7, 2000
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 8, 2001
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 9, 2002
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 10, 2004
Company Profiles for Students 3v, 1999
Encyclopedia of American Industries 4th ed., 2v, 2005
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook 2v, 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce

Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of books or other materials that would be useful in finding information on your topic.

Business Research Sources: A Reference Navigator by F. Patrick Butler Ref HF 54.52.U5 B88
A guide to the most useful business reference books.  A complete description and how-to guide for each item is provided.

The Basic Business Library: Core Resources by Bernard S. Schlessinger,   REF Z765 .B8 B37
A guide to over 1000 business reference tools.  Some information (such as price) is out of date, but this is still a valuable tool when first looking for business resources.

Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It. 
REF DESK HF 5356.L36

Provides sources on where to find information by topic.

The Investment  Sourcebook by Michael Constas and Jae K. Shim
REF DESK HG 4521. C65

Provides a bibliography of investment sources, an overview of each topic, and a glossary of investment and finance terminology.

Investment  Statistics Locator: Revised and Expanded by Linda Holman Bently and Jennifer J. Kiesl
5th Floor South HG 4910z B457

Slightly dated, but still useful guide to sources that provide statistical data on a wide variety of economic and financial topics.

Dictionaries

The following dictionaries will help you to find the meaning of words used in finance, investments, and banking.

Dictionary of Finance and Banking
REF  HG 151. D7

The Handbook of International Financial Terms by Peter Moles and Nicholas Terry
REF  HG 3830 .M65

A British publication that defines terms used in finance around the world.

The International Dictionary of Finance by Graham Bannock and William Manser
REF  HG 151. B274

A British publication that defines terms used in finance around the world.

The Investment  Sourcebook by Michael Constas and Jae K. Shim
REF DESK HG 4521. C65

Provides a bibliography of investment sources, an overview of each topic, and a glossary of investment and finance terminology.

Oxford Reference Premium Online: Economics and Business
Search online through dictionaries of business, accounting, economics, human resources, and finance.  Bilingual dictionaries of business are also available.  Note:  you must login to the CSUF portal before accessing this resource.

Wall Street Words: An Essential A to Z Guide for Today's Investor by David L. Scott 
REF
HG 4513 .S37

A dictionary of terms used in the financial markets and in investing.

Encyclopedias
Use these current encyclopedias to find brief descriptions of concepts, people, places, and things in finance, investing, and banking.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance, edited by Dean Paxson and Douglas Wood
REF HG 151 .B49

Part of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series.  This work provides detailed definitions and descriptions of major concepts in finance.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
REF HF 1001 .E467 2001. Vol. 1, Vol. 2, and Vol. 3

Provides a broad overview of major terms and concepts in the worlds of business, finance, management, marketing, IT, etc.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance, edited by Dean Paxson and Douglas Wood
REF HG 151 .B49

Part of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management series.  This work provides detailed definitions and descriptions of major concepts in finance.

International  Encyclopedia of The Stock Market
REF HG 4551 .I57

An encyclopedia of general business concepts as well as more specific topics related to stock markets and investing.

The Investment  Sourcebook by Michael Constas and Jae K. Shim
REF DESK HG 4521. C65

Provides a bibliography of investment sources, an overview of each topic, and a glossary of investment and finance terminology.

Almanacs
Use these almanacs as a handy reference to facts and figures.

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
REF HF 5691 .B73
Provides definitions, uses, and formulas for hundreds of business ratios.

The Portable MBA Desk Reference
 
REF HD 38.15 . P67

The Irwin Business and Investment Almanac
5th Floor South HF 5003 .D681

Thorndike Encyclopedia of Banking and Financial Tables, by David Thorndike
 Ref HG 1626 .T49

"A compilation of tables for use by bankers, attorneys, accountants, investors, entrepreneurs, lenders, and borrowers." - Introduction.

Quotations

The Manager's book of quotations
REF HD38 .M31875


In the Words of Great Business Leaders
REF PN 6084 .B87 I5

A compilation of  interviews with business leaders throughout history giving their thoughts on specific topics such as selling, working hard, and bosses.

The Wiley Book of Business Quotations: More than 5,000 Insights, Opinions, and Witticisms About Doing Business Today
REF PN 6084 .B87 W55
 

Created: February 2002  Updated: 20 May 2008.

 

Prepared by Rob Sage: rsage@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.