Geology Main Page
Up
Books
Journals
Maps USGS
Web Sites
Classes @ CSUF

Library Home Page Library Catalog Database List

Comparing GeoBase and GeoRef

Pollak Library subscribes to several databases that will help you find articles on topics in the Geological Sciences. GeoBase and GeoRef are good first choices.

horizontal rule

bulletWhat do these databases include?
bulletWhich should I use first?
bulletOnce I identify an item that I want, how do I know if CSUF owns it?
bulletHow can I get a copy of an item if CSUF does not own it?
bulletIf I did not find enough information on my topic, how can I find more?

horizontal rule

What do these databases include?

bulletSimilarities:
bulletBoth databases contain citations and abstracts for resources in Geology (no full-text).
bulletBoth databases help locate journal articles from the most important journals in the field of Geology.
bulletDifferences:
bulletGeoBase:
bulletIncludes other subjects (environment, geography, etc.).
bulletOnly fairly recent material:  journal articles published from 1980 to present.
bulletCSUF owns many of the journals indexed.
bulletGeoRef:
bulletCovers only geology.
bulletIncludes materials other than journal articles.
bulletBroad time coverage includes materials published from 1785 to present.
bulletYou may have to request materials through Interlibrary Loan to obtain them. CSUF does own a portion of the materials indexed, but the coverage also includes many materials not in the CSUF Library.

horizontal rule

Which should I use first?

bulletStart with GeoBase.
bulletCSUF owns a higher percentage of the resources listed.
bulletNOTE:  Make sure that you limit to the subject category "geology."  (GeoBase includes resources in other disciplines which are likely to be irrelevant to your search.)
bulletIf you need more than you find in GeoBase, try GeoRef.
bulletUse GeoRef to find older materials (1785 to present).
bulletUse GeoRef to find more in depth coverage of a topic.
bulletUse GeoRef to find materials other than journal articles.
bulletAfter identifying materials in GeoRef, see the page on finding geology resources in the CSUF OPAC to help you find out if CSUF owns the items that you want.

horizontal rule

Once I identify an item that I want, how do I know if CSUF owns it?

bulletAfter identifying materials in GeoBase or GeoRef, see the page on finding geology resources in the CSUF OPAC to help you find out if CSUF owns the items that you want.

horizontal rule

How can I get a copy of an item if CSUF does not own it?

bulletInvestigate Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan options.

horizontal rule

If I did not find enough information on my topic, how can I find more?

bulletLook at the CSUF 

horizontal rule

Back to Geology 401 page. 

Prepared by Elizabeth Housewright and Barbie McConnell
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 07/31/09