Home

Reference - French

Reference books are good sources to consult at the beginning of a research project. Following is a sampling of reference materials that might be useful. There are many more titles on these subjects available in both reference and in the general collection.

Language Dictionaries:

bullet[French] Dictionnaire de L'ancienne Langue Francaise et de Tous Ses Dialectes du IX au XV Siecle PC2889 .G6 1982 10 vols.
Reprint of the 1881-1902 edition.
bullet[French-English] Grand Dictionnaire (Larousse) PC2640 .G735 1993
Standard dictionary.
bullet[French] Grand Larousse de la Langue Francaise PC2625 .G7 7 vols.
Definition and brief etymology and history.
bullet[French] Tresor de la Langue Francaise: Dictionnaire de la Langue du XIX et du XX SieclePC2625 .I4  14 vols.
Scholarly analysis of the vocabulary with etymology, first and other important written examples of use, definitions.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Almanacs:

bullet[French] Grand Larousse en 5 Volumes AE25 .G638 1987
Brief entries, arranged alphabetically.
bullet[English] Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution, 1789-1799 DC147 .H57 1985 2-vols.
Scholarly 1/2 to 5-page entries on persons and places, events, and theory and philosophies. Bibliography with each entry.
bullet[English] Medieval France: an Encyclopedia DC33.2 M44 1995
Brief entries on all aspects of politics, economics, persons, society and the arts from the 5th-15th centuries.
bullet[French] Quid? 2001 AE25 .F75
Annual almanac.

Grammar/Linguistics

bullet[French] Dictionnaire des Locutions Idiomatiques Francaises PC2689 .L25 1991
A book of idiomatic phrases for those learning French.
bullet[English] A Glossary of French Literary Expression PC2680 .R4
Written to expand the vocabulary of the student beginning to write literary criticism and analysis in French.
bullet[French] Nouveau Dictionnaire des Difficultes du Francais Moderne PC2630 .H33
Alphabetic entry by word or part of speech and explanation of how to use.
bulletLe bon usage. Grammaire française avec des remarques sur la langue française d'aujourd'hui PC2112 .G84 1975

Biographies:

bullet[French] Dictionnaire de Biographie Francaise  CT 143 .D5 Multi-volume
We have volumes 1-14, 18. Brief entries (paragraph to 1 1/2 page) on persons of note throughout French history.
bullet[French] Dictionnaire des Auteurs de Langue Francaise en Americque du Nord PQ3900.2 H36 1989
Brief biography and bibliography of French language literary figures in both Canada and the United States. Includes novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, critics and historians from the 16th-20th centuries.
bullet[French] Who's Who in France DC 36 W4
Various editions from 1959-1985. 

 Literary Criticism and History:

bullet[French] Bibliographie der Franzosischen Literaturewissenschaft / Bibliographie D'histoire Litteraire Francaise PQ103 .B5  Annual since 1956, our last volume is 1989.
Each volume is arranged by subject (Generalites), era (Middle Ages, 16th - 20th century and then by author) and country. Books and journal articles are listed for each subject. 
bullet[French] Dictionnaire des Litteratures de Langue Francaise PQ41 .B4 1987 4-vols.
Brief to multi-page articles on a broad range of French language literatures and authors, including many French language countries.
bullet[French] Dictionnaire des Oeuvres Litteraires du Quebec PQ3901 .D5 1980
Vol.1 - up to 1900. All literary forms, by title with some brief biographic information.
bullet[English] French Women Writers: a Bio-Bibliographical Source Book PQ149 .F73 1991
Biographical information and critical analysis of the works of 52 leading female French writers from the 12th-20th centuries.
bullet[English] Guide to French Literature: Beginnings to 1789 PQ41 .L479 1994
Detailed encyclopedic entries on leading authors and literary movements and theories.
bullet[French] Lettres Francaises de Belgique PQ3811 .Z5 1988 vol 1 & 3.
Novels (vol. 1) and Plays (vol. 2) from Belgium, 1830-1980.

Other:

bullet[French] Dictionnarie du Cinema PN1993.45 .D53 1991
Mostly brief paragraph length entries on persons involved in film throughout the world. Histories,  styles and genres get extended articles. Illustrated.

horizontal rule

Prepared by Rosemary McGill. An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created: April 4, 2002. Last Updated: March 10, 2006