Geography
A CSUF Pollak Library Research Guide

Geography: Reference Resources

AtlasesBibliographies Biographies DictionariesEncyclopedias/Handbooks
 • GazetteersGeographical Information Systems Guidebooks MapsRankings
 • Learn About New Maps from USGS

Want to browse? Call numbers for Geography, Anthropology and Recreation.

Atlases Top of Page

WorldUnited States • California • HistoricalSpecialty

Atlases: World Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Hammond Citation World Atlas
Reference G1021 .H267 1986 
United States is emphasized with individual state maps. Excellent maps.
Lacks historic mapping.(1.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
National Geographic Atlas
Ref Atlases G1021 .N38 1999 
Attractive maps, many thematic maps and discussions of world resources. Divided by continent. Each section is introduced by an encyclopedia-like article. Large-scaled maps are clear and easy to read but only indicate rudimentary aspects of relief. Index does not include coordinates of latitude and longitude. Too much emphasis on American interests.(1.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
New International Atlas
Ref Atlases G1021 .R23 1999 
Scales 1:6 million and 1:3 million. Maps tend to be double-pages, legible, maps of extraordinary quality made by international cartographers, so is a good balance between American readers and other countries.(1.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
Rand McNally Cosmopolitan World Atlas
Ref Atlases G1021 .R35 1987 
Scale 1:3 million-1:16 million. Shows 12 largest metropolitan areas of the United States. Facts and text materials have a separate index.(1.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
Times Atlas of the World: Comprehensive Edition
Ref Atlases G1021 .T5644 1999
Best single-volume atlas available. Large-scale, multiple maps for several countries. Attention to color and detail. 3 parts: #1: conspectus of world minerals, sources of energy and food, and a variety of diagrams and star charts. #2: atlas proper. Shows almost every noteworthy geographical feature from lighthouses and tunnels to mangrove swamps by carefully explained symbols. Scale 1:2,500,000. #3: place names, which serves as an excellent gazetteer.(1.)

Atlases: United States Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
National Atlas of the United States. U.S. Geological Survey
Ref Atlases G1200 .U57 1970 
Out of print and in need of revision, but still impressive and much-used. Over-sized. #1: General Reference Maps 1:200 million, urban areas 1:500,000. Many special subject maps whose themes range from economics to demography and contain some of the best information available. Section on administrative maps that show various districts and regions. (1.)

Atlases: California Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
California, an Environmental Atlas & Guide 
Reference G1525 .K7 1991 
Ecology, conservation of natural resources, and historical geography.
Click here to see OPAC location.
California: Patterns on the Land
Reference G1525 .D8 1976 
Maps, economic conditions, geographical, historical, and political maps.
Click here to see OPAC location.
California Patterns: A Geographical and Historical Atlas 
Reference G1525 .H6 1983 
Maps, historical geography, physical maps.
Click here to see OPAC location.
California Road & Recreation Atlas 
Ref Atlases G1526.P2 B4 2000 
Outdoor recreation and roads.

Atlases: Historical Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
The Historical Atlas of the Earth: A Visual Exploration of the Earth's Physical Past
Reference QE28.3 .H57 1996 

Atlases: Specialty Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Atlas of the Environment 
Reference G1046.G3 L421 1990
Natural resources, Economic geography, Human geography (Economic aspects),  and Pollution. 
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Economist Atlas of the New Europe
Ref Atlases G1797.2 .E2 1992 
1. History; 2. Communications; 3.Business; 4. Finance; 5. Politics; 6. International relations;  7. War and defense; 8. Environment; 9. People and culture
Click here to see OPAC location.
 
The Times Atlas and Encyclopedia of the Sea 
Ref Atlases G2800 .T5 1990
The ocean environment; resources of the ocean; ocean trade; world ocean; geography of the oceans and seas; shipping routes; strategic use of the oceans; study of the sea; law of the sea.

Bibliographies Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Aids to Geographical Research: Bibliographies, Periodicals, Atlases, Gazetteers and Other Reference Books
Reference Z6001.A1 W9 
Good source for historical material.2.
Click here to see OPAC location.
Research Catalogue
Reference G1 .A51 
Photolithographed catalogue cards. V1 & 2: General; V3 Regional North America; V. 4-5: United States; 6-7 Mexico, Central America, Bermuda, West Indies, South America; 8-10 Europe; 11: Africa; 12: Tropics. Map supplement is a map key. Strong in periodical-article entries. From the American Geographical Society. (2.)

Biographies  Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location. Webster's Guide to American History; A Chronological, geographical, and Biographical Survey and Compendium
Reference E174.5 .W4 

Dictionaries Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Geography 
Reference G63 .M39 1992
All aspects of geography: cartography, surveying, ecology, population, agriculture and transport. (2.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Dictionary of Human Geography
Reference GF4 .D52 2000
English-language words and terms in common usage in contemporary human geography.
Click here to see OPAC location.
A Glossary of Geographical Terms: Based on a List Prepared by a Committee of the British Association for the Advancement of Science 
Reference G107.9 .B74 1979 
Covers physical, human, economic and political geography. Definitions are drawn from leading works. (2.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
A Feminist Glossary of Human Geography 
Reference G63 .G5 1999 
Click here to see OPAC location.
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary 
Reference G103.5 .W42 1997 
6th FL SOUTH G103.5 .W42 1997 

