UNIT 1: Getting Started
Tutorial 1: Select and Refine Research Topic
The art of topic selection
The class journal
Topic generation techniques
Topic refining
Using encyclopedias to focus a topic
General v. specialized encyclopedias
Typical ways to focus a topic
The research problem or hypothesis
The purpose of your paper
Point of view
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Determine Information Requirements
How much information do I need?
Understanding your assignment
The historiographical essay
The art of history detection
Starting a bibliography
Bibliography and note cards
Imagining Sources Practice Question #1
Imagining Sources Practice Question #2
Imagining Sources Practice Question #3
Keeping a research log
Quiz
UNIT 2: Locate Secondary Sources
Tutorial 1: Locate Books Using the Library Catalog
What are secondary sources?
Books
Choosing a search type
Keyword v. alphabetical searching
Library Catalog Practice Question 1
Library Catalog Practice Question 2
Tips for subject searching in history
Subject surfing
Searching by place and time
Library Catalog Practice Question 3
Call numbers
My book isn't in the library
Union catalogs
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Locate Journal Articles and Book
What is a journal article?
Locating scholarly journal articles
What is an index or abstract?
Types of indexes and abstracts
Using America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts
Identifying terms with the magnifying glass
The America:History & Life record
America: History & Life Practice Question 1
America: History & Life Practice Question 2
America: History & Life Practice Question 3
Which journals does the Library have?
My article isn't in the library
Book reviews
When was the book published?
Tools for locating book reviews
Quiz
UNIT 3: Locate Primary Sources
Tutorial 1: What are primary sources?
Imagine…
Characteristics of a primary source
What gets saved?
Archives
Manuscripts
Types of archival materials #1
Types of archival materials #2
Non-written primary sources
Types of archival institutions
Student v. professional research
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Locate primary sources outside archives
The archival balancing act
Primary sources in book form
Locating published sources in the library catalog
Microform collections
Finding and using microform
Newspapers
Finding newspapers
Finding recent newspaper articles
Other library resources
Digital primary source collections on the web
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
Making of America
California Heritage Collection
What Did You Do in the War Grandma?
American Memory
Quiz
Tutorial 3: Locate primary sources in archives
Advantages of using original sources
Tools for finding primary sources in repositories
Locate primary sources in archival institutions
Directories
Directories of web sites
Library catalogs
NUCMC and RLIN
RLIN AMC Practice Question
The catalog record
The finding aid
Electronic finding aids
The Online Archive of California Practice Question
Chadwyck-Healey Archives USA
Using an archive
Quiz
UNIT 4: Evaluating Sources
Tutorial 1: Evaluating Secondary Sources
Historical truth
Popular v. scholarly sources
Judging books by what others have said
What makes an article scholarly?
Distance from event
The author's credentials
Finding an author's central argument
Bias or point of view
Use of footnotes
Use of primary sources
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Evaluating Primary Sources
Interpreting primary sources
The paradox of primary sources
Intentional v. unintentional testimony
Distance from event
Social and cultural distance
Non-documentary primary sources
Quantitative history Photographs
Film and video
Artifacts and material culture
Useful reference tools
Quiz
UNIT 5: Organize and Create
Tutorial 1: Organize and Plan
Pulling it all together
Getting a bird's eye view
Building your paper
Scaffolding: the outline
Bricks: the evidence
The Three Parts of a History Paper
The Introduction
The Body
The Conclusion
Parts of a Paper Practice Question
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Draft, Revise, and Edit
The role of writing in history
The discovery draft
The paragraph
Topic sentences
Support
Transitions
Revising your paper
Editing
Common grammar problems
Spelling errors
Quiz
UNIT 6: Documenting Sources
Site Map
for
The Historian's Toolbox:
Skills for History Majors
Tutorial 1: The Ethics of Documenting Sources
Purposes of documentation
What is plagiarism?
Plagiarism Practice Question
Forms of documentation
What to cite?
Quoting v. paraphrasing
Quotations mistakes
Quotation conventions
The Bibliography
Types of bibliographies
Quiz
Tutorial 2: Using a Style Manual
What is a style manual?
Turabian
The citation
Note v. bibliography citations
Citing books
Citing journal articles
Special cases
Special Cases Practice Question #1
Special Cases Practice Question #2
Special Cases Practice Question #3
Citing electronic sources
Quiz