library logo

Hispanic Americans
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Titles

Encyclopedias

Statistics--Print
Statistics--Online
Statistics--Additional
Census 2000
Books
Articles
California & Orange County
Culture
Education
Politics

Recent Titles 

Encyclopedias 

Statistics--Print 

new title Encyclopedia Latina (2005)
     REFERENCE E184.S75 E587 2005 V.1-4

new title Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States (2003)
     REFERENCE E184.S75 H557 2003 CATALOG RECORD

new title Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States (2000)
     REFERENCE  E184.A1 H417 2000 CATALOG RECORD

new title U.S. Hispanic Market 2002
     REFERENCE HC110.C63 U17 CATALOG RECORD

new title Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin (CENSUS 2000)
     Highlights: Press Release
     Print: CATALOG RECORD
     Online: PDF-11 pages

new title Census 2000 Briefs & Special Reports (links to Census 2000 reports)

Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites: 2002
     REFERENCE E184.A1 R78 2002 CATALOG RECORD

Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook [income]
     REFERENCE  E184.S75 H5655 2002 CATALOG RECORD

Contacts between Police and the Public Findings from the 2002 National Survey (data on black, hispanic, and white drivers and traffic stops) (April 2005)

Marketing to American Latinos (2000) 
     5th FLOOR SOUTH HC110.C6 V35 2000  

Hispanic Population in the United States [annual data from Census Bureau] 
     Print: 3rd Floor North: DOCS/US  C 3.186/14-2:2000 CATALOG RECORD
     Online: INTERNET VERSION

Changing America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin (1998)
     Print: 3rd Floor North: DOCS/US  PR 42.8:C 36 CATALOG RECORD
     Online: INTERNET VERSION

Persons of Hispanic Origin in the United States (1990) 
     Note: This is the major 1990 Census report on Hispanic Americans
     Print: 3rd Floor North: DOCS/US  C 3.223/10:1990 CP-3-3 CATALOG RECORD
     Online: PDF-350 pages
     Note: For Census 2000 data, see Census 2000 Briefs & Special Reports

Poverty in the United States [data on Hispanic Americans]
     Highlights: Press Release
     Online: PDF-34 pages
     Print: 3rd Floor North: DOCS/US  C 3.186/22:2002 CATALOG RECORD


Statistics--Online  

Statistics--Additional 

Census 2000 

opac screenBelow is a list of recent books in Pollak Library. To find additional books, search the Library Catalog by subject:    

     Subject: hispanic americans

 


Articles  

newspaper and magazine icon

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Con
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

CQ Researcher issues of note:

  • Latinos' Future - 11/17/2003
  • Debate Over Immigration - 7/14/2000
  • Hispanic Americans' New Clout - 9/18/1998
  • New Immigrants - 2/14/1997

Selective List of Articles (most recent listed on top) :
For help finding the full text of these articles, ask at the Reference Desk.

  • "Latinos Now Top Minority; Census Bureau estimates group's U.S. population at 38.8 million, ahead of blacks for the first time. Demographers see even more growth ahead," Los Angeles Times, June 19, 2003, page A-1.
  • "Neighborhood Environment, Racial Position, and Risk of Police-reported Domestic Violence," Public Health Reports, Jan-Feb 2003 v118 i1 p44(15). This journal is available full text in LexisNexis Academic.
  • "LAPD Offers 1st Data on Traffic Stops; Study finds blacks and Latinos were more likely to be searched when pulled over by police." Los Angeles Times, January 7, 2003, Part 1 Page 1.
  • "Unintended Effect of War on Drugs Found in Study; Crime: Of inmates in survey, more than half were nonviolent with no serious narcotics record. Also, minorities made up a large percentage." Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, Sep 20, 2002, page A-24.
  • "Latinos Finding New Home in Suburbs, Study Shows [Census 2000 report]." Los Angeles Times, July 31, 2002, Home Edition, Part 2; Page 1.
  • "Latino Youth Offenders Face Harsher Treatment, Study Finds; Justice: A mix of factors are found to contribute to a higher incarceration rate. Community organizations search for solutions." Los Angeles Times, July 19, 2002, Part 2; Page 7.
  • "The Role of Foreign-Born Workers in the U.S. Economy," Monthly Labor Review, May 2002.
  • "Census Illustrates Diversity From Sea to Shining Sea ; Population: Massive Surge of Immigration in '90s Makes Nearly One in Every Three U.S. Residents a Minority, Report says. Trend is Nationwide." March 13, 2001, Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, page A16.

California & Orange County 
  • new title Latino Scorecard 2006: Road to Action [United Way of Los Angeles] PDF-126 pages  

    Status of Latinos in LA on 5 criteria of wellbeing: health (insurance coverage, tobacco use, obesity, physical inactivity, medical school enrollment), education (college preparation, academic performance, preschool), economic development (income, poverty, employment, occupations, business ownership), housing (accessibility, affordability, availability, quality, homeownership), public safety (crime, representation in law enforcement) and more. The report also includes policy recommendations for each of the criteria. 

