Geology Main Page
Articles
Books
Journals
Maps USGS
Web Sites
Classes @ CSUF

Library Home Page Library Catalog Database List

Articles

Geologists often need to consult journal articles, maps, reports or conference proceedings to find the most recent or most detailed information on a particular topic. Pollak Library has several indexes to geological literature searchable by subject.  For more information, see Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).

horizontal rule

Relevancy rating Database
Georef (EBSCO)
bulletCitations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses
bullet1785-present
bulletCSUF only
Geobase
bulletCitations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and reports, with abstracts
bullet1980-present
bulletCSUF only
Science Direct (Click on "Search", then "Journals" tab)
bulletFull-text, full-image, tables-of-contents
bulletOver 1200 journals, 1995-present
bulletCSUF only
Wiley InterScience
bulletSome citations, most full-text, full image, tables-of-contents
bulletOver 100 journals, 1997-present
bulletCSUF only
Applied Science & Technology Index
bulletCitations only
bulletOver 350 English-language periodicals, 1983-present with abstracts from 3/93
bulletCSUF only
Web of Science (three simultaneous users)
bulletCitations and abstracts, with some links to full-text
bulletIndex to more than 5,700 journals 1988-present
bulletCSUF only
bulletClick here for help getting started with Web of Science.
Academic Search Elite
bulletSome citations, some abstracts, some full-text, some full-text, full-image
bulletOver 1500 journals and magazines, 1980-present
bulletCSUF only

FAQ

bulletGeoBase or GeoRef both look useful.  How do I choose?
bulletSee "Comparing Geobase and GeoRef."
bulletOnce I've located a citation to a journal article, how can I obtain a copy of the article?
bulletNote the title of the journal, and the volume, issue and pages where the article can be found.  It is also helpful to note the name of the first author and the first few words of the article title.  Then follow directions on the Journals page of this web to get a copy of the article.
bulletOnce I've located a citation to a map, report, or book, how can I obtain a copy?
bulletNote the title and author, plus any other relevant information.  Then follow directions on the Books page of this web to find a copy of what you need.

Prepared by Elizabeth Housewright and Barbie McConnell
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 04/30/07