The General Library of Congress call number range for African history is DT which is further subdivided by region and country:
| 1-3415 | History of Africa |
| 43-154 | Egypt |
| 154.1-159.9 | Sudan |
| 160-177 | North Africa |
| 179.2-179.9 | Northwest Africa |
| 181-346 | Maghrib (country subdivisions) |
| 348-363.3 | Central Sub-Saharan Africa (country subdivisions) |
| 365-469 | Eastern Africa (country subdivisions) |
| 470-671 | West Africa (country subdivisions) |
| 1001-1190 | Southern Africa |
| 1251-1465 | Angola |
| 1501-1685 | Namibia |
| 1701-2825 | South Africa & territories |
| 2831-2864 | British Central Africa |
| 2871-3025 | Zimbabwe |
| 3031-3145 | Zambia |
| 3161-3257 | Malawi |
| 3291-3415 | Mozambique |
CATALOG SUBJECT TERMS FOR AFRICAN HISTORY
Africa or [country, e.g. Ghana] or [region, e.g. Africa, sub-saharan]-- History
-- Economic Conditions
-- Foreign Relations
-- Politics and Government
-- Social Conditions
-- Colonial influence
-- Civilization
-- Antiquities
-- Sources [for primary resources]
For colonial history try [country] -- colonies (e.g. France -- colonies)
General -- examples
- Cambridge History of Africa Call Number:
DT20
.C28x
- General History of Africa v.1-7 Call Number: Docs/Int
DT20
.G45 1981
UNESCO. Each volume is a separate era: Ancient civilizations, 7th-11th c., 12th-16th. c., 16th-18th c., 1800-1880, 1880-:Colonial Domination.
HOW TO FIND BOOKS CSUF DOESN'T OWN
The following books are good sources to consult at the beginning of a research project. They help define your topic, provide chronology and context, identify key people and events, and locate both primary and secondary source material for your research. There are many books in the reference collection related to African history, by region, subject or specific country.
Search or browse Reference shelves, section: DT
The following is a sample of the Library of Congress call numbers for African History:
| History of Africa | DT1-3415 |
|
DT433.5-434 |
|
DT509.97-512.9 |
|
DT515-515.9 |
|
DT546.2-546.29 |
|
DT1251-1465 |
|
DT1701-2405 |
|
DT3291-3415 |
Encyclopedias -- Examples:
Also check the main collection since many encyclopedias can be found there.
Encyclopedias about Africa in the Pollak Library
-
African Folklore: An Encyclopedia Call Number: Ref GR350 .A33 2004 Includes bibliographical references, filmography (p. 543-548) and index.
-
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history Call Number: Ref DT29 .E53 2003 Includes bibliographical references and index.
-
Africa (electronic resources): An Encyclopedia for Students Call Number: Ref DT3 .A249 2002eb A comprehensive look at the continent of Africa and the countries that comprise it, including peoples and cultures, the land and its history, art and architecture, and daily life.
-
Encyclopedia of African Peoples / the Diagram Group Call Number: Ref DT15 .E53 2000 Includes index.
- Encyclopedia of Africa: South of the Sahara Call Number:
Ref
DT 351 .E53 1997
Entries vary from several paragraphs to several pages, with bibliographic references. Includes subject index.
- Encyclopedia of Pre-Colonial Africa Call Number:
Ref
DT2 .E53 1997
Chapter entries on the environments, research, technology, peoples and culture, prehistory. Each chapter has a bibliography and illustrations. Includes subject index.
Dictionaries -- Examples
- African
Historical Dictionaries (Scarecrow Press) Search under
TITLE African historical dictionaries.
The Library has dictionaries for most countries. The most recent edition is in Reference, older editions are in the main collection. Current Reference volumes are: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Niger, Rhodesia/Zimbabwe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Upper Volta, Western Sahara, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
- Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa Call Number: Ref
DT17 .C65 2001
Includes bibliographical
references (p. 451-615).
- Historical Dictionary of South Africa Call Number: Ref DT1772 .S38 2000
- Historical dictionary of civil wars
in Africa Call Number:
Ref
DT21.5
.A76 1999
20 civil wars since 1945 and movements involved in these wars.
Bibliographies -- Examples
Bibliographies can cover various types of materials (books, articles, pamphlets, etc.) and can be a serial publication such as an index or a single volume. Most bibliographies (other than indexes) are in the main collection and can be checked out.General
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Call Number: Ref D20z A55 1995
27,000 annotated citations, selected from the best recent scholarship in all fields of history
- Africa contemporary record; annual
survey and documents. 1968-88. DT 1 L43
- African and Black American studies. Z3503 .B57 [ books]
- Africa Bibliography. DT 3z A34
- African Bibliography. DT 3z A34 [ books]
- Africa Contemporary Record: Annual Survey and
Documents
DT1 .L43 ref & stacks
Annual surveys of African nations. Parts 1 & 2 cover current events, part 3 preprints document of historic significance.
- African statistical yearbook. Annuaire statistique pour l'Afrique
1980-88 Docs/Int HA 1955 .U5
- Asian and African Studies DS41 .A83 [ books]
- A Bibliography for the study of African politics DT 31z B52 [books]
- A checklist of serials for African studies. Based on the libraries of
the Hoover Institution and Stanford University. 1963 Z3503 .D8 [books]4th
- A Current bibliography on African affairs. 1962-93 Z3503 .A25
compact/per
- Dictionary of African historical biography DT352.6
.L56 1986
- Economic bulletin for Africa. 1961-77 HC501 .A1 E3 Docs/Int
- Economic report on Africa. 1987-91 HC800 .A1 A353 Docs/Int
- The history of Sub-Saharan Africa : a
select bibliography of books and reviews, 1945-1975 / William E. Martello,
Jeffrey E. Butler DT352 .5z M37 [books]6th
- Index Islamicus. Supplement. Z7835.M6 L6 Ref
- International African bibliography. DT 1 I55 Ref
- Middle East review. 1981- HC410.7.A1 M5171 [books]5th
- Natal regional survey. Report. HN800 .N3 N3 [books]5th
- Political leaders of the contemporary Middle East and North Africa :
a biographical dictionary.
DS61.5
.P65 1990
- South African national bibliography. 1968-88 Z3603 .P7 [books]4th
- Special bibliographic series. Z3507 .A45 [books]4th
- West Africa Annual. 17 western African countries with history, geography, demography economics, politics and culture. DT471 .W394
Africa
- Africa: a Directory of Resources. Call Number:
Ref DT
20z F45 1987
Annotated list of organizations, books, periodicals, pamphlets & articles, audiovisuals.
-
Electronic
Journal of Africana Bibliography
Internet.
Irregular, covering various aspects of Africa.
Atlases -- Examples
- Atlas of African History. 2nd ed. Call Number:
Ref G2446.S1
F3 1978
71 maps of empires, trade routes, exploration and economic information. Some maps have a brief explanatory paragraph.
- Penguin Atlas of African History. Call Number:
Ref G2446.S1
M34 1980b
59 maps from 175 million years ago to 2000 AD. Each map has explanatory text.