  • new title Statistics:  California Latino Demographic Databook 2004

  • Statistics: La Nueva California: Latinos in the Golden State (2004) CATALOG RECORD
  • Statistics: City, county, state, or congressional district: Demographic Profiles: Census 2000
  • new title California's Multiracial Population (2004) [PPIC]
  • new title The Cash Centric Behavior of the Hispanic Community: Orange County (2002) [CSUF] PDF-11 pages
  • new title The Faces of Diversity: Melting Pot Or Great Divide? [statistics on Latinos in Orange County] (2003)
  • new title Portrait of Race and Ethnicity in California: An Assessment of Economic Well-Being PDf-209 pages | CATALOG RECORD [Mexican-Americans data]
  • new title Census 2000 Race and Latino Origin in California: Assembly, Senate, and Congressional Districts -- PDF versions [ Report (314kb) Assembly (Excel file) (52kb) Senate (Excel file) ( 33kb) Congressional (Excel file) ( 34kb) ] are available online. (February 2003) Note: Census 2000 information about the racial and ethnic composition of California Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. Reports the number of people falling into different racial and ethnic categories in each district, the percentage of people in each category, and includes tables ranking the districts by their racial and ethnic characteristics.
  • Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites: 2002 CATALOG RECORD
  • new title "The State Teen Birth Rate Drops Nearly One-Third in Decade: Pregnancy: Figure mirrors a national trend of youths having less sex, using more contraceptives, health officials say. Latina rate remains high" [statistics on teen pregnancy]. Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, April 4, 2002, Page B-7.
  • "Santa Ana: Numero Uno en Espanol," Los Angeles Times, Orange County Edition, Tuesday, November 20, 2001, Section B, Page 1 ["Santa Ana has the highest concentration of Spanish-speaking residents in the nation"].
  • Chicanos in a Changing Society: From Mexican Pueblos to American Barrios in Santa Barbara and Southern California, 1848-1930 CATALOG RECORD
  • Coordinated Approach to Raising the Socio-Economic Status of Latinos in California  (March 2000) [CRB Report] PDF-72 pages
  • Health Status of Latinos in California CATALOG RECORD
  • Hispanic California Revisited CATALOG RECORD
  • Latino Legislative Caucus, 1999-2000 [California]
  • Latino Politics in California CATALOG RECORD
  • Latinos and Economic Development in California [CRB Report] PDF-62 pages
  • Latinos in Orange County: Profile of Selected Demographic and Health Characteristics CATALOG RECORD
  • "Minorities Become Majority in State," Los Angeles Times, August 30, 2000, O.C. Edition, Page A1 (Metro Desk). (Includes Orange County statistics.)
  • No Longer a Minority: Latinos and Social Policy in California CATALOG RECORD
  • President Bill Clinton and the Hispanic Community (1996) CATALOG RECORD
    Note: For President Clinton's position on Proposition 187 [affirmative action] in 1994, see p. 1
  • Rebirth: Mexican Los Angeles from the Great Migration to the Great Depression (1999) CATALOG RECORD
  • Three Aspects of Diversity: Hispanics and the Media, Proposition 187, the Federal Glass Ceiling Commission Report CATALOG RECORD

Culture 

Education 

Politics 
  • Recent reports: Pew Hispanic Center: Politics
  • new title Census 2000 Race and Latino Origin in California: Assembly, Senate, and Congressional Districts -- PDF versions [ Report (314kb) Assembly (Excel file) ( 52kb) Senate (Excel file) ( 33kb) Congressional (Excel file) ( 34kb) ] are available online. (February 2003)

    Census 2000 information about the racial and ethnic composition of California Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. Reports the number of people falling into different racial and ethnic categories in each district, the percentage of people in each category, and includes tables ranking the districts by their racial and ethnic characteristics. Excel data files are available for downloading..

  • new title "Neighborhood Environment, Racial Position, and Risk of Police-reported Domestic Violence," Public Health Reports, Jan-Feb 2003 v118 i1 p44(15). This journal is available full text in LexisNexis Academic.
  • new title Brown Tide Rising: Metaphors of Latinos in Contemporary American Public Discourse (2002) CATALOG RECORD
  • new title Moving From the Margins: A Chicana Voice on Public Policy (2002) CATALOG RECORD
  • The Effect of Minority Districts and Minority Representation on Political Participation in California (2001) CATALOG RECORD
  • Awash in the Mainstream: Latino Politics in the 1996 Elections (1999) CATALOG RECORD
  • Coordinated Approach to Raising the Socio-Economic Status of Latinos in California  (March 2000) [CRB Report] PDF-72 pages
  • Crowding Out Latinos: Mexican Americans in the Public Consciousness (2000) CATALOG RECORD
  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics (2000) CATALOG RECORD
  • Harvest of Empire: A History of Latinos in America (2000) CATALOG RECORD
  • Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-1995
  • Hispanics-Latinos: Diverse People in a Multicultural Society: A Special Report (1996) CATALOG RECORD
  • Latino Legislative Caucus, 1999-2000 [California]
  • Latino Politics in California CATALOG RECORD
  • Latinos Unidos: From Cultural Diversity to the Politics of Solidarity CATALOG RECORD
  • Mexican American Biographies: A Historical Dictionary, 1836-1987 CATALOG RECORD
  • New Americans by Choice: Political Perspectives of Latino Immigrants CATALOG RECORD
  • No Longer a Minority: Latinos and Social Policy in California CATALOG RECORD
  • Race and Politics: Asian Americans, Latinos, and Whites in a Los Angeles Suburb CATALOG RECORD
  • Remembering the American Dream: Hispanic Immigration and National Policy (1994) CATALOG RECORD
Library Home Page 
Locations of visitors to this page