Geology Main Page
Articles
Books
Journals
Maps USGS
Web Sites
Classes @ CSUF

Library Home Page Library Catalog Database List

MAPS

This guide provides information on finding maps in the Pollak Library collection. Emphasis is on maps from the U. S. Geological Survey and also the California Division of Mines and Geology but additional sources are also presented. For more information, inquire at the Government Documents Desk.

horizontal rule

LIBRARY CATALOG    top

Search the Library Catalog to find maps, atlases, books, and journals in Pollak Library. To narrow your search results: while viewing results list, click on Limit/Sort (gray box across top of screen).

Search Examples:

KEYWORD: geology california maps [331 hits]
KEYWORD: geology faults california maps [46 hits]
KEYWORD: geologic map quadrangle [264 hits]
KEYWORD: geology san bernardino county maps [22 hits]
KEYWORD: joshua tree geology maps [1 hit]
SUBJECT: geology california maps [18 hits]
TITLE: dibblee foundation map [17 hits]

Additional resources that index maps:
1) GeoRef (Library Home Page > Find Articles > Geology > GeoRef)
2) National Geologic Map Database - http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/ngmdb/ngm_catalog.ora.html
3) Publications of the Geological Survey
     Print: 3rd Floor North, Call Number: Docs/US I 19.14:(year)
     Online: USGS Publications and Other Products - http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/

horizontal rule

GeoRef     top

GeoRef [EBSCO]
Subscription database [Connect From Home Information].
Citations and abstracts (and some links to full text) to journal articles, books, dissertations, maps, conference papers, masters theses, and technical reports in the fields of crystallography, economic geology, environmental geology, engineering geology, geochemistry, geophysics, hydrogeology, hydrology, marine geology, mineralogy, oceanography, paleontology.

Pollak Library does not own all the maps, journals, and books that are indexed in GeoRef. For assistance in locating materials after you have retrieved records from GeoRef, ask at the Government Documents Desk or submit a Research Consultation Request.

horizontal rule

Geologic Maps     top

ONLINE

National Geological Map Database [USGS]
http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/ngmdb/ngm_catalog.ora.html

GeoRef
See information about GeoRef above.
 NOTE: When searching GeoRef for geological maps, select field MAP TYPE and type geologic in box. Add additional terms in other boxes. After retrieving record, click on SFX to locate a copy of the map or material. Also, search the Library Catalog by title to determine if Pollak Library owns the publication. Or ask for assistance at the Refernce Desk or the Government Documents Desk.

PRINT

LIBRARY CATALOG
Search the Library Catalog using the Title and Keyword search examples below. To narrow the number of records, while viewing results list click on Limit/Sort (gray box across top of screen).

Go to Library Catalog

Title: geologic map of  [195 hits]
Keyword: geology maps california [284 hits]
Keyword: geologic map quadrangle [228 hits]
Keyword: geology san bernardino county maps [17 hits]
Keyword: joshua tree geology maps [1 hit]
Title: dibblee foundation map [17 hits]

horizontal rule

Soil Survey Maps     top

PRINT

Soil survey maps have been published by the U.S. Department of Agriculture so many of the maps will be shelved in the Government Documents Section (3rd Floor North) under call numbers starting with A (for Agriculture). Search the Library Catalog, using the following examples. To narrow the number of records retrieved,  while viewing results list click on Limit/Sort (gray box across top of screen).

Search Examples:

Subject: soil surveys [84 hits]
Subject: soil surveys california [59 hits]

ONLINE

Pacific Southwest Major Land Resource Area Soil Survey Office, Region #2 [USDA]
http://www.ca.nrcs.usda.gov/mlra02/

horizontal rule

Topographic Maps     top

PRINT

bulletIndexed in: California Index to Topographic and Other Map Coverage (on top of map case, 3rd floor North)
Indexed in: U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps http://topomaps.usgs.gov/
Indexed in: GeoData.gov http://gos2.geodata.gov/wps/portal/gos
bulletPollak Library has a complete set of 7.5-minute series topographic quadrangle 
maps for the state of California. They are shelved in the on the 3rd Floor, Library North,
in the Government Documents Section MAP CASE
and arranged alphabetically by the
name of the quadrangle.
bulletTo find a specific topographic map, identify the name of the quadrangle by 
using California Index to Topographic and Other Map Coverage. This is shelved
on TOP OF THE MAP CASE. It is a large foldout map of the state of California showing 
quadrangle names.
bulletThe quadrangle maps are shelved in the MAP CASE in alphabetical order by the name 
of the quadrangle. Cal State Fullerton in located in the La Habra quadrangle so to find 
it, go to the drawer that has L's in it. To find quadrangle JOSHUA TREE NORTH or 
JOSHUA TREE SOUTH, go to the drawer that has the J's in it. The neighboring quadrangles 
are YUCCA VALLEY NORTH and YUCCA VALLEY SOUTH. To find these, go to the Y drawer.
bulletTopographic Map Symbols - Shelved on TOP OF MAP CASE. Online version.
 
