
Higher Education
Greg Yorba, Reference Librarian
Journal Articles
CSUF users can check the library databases to find citations, abstracts, and
full-text of articles. Listed below are some databases important to finding
information on higher education topics.
Education
Abstracts
Education Abstracts is citation and abstract database. The database covers education
topics.
ERIC
ERIC
(CSA)
ERIC
(FirstSearch)
ERIC
(WebSpirs)
ERIC is the education database. The database is mostly citations and abstracts
of journals and documents. The library has three versions of the database available
from the home page. From the different versions (ERIC-CSA, ERIC FirstSearch
and ERIC WebSpirs) you are able to link to the full text of some of the ERIC
documents.
Expanded
Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is a general subject database that has a mixture of abstracts
and full-text. Expanded Academic ASAP has the full text of journals in higher
education such as: Ascribe Higher Education News Service, Black Issues in Higher
Education, Journal of Higher Education, and Matrix the Magazine for Leaders
in Higher Education.
LexisNexis
LexisNexis has full text of magazines, journals, and newspapers. Lexis also
has access to the full text of the Chronicle of Higher Education. The easiest
way to search the Chronicle is to click on the source list, type in the journal
name in the search box, and then when your entry appears search directly in
the title.
Project
Muse
Project Muse is a full-text database that offers almost 200 journal titles from
30 scholarly publishers. Some Higher Education Journals in Muse are: Journal
of College Student Development, Journal of Higher Education, and Review of Higher
Education.
Wiley
Interscience
Wiley Interscience is a database that contains the full-text of articles. Journals
of interest to higher education in this database are: About Campus, ASHE-ERIC
Higher Education Report, and Assessment Update.
Journals
Journals are available in the 2nd floor, Pollak Library North. Listed below
are some journals pertinent to higher education and their call numbers. To find
if they library owns a journal search the library catalog by the title of the
publication.
ACTivity
L11 A188
Change
L11 C385
Chronicle of Higher
Education
LB2300 C3
College Student
Journal
LB2300 C77
EDUCAUSE Review
L11 E52
Internet and Higher
Education
LB2395.7 I58
Hispanic Outlook
in Higher Education
LC2670.6 H58
Journal of Blacks
in Higher Education
LC2781 J68
Journal of Higher
Education
LB2300 J78
Phi Beta Delta
International Review
LC1090 P47
Research in Higher
Education
LB1028 R43
Thought and Action:
The NEA Higher Education Journal
LA226 T486
Current and back issues also available at NEA web site: http://www.nea.org/he/tanda.html
Times Higher Education
Supplement
L16 T65
To find books on higher education you can search the Pollak library catalog.
Listed below are some subclasses of the Library of Congress class for education.
LA173-186 History, Higher Education
LB2300 -2430 - Theory and Practice of Education, Higher Education
LC165-182 Higher Education and the State
LD13-7251 Universities, Colleges
LH1-9 College and school magazines and papers
e-Books
Students, staff, and faculty have access to over 4,300 E-Books available from
netLibrary. e-Books can be searched from the library catalog and also from the
netLibrary link (available via the Find Books and More link).
Reference
Reference materials are located in Pollak Library North. Reference materials
are non-circulating materials. These books can be used for reference but they
cannot be checked out of the library. Below is a sample of some of the reference
materials on higher education.
Annual Status
Report Minorities in Higher Education
LC3727 .A47
This title provides a summary of the most recent data on the progress of minorities
in U.S. higher education.
College Blue
Book
L901 .C685
This title is a guide to two and four year schools in the United States and
Canada. It includes information on programs, degrees, and financial aid sources.
The Chronicle
of Higher Education Almanac
LA226 .C55
The Almanac provides statistical information on higher education in the United
States.
The Curriculum
Vitae Handbook: How to Present and Promote Your Academic Career
LB2331.72 .A58 1998
This title is a handbook for writing and revising the curriculum vitae. It includes
examples in several academic disciplines.
Full-Time Faculty
Handbook
LB1778.2 .F85 1999
The handbook examines all the facets of an academic career (teaching, advising,
publishing, research and service).
Guide to Distance
Learning Programs
LC5805 .P48
This title is a good source of information on accredited institutions, describing
the latest data on degrees and programs offered application contacts, accreditation,
and financial aid options.
Handbook for
Academic Authors
PN146 L84 2002
The handbook offers information on various aspects of academic writing (publishing
articles, revising dissertations, publishing contracts, what to expect from
a publisher).
How to Transfer
to the College of Your Choice
LB2360.3 .F74 2002
How to Transfer offers information for students, parents, and counselors on
the transferring process. It offers information on tests, application procedures,
admission standards, financial aid, academic expectations, athletic opportunities,
and differences in campus life.
Higher Education
Directory
L901 .H54
The directory is a detailed whos who of higher education. It contains
information on accrediting agencies, associations, institutions, and statewide
agencies.
International
Dictionary of University Histories
L900 .I5733 1998
This title provides information on 200 universities. Each entry includes basic
information followed by a 3,000-5,000 essay on the schools history.