Encyclopedias/Handbooks Top of Page

General • Cities • Rainforests • Weather & Climate

Encyclopedias / Handbooks: General Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Geography and Cartography: A Reference Handbook 
Reference G63 .L6 1976
Extended entries on cartography, audio visual aids, bibliographies, classification, education in geography and cartography, globes, map librarianship, maps. Has abstracts and an extensive index. (2.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
Human Settlement 
Reference HT65 .H85 1992 
The settlement pattern;  Urban growth; City landscapes; Managing the city; settlement in specific areas of the world.
Click here to see OPAC location.
Nature's Last Strongholds 
Reference QH75 .N3559 1991
Nature conservation; Conservation of natural resources; National parks and reserves; Effect of human beings on Natural areas.
Click here to see OPAC location.
World Geographical Encyclopedia 
Reference G63 .E5213 1995
V. 1: Africa; 2: Americas; 3: Asia; 4:Europe; 5 Oceania; index. Each volume includes a continental overview (physical geography, geology, climate, economy, history, culture); summary of political and statistical data, regional analyses, geographical summaries per country, historical and cultural itineraries. (2.)

Encyclopedias / Handbooks: Cities Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
American Small City Profiles 
Reference HT123 .A6653 1993 
Click here to see OPAC location.
 
California, Cities, Towns & Counties 
Ref Desk HA261 .C295 1999
Municipal officials and employees; School districts; and Statistics. 
Click here to see OPAC location.
Cities of the world: A Compilation of Current Information on Cultural, Geographical, and Political Conditions in the Countries and Cities of Six Continents, Based on the Department of State's "Post Reports"
Reference G153.4 .C57 1993 
1. Africa; 2. The Western Hemisphere (exclusive of the United States); 3. Europe and the Mediterranean Middle East;. 4. Asia, the Pacific, and the Asiatic Middle East
Click here to see OPAC location.
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs 
Reference HT123 .E5 1998 
 Analyses of urban America including biographical articles by Jane Addams, Marion Barry, Al Capone, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Lewis Mumford, and Lincoln Steffens. Topics include mass transit, social welfare, residential construction, mill towns,  boom towns, Shaker villages, Native Americans, African-American towns, and African Americans in cities. 

Encyclopedias / Handbooks: Rainforests Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
An Act to Amend the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 to Facilitate Protection of Tropical Forests through Debt Reduction with Developing Countries with Tropical Forests
112 stat.885-pl 105-214 TEXT PDF-10 pages
Tropical forest management, conservation, and forestry.
Click here to see OPAC location.
Rain Forest Bibliography: An Annotated Guide to over 1600 Nonfiction Books about Central and South American Jungles 
Reference QH 86z R63 1999

Encyclopedias / Handbooks: Weather & Climate Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Reference QC854 .E523 1996  
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Times Books World Weather Guide 
Reference QC982 .P43 1990 
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Weather Almanac: A Reference Guide to Weather, Climate, and Air Quality in the United States and its Key Cities, Comprising Statistics, Principles, and Terminology
Reference QC983 .R83 1992
Air quality and climatology in the United States.
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Weather Handbook: A Summary of Climatic Conditions and Weather Phenomena for Selected Cities in the United States and Around the World
Reference QC982 .W38 1990 
Climatology tables.

Gazetteers Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary 
Reference G103.5 .W42 1997 
Gazetteer, not a dictionary. Place names, geographical terms. (2.)

Geographical Information Systems Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Geographical Information Systems
Reference G70.2 .G46 1999
v. 1. Principles and technical issues; v. 2. Management issues and applications.

Guidebooks Top of Page

In the CSUF Pollak Library Catalog (OPAC), do a subject search for guidebook and the geographical area you are interested in.

Maps Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Guide to U.S. Map Resources
Reference GA193.U5 C62 1990

Rankings Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
Gale Country & World Rankings Reporter
Reference HA154 .G35 1997
Vital statistics, Population Statistics, 
Economic indicators, and Social indicators. 
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Illustrated Book of World Rankings 
Reference HA155 .K87 1997
Statistics: Social indicators, Economic indicators, and Quality of life. 

Learn About New Maps from USGS Top of Page

Click here to see OPAC location.
 
Guide to Obtaining USGS Information
Docs/US I 19.4/2:900/989
Click here to see OPAC location.
Internet Access
New Publications of the Geological Survey
Docs/US I 19.14/4: 
Find what the USGS has published.(1.)
Click here to see OPAC location.
Maps for America: Cartographic Products of the U.S. Geological Survey and Others
Docs/US I 19.2:M 31/12/981
Revised every 4-5 years; contains maps and background information on cartography+ (1.)
Internet Access The Monthly Catalog of the United States
  1. Katz, William A. 1992. Introduction to Reference Work Volume 1: Basic Information Sources. 6th edition. New York: McGraw-Hill.
  2. Walford's Guide to Reference Material, Vol. 2 Social and Historical Sciences, Philosophy and Religion. 7th ed. Ed. Alan Day and Michael Walsh. London: Library Association Publishing.
  Created: October, 2001  Updated: 09 Aug 2007

An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.
Last Updated:  04/30/07 .
Created by Margaret Hogarth.