   Four-page pamphlet explaining symbols used on topo maps.

ONLINE

bulletU.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps
    
http://topomaps.usgs.gov/
.
bullet Topographic Maps Symbols
     http://mac.usgs.gov/isb/pubs/booklets/symbols/

horizontal rule

GeoData.gov

GeoData.gov
Geodata.gov is a web-based portal for one-stop access to maps, data and other geospatial services that will simplify the ability of all levels of government and citizens to find geospatial data and learn more about geospatial projects underway. It is part of the Geospatial One-Stop Initiative and includes state, local and tribal governments along with the private sector and academia as participants. In order to get started, after logging on click on Quick Start Guide in left frame.

horizontal rule

Web Sites     top

California Division of Mines and Geology [California Geological Survey]
http://www.consrv.ca.gov/cgs/index.htm

U.S. Geological Survey Home Page
http://www.usgs.gov/

Maps Online     top

USGS Maps
http://geology.usgs.gov/maps.html

USGS Topographic Maps Online

http://topomaps.usgs.gov/

National Geologic Map Database
http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/

Geologic Investigations Series Online
http://pubs.usgs.gov/products/maps/i-maps.html

Miscellaneous Field Studies Maps
http://geology.usgs.gov/mf-maps.html

horizontal rule

U. S. G. S. Publications in Print     top

USGS Bulletins     top
DOCS/US  1 19.3:
Indexed in: GeoRef
(Library Home Page > Find Articles > Geology > GeoRef)
Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)

Pollak Library owns 3,075 Bulletins beginning with Bulletin No. 1 published in 1883. They are numbered (and shelved) chronologically. Use the LIBRARY CATALOG or other indexes to search by keyword.
Bulletins contain significant data and interpretations that are of lasting scientific interest but are generally more limited in scope or geographic coverage than the Professional Papers. They include the results of resource studies and of geologic and topographic investigations as well as collections of short papers related to a specific topic.

To retrieve a list of all Bulletins, search the Library Catalog:

TITLE: u.s. geological survey bulletin [3075 hits]
NOTE: LIMIT by Words in Title or Words in Subject

horizontal rule

USGS Open-File Reports     top
PRINT & MICROFICHE: 
DOCS/FICHE/US  I 19.76:
Online: 
U.S.G.S. Open File Reports Online http://pubs.usgs.gov/products/books/openfile/
Indexed in GeoRef (Library Home Page > Find Articles > Geology > GeoRef)
Indexed in: Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey (U.S. Documents I 19.14:(year))
Indexed in: New Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey (U.S. Documents I 19.14/4:(year))

Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)

Indexed in Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey DOCS/US I 19.14:.
Open-File Reports include unpublished manuscript reports, maps, and other materials that are made available for public consultation at depositories. They are a non-permanent form of publication that may be cited in other publications as sources of information.
Open-File Reports
are issued on microfiche. Although some titles are individually cataloged and appear in the LIBRARY CATALOG, most are not cataloged. To find out if we own a specific report, first identify the report number of the Open-File Report (by searching GeoRef) and then go to the microfiche cabinets in the Government Documents Section: DOCS/FICHE/US I 19.76:.

To retrieve a list of Open-File Reports owned by Pollak Library, search the LIBRARY CATALOG:

TITLE: u.s. geological survey open file report [1090 hits]
NOTE: LIMIT
by Words in Title or Words in Subject

To find Open-File Reports available online:

U.S.G.S. Open File Reports Online http://pubs.usgs.gov/products/books/openfile/

To search a comprehensive database of all Open-File Reports, use GeoRef
[NOTE:
For assistance locating documents, inquire at the Government Documents Desk]:

GeoRef: To find Open-File Reports:
TITLE: open-file report - u. s. geological survey [31,675 hits]

horizontal rule

USGS Professional Papers     top
DOCS/US  I 19.16:
Indexed in GeoRef
Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)
Pollak Library owns
2,491 Professional Papers beginning with Professional Paper No. 1 published in 1902. They are numbered (and shelved) chronologically. Use the LIBRARY CATALOG or other indexes to search by keyword.
Professional Papers are comprehensive scientific reports of wide and lasting interest and importance to professional scientists and engineers. Included are reports on the results of resource studies and of topographic, hydrologic, and geological investigations.

