History Research Guides: Introduction CSUF ISDS Research Guide

 

The Library of Congress call number range for History is D, which is further subdivided by region and time period.

The following are examples of Library Catalog (Library of Congress) subject terms for Medieval History.

Byzantine Empire History
Byzantine Empire History Sources [published primary source material]
Byzantine Empire History Alexius I Comnenus, 1081-1118
Byzantium (Ancient city)
Istanbul Turkey Antiquities
Middle Ages
Middle Ages History Sources [published primary source material]
Middle Ages 500 1500 Women History

View Library Catalog search example: Byzantine Empire -- History

FINDING BOOKS NOT OWNED BY CSUF

Try some of these other library catalogs to find additional materials:

Link+

Melvyl

WorldCat

 


 

The following books are good sources to consult at the beginning of a research project. They help define your topic, provide chronology and context, identify key people and events, and locate both primary and secondary source material for your research.

Reference Collection, 1st floor, Library North

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias:

The Cambridge Medieval History, planned by J.B. Bury, ed. H.M. Gwatkin & J.P. Whitney (1957)
Call Number: D117 .C3 Library Catalog

Dictionary of the Middle Ages: Brief essays arranged alphabetically, each contains a bibliography. There is an excellent subject index to the set.
Call Number: D114 D5 1982 Library Catalog

Chronologies:

Chronology of the Medieval World: 800-1491
Call Number: D118 .S855 1973b Library Catalog

Bibliography:

A Guide to the Study of Medieval History (1959)
Call Number: Z6203 .P19 Library Catalog

 

The following web sites provide substantive research information about medieval history. When you come across additional sites, use Six Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites to determine whether the information is credible, and then e-mail this site to suggest a link.

Evaluation: Six Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites

See also: Web sites in European History

Introductory - tutorial

The End of Europe's Middle Ages: Online tutorial designed to assist students engaged in Renaissance, Reformation and Early Modern studies who lack a background in medieval European history.

Subject Portals

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation: Links to indexes, electronic journals, teaching materials, bibliographies and other resources for the classicist researcher.

Medieval and Renaissance Web: Created by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries (WESS-ACRL), links to search engines, other guides and subject portals, online texts, organizations and libraries with classics collections, electronic journals, and more.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources

Online Medieval & Classical Library

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies

Associations

Medieval Academy of America

Medieval Institute

 

Prepared by Rosemary McGill, Judy Ruttenberg, Robert Sage, and Susan Tschabrun. Maintained by Robert Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: October 10, 2007 .