|

| |
Reference books are good sources to consult at the
beginning of a research project. Following is a sampling of reference materials
that might be useful. There are many more titles on these subjects available in
both reference and in the general collection.
Language Dictionaries:
 | [German-English]
Cambridge-Eichborn
German Dictionary: Economics, Law, Administration, Business, General 2
vols. H45 .E36 1983 Business language dictionary,
covering the vocabulary used in trade and scholarly business, economics,
finance and accounting publications, the business world and business legal
materials. |
 | [German-English]
The Concise
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary :
German-English, English-German [electronic resource] |
 | [German]
Der Grosse Duden 9vols.
PF3146 .D72 We have vols. 1-3, 5-6. |
 | [German-English]
Langenscheidt's
New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German
Languages PF3640 .L257 Standard language dictionary
with over 180,000 words |
 |
Langenscheidt
Routledge German Dictionary of Business, Commerce and Finance :
English-German/German-English HF1002 .R685
2003 |
 | LEO Online
Dictionary Translation dictionary and much more from the Technischen
Universität München. |
Grammar/Linguistics:
 | [German]
Grammatik
PF3105
.D8 Volume 4 of Der Duden, this volume specifically details
current
usage. |
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:
Bibliographies:
Biographies:
 | [German] Allgemeine
Deutsche Biographie CT1053 .A52 Multi-volume.
1967. Biographical
information and bibliographical references on historical German figures.
Printed in the old German Gothic type. |
 | [English]
Dictionary of German Biography [DGB] CT759 .D4813
2001
6 volumes.
Over 59,000 brief entries on historic personalities (no living persons). Some
longer entries on major figures with bibliography. |
 | [German]
Die
Grossen Deutschen CT1054 .G72
5 volumes. A
biographical dictionary containing 234 chapter-length, signed articles
arranged by era and somewhat chronologically. The biographies include
cultural, religious, and military figures of German history. |
 | [German]
Neue
Deutsche Biographie DD85 N48 Multi-volume. Biographical
information and bibliographical references on historical German figures. |
Literary Criticism and History:
Other:
 | [English]
The BFI Companion to German Cinema PN1993.5 .G3 B44 1999
Concise half page entries with bibliography on people, institutions and
concepts in German language film. Introductory essay on German film in the
1990s. |
 | [German]
Historisches Worterbuch der Philosophie B43 .R59 11 volume
dictionary containing lengthy, signed articles on concepts, terminology, and schools of
thought. No biographical articles; does contain bibliographies. Articles
outline the historical development and discuss the uses of their terms and
concepts. |
 | [German]
MGG. Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
ML100 .M92 1994 &1998 20 volume
encyclopedia of music in 2 parts: subject and biography. Biography has not yet
been completely published. |
Reviews:
 |
H-Net Reviews Scholarly discussion of recent (1995-)books
dealing with German history and politics. |

|