Home

Reference - Portuguese

Reference books are good sources to consult at the beginning of a research project. Following are examples of Portuguese reference materials that might be useful. There are many more titles on these subjects available in both reference and in the general collection.

Language Dictionaries:

bullet[Portuguese-English] Collins English-Portuguese, Português-Inglês Dictionary
(Ref) PC5333.W45
Standard dictionary
bullet[Portuguese] Dicionário Etimológico da Língua Portuguesa (Ref) PC5305. D52
The most authoritative Portuguese language etymological dictionary
bullet[Portuguese] Dicionário de Termos Literários (Ref) PN41.M64 1982
Explanation of literary terms, helpful for students writing literary analyses in Portuguese
bullet[Portuguese-English] Dictionary of Informal Brazilian Portuguese
(Ref) PC5446 .C45 1983
bullet[Portuguese] Grande Dicionário da Língua Portuguesa, 10th ed.
(Ref) PC5327. M73 12 vols.
Comprehensive dictionary of the Portuguese language
bullet[Portuguese] Novo Dicionário de Termos e Expressões Populares
(Ref) PC5446. C26
Idiomatic words and phrases

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:

 
bullet[Portuguese] Dicionário Prático Ilustrado: Novo Dicionário Enciclopédico Luso-Brasileiro (Ref) AG37.S4
Comprehensive dictionary illustrated in color and black and white; includes maps, drawings, charts, and tables
bullet[English] Dictionary of Portuguese-African Civilization (Ref) DT352.4 .N86
The historical record of Portuguese Africa, from 1415 to 1975, in alphabetical listings. Volume 1 includes terms, places, and events significant in Brazilian history; Volume 2 covers notable personages.
bullet[Portuguese-English] Novo Michaelis Dicionário Ilustrado/New Michaelis Illustrated Dictionary (Ref) PC5333. M584 2 vols.

Grammar/Linguistics:
bullet [Portuguese] Dicionário de Filologia e Gramática, Referente à Língua Portuguêsa
(Ref) PC5327. C18
Philology and grammar dictionary; includes bibliography
bullet[Portuguese] Dicionário Geral de Sinônimos e Locuçôes da Língua Portuguêsa 2 vols. (Ref) PC5315. C83
Synonym and phrase dictionary
bullet[English-Portuguese] Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology
(Ref) GN562. S74
Spanish American, Brazilian American, French American, and American French Creole terms; includes an extensive bibliography

Literary Criticism and History:

bullet [Portuguese] Dicionário Cronológico de Autores Portugueses (Ref) PQ9027.D5
Organized by literary genre; authors are also listed in alphabetical order and cross-referenced to their genre; most entries include bibliographies
bullet [Portuguese] Dicionário de Literatura: Literatura Portuguesa, Literatura Brasileira, Literatura Galega, e Estilística Literaria (Ref) PQ9006.C65x
Covers authors, terms, movements, and genres in Portuguese, Galician, and Brazilian literature; entries include bibliographies
bullet[English] Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula 
(Ref) PN849.S6 D54 2 vols.
Covers Catalonian, Galician, Portuguese, and Spanish literature from the tenth century to the mid-1980s; entries include bibliographies
bullet[Portuguese] Enciclopédia de Literatura Brasileira (Ref) PQ9506 .E53 1990
Covers Brazilian authors, artists, works, and literary terms, movements, and periodicals; entries include bibliographies

Bibliographies:

 
bullet [Portuguese] Bibliografía da Literatura Portuguêsa (4th floor South Wing) Z2721. M63 Organized chronologically by literary movement
bullet[English] Brazil, Portugal, and Other Portuguese-Speaking Lands; a List of Books Primarily in English (4th floor South Wing) Z2711 .R6

horizontal rule

Prepared by Rosemary McGill. An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created: April 4, 2002. Last Updated: March 10, 2006