International
Encyclopedia of Higher Education
LB15 .I57
This encyclopedia is an extensive resource dealing with theories and principles
of curriculum research.
Petersons
Annual Guides/Graduate Study
L901 .P46
This is a six volume set that covers various programs in different areas. Volume
one covers graduate and professional programs. Volume two has information on
graduate programs in humanities, arts, and social sciences. Volume three covers
graduate programs in biological sciences. Volume four has information on physical
sciences, mathematics, agricultural sciences, environment, and natural resources.
Volume five covers graduate programs in engineering and applied sciences. Volume
six has information on business, education, health, information studies, law,
and social work.
Real Essays
for College and Grad School: Actual Essays to Increase your Chances for Admission
and Scholarships
LB2351.52.U6 R42 2000
This title contains sample essays and essays that people have used to apply
for various colleges and programs.
World List
of Universities and Other Institutions of Higher Education
L900 .I57
This publication is a dictionary that provides contact information for over
14,000 higher education institutions and national academic bodies in over 170
countries.
Web Sites
Art and Letters Daily
http://aldaily.com/
Arts and Letters Daily is a service of the Chronicle of Higher Education. The
site is an updated report of news and reviews.
Carnegie Classification of Institutions in Higher Education
http://www.carnegiefoundation.org/Classification/index.htm
"The Carnegie Classification of Higher Education groups American colleges
and universities according to their missions. This classification was developed
by Clark Kerr in 1970 primarily to improve the precision of the Carnegie Commission's
research. Over the years, the system has gained credibility and served as a
helpful guide for scholars and researchers." - site intro.
Center for Studies in Higher Education
http://ishi.lib.berkeley.edu/cshe/
The center was established in 1956 as the first research institute in
the United States devoted to the study of systems, institutions, and processes
of higher education. The Centers mission is to produce and support scholarly
perspectives on strategic issues in higher education, conduct policy relevant
research, promote the development of a community of scholars and policymakers
engaged in policy oriented discussion, and continue the Centers public
service role as a resource on higher education. site intro
EduResources Portal: Gateway to Higher Education Instructional Resources
http://sage.eou.edu/SPT/
This web site is maintained by Eastern Oregon University (Joseph Hart, Director
of Distance Education). The site contains links to various resources in higher
education and also a link to the EduResources Weblog (covering online instructional
sources).
ERIC Clearinghouse on Higher Education
http://www.eriche.org/main.html
This ERIC Clearinghouse focuses on education beyond the secondary level. It
excludes counseling, community colleges, and teacher education (these areas
have separate clearinghouses).
GradSchools.com
http://www.gradschools.com/
GradSchools.com is a web site produced by t Educational Directories Unlimited.
The site includes free links that include basic information on programs
and paid links (by the university offering the programs) that include
more extensive information. The site allows users to search by program or school.
Higher Education Information Center
http://www.heic.org/
The web site is produced by a division of The Education Resources Institute
(TERI). TERI is a nonprofit organization that offers education loans for undergrad,
grad, and professional study. TERI is devoted to increasing the chances of persons
of varied backgrounds in completing their higher education.
Higher Education Resource Hub
http://www.higher-ed.org/
This web site is maintained by Forest Industries. The site is supported from
the proceeds two books: Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia,
and University Teaching: International Perspectives. The site includes resources
and links in higher education.
Learning Communities Commons
http://learningcommons.evergreen.edu/
Learning Communities Commons is devoted to strengthening curricular learning
community efforts on individual campuses and fostering robust communities of
learning community practice. The site includes resource materials and the learning
community directory.
National Education Association: Higher Education
http://www.nea.org/he/
This section of the National Education Associations web site focuses on
higher education. This site has information on various issues related to higher
education. Also included is the online version of the NEA Almanac of Higher
Education.
State Higher Education Executive Officers
http://www.sheeo.org/
The State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO) is a nonprofit,
nationwide association of the chief executive officers serving statewide coordinating
boards and governing boards of postsecondary education. The site includes
information on higher education issues, SHEEO projects, and higher education
links.
POLLAK LIBRARY
CATALOG
The library's catalog contains the holdings for all materials in the Fullerton
campus library (books, periodicals, videos, documents, etc.). Check to see if
the library has the periodicals for the citations that you are interested in.
A feature on the catalog is Link+. Link+ allows you to check the holdings of
participating California State Universities and other schools and libraries
for book materials that are not available at Fullerton (this also includes if
the item is checked out or missing). Link+ gives you the option to order
the item online. Items are delivered to the campus library. You
can check if your item is in at the Circulation counter (1st Floor, Library
South).
CSUF:
POLLAK LIBRARY JOURNAL TITLES
This is a link to what journals the library has available from its databases.
You can search by entering the name of the journal in the search box or by clicking
on the alphabetical links. This site can only be accessed by using computers
on campus or the library proxy server from off campus.
ORDERING INTERLIBRARY LOANS
Students may also order items that are not available at Fullerton, via interlibrary
loan. Order interlibrary loans via the ILLiad
link from the library home page.
Remember ILL can only be used for items not in the library.