Publication of note:
San Andreas Fault System, California
(1990) - DOCS/US  I 19.16:1515 

To retrieve a list of all Professional Papers, search the LIBRARY CATALOG:

TITLE: u.s. geological survey professional paper [2512 hits]
NOTE: LIMIT
by Words in Title or Words in Subject

USGS Professional Papers

Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)

horizontal rule

USGS Water-Supply Papers     top
DOCS/US  I 19.13:
Indexed in: GeoRef
(Library Home Page > Find Articles > Geology > GeoRef)
Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)

Pollak Library owns 1,836 Water Supply Papers beginning with Water Supply Paper No. 7 published in 1897. They are numbered (and shelved) chronologically. Use the LIBRARY CATALOG or other indexes to search by keyword.
Water-Supply Papers are comprehensive reports that present significant interpretive results of hydrologic investigations of wide interest to professional geologists, hydrologists, and engineers. The series covers investigations in all phases of hydrology including hydrogeology, availability of water, quality of water, and use of water.

To retrieve a list of all Water-Supply Papers, search the Library Catalog:

TITLE: u.s. geological survey water supply paper [1836 hits]
NOTE: LIMIT
by Words in Title or Words in Subject

horizontal rule

U.S.G.S. Publications: Finding Aids     top

ONLINE

GeoRef
See information about GeoRef above.

U.S.G.S. Open File Reports Online
http://pubs.usgs.gov/products/books/openfile/

PRINT     top

Guide to USGS Publications (Andriot)
DOCS/US  I 19.14/2-2:1998
This is an index of thematic maps (Geologic Quadrangle Maps, Hydrologic Investigations Atlases, and Mineral Investigations Resources Maps).
Sample search:  In SUBJECT INDEX, scan down to GEOLOGIC MAPS--CALIFORNIA--SAN ANDREAS.

Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
DOCS/US  I 19.14:1998 [CSUF owns most years 1879-1998]
This catalog lists: 1) Books and maps that were published during one year, and 2) Articles by USGS personnel in non-U.S.G.S. journals and books of relevance. Indexes are not cumulative; therefore, search volume for each year
.

horizontal rule

California Documents     top
The California Department of Conservation, which includes the Division of Mines and Geology, publishes many documents of interest to geologists.

California Division of Mines and Geology publications:

Library Catalog Author search: california division of mines and geology [404 hits]
NOTE: Call numbers start with DOCS/STATE  CALIF C810
LOCATION: 3rd Floor, Library North

horizontal rule

California Geologic Maps     top

ONLINE

Indexed in: Geologic Maps: California Geologic Survey
http://www.consrv.ca.gov/cgs/information/geologic_mapping/

PRINT     top

Indexed in: California Index to Topographic and Other Map Coverage, 3rd Floor North, Call Number: Docs/Map/US I 19.41/6-3:C 12/ (year)

horizontal rule

California Bouguer Gravity Maps     top

KEYWORD: bouguer gravity map            [37 hits]
NOTE:
Call numbers start with DOCS/STATE  CALIF C810 B6

California Open-File Reports
Pollak Library owns 154 Open-File Reports published by the California Division of Mines and Geology, 1964-current date. To retrieve a list of titles:

TITLE: open file report california     [154 hits]
NOTE:
Call numbers start with DOCS STATE  CALIF C810 O

horizontal rule

California Geology (journal)     top
DOCS/STATE  CALIF C810 M5
(1971-2001)
Bimonthly earth science magazine with articles about the geology, mineral resources, mining history, and geologic hazards of California. Includes book reviews.

horizontal rule

California Open-File Reports     top

Find in: Library Catalog (Library Home Page > Library Catalog)
Search by Title: Open file report (California. Division of Mines and Geology)
Call numbers start with DOCS STATE CALIF C810 O

horizontal rule

Atlases     top

California Water Atlas
DOCS/ATLAS CALIF P580 W28
CATALOG RECORD
Prepared by the Governor's Office of Planning & Research in cooperation with the California Dept. of Water Resources.

Geologic Atlas of California
DOCS/ATLAS CALIF C810 G34
CATALOG RECORD  
Prepared by the California Division of Mines and Geology

Geographic Names Information System [USGS] 
Information about 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified and references are made to a feature's location by state, county, and geographic coordinates.

Orange County Photo Atlas 1999
DOCS/ATLAS OrCo G100 P57m 1999
CATALOG RECORD

Atlas & Gazetteer 
DOCS/OVERSIZED  G1200 .D4 

Shelved in the Documents Oversized section near the Government Documents Desk. 50 atlases grouped in file boxes by region. Detailed topographic maps for all areas of the United States. 

     top

horizontal rule

Prepared by Elizabeth Housewright and Barbie McConnell
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 04/30/07