|




| |
Reference
Books Journal Articles
Journals Web

The Reference collection is located on the 1st floor of
Library North. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, literary criticism and other
subjects of use to Foreign Language students are found here. Reference
items remain in the library and cannot be checked out.
General Language and Linguistics Encyclopedias can provide a brief overview
of the history, usage and grammar of a language:
 |
Compendium
of the World's Languages 2nd ed. 2 vols. P371 .C36 2000 4-10
page entries including and introduction (the language family, history, use
and dialects); script (written forms); phonology (sounds); syntax |
 |
Encyclopedia
of Language and Education 8 vols. P40.8 .E53 1997 Essays
covering the international literature and research on all aspects of applied
and theoretical aspects of language and education. Each volume is a specific
subject with chapters covering a more specific topic detailing its history,
contributors, current research, issues and the future direction of research
and practice in this area. A cumulative index is found in volume 8. |
 |
Encyclopedia
of Language and Linguistics 10 vols. P29
.E48 1994 extensive scholarly articles on all topics relating to the
study of linguistics including definitions, research, theories, history and
features of specific languages, biographies. Each article includes a
bibliography. Index and glossary in the final volume. |
 |
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics 2nd ed. 4 vols.
P29 .I58 2003
957 signed, multi-page entries with bibliography. Subjects reflect the
history, theory and direction of the discipline, written in "popular" language
rather than scholarly. |
 |
Facts
about the World's Languages P371 .F33 2001 3-5
page articles give a good history of the language and its development, its
written forms and pronunciation, morphology and syntax. Charts and examples
are descriptive and useful. Bibliography follows each entry. |
Check the specific language for some examples of
reference materials available at the library:
Chinese French
German Japanese
Portuguese
Spanish

Reference and regular collection books
are arranged using the
Library
of Congress call number (LC) system. Following is a brief list of the LC numbers for language and literature:
 | P Philology and linguistics |
 | PA Classical philology |
 | PB Modern European languages |
 | PC Romance languages
 | 2001-3761 French |
 | 4001-4977 Spanish |
 | 5001-5498 Portuguese |
|
 | PD Germanic languages |
 | PE English |
 | PG Slavic languages and literature |
 | PH Finno-Ugrian, Basque languages and literatures |
 | PJ Oriental languages and literatures |
 | PK Indo-Iranian |
 | PL Eastern Asia, Africa Oceania languages and
literatures
 | 501-889 Japanese language and literature |
 | 901-998 Korean language and literature |
 | 1001-3207 Chinese language and literature |
|
 | PM Hyperborean, Indian and Artificial languages |
 | PN Literature (general) |
 | PQ Romance literatures
 | 1-2999 French |
 | 4001-5999 Italian |
 | 6001-8929 Spanish |
 | 9000-9999 Portuguese |
|
 | PR English literature |
 | PS American literature |
 | PT Germanic literatures |
 | 1-4897 German literature |

|