History Research Guides: Introduction CSUF ISDS Research Guide

 

The following are additional examples of Library Catalog (Library of Congress) subject terms for Military History:

Armed forces [country] history
Military art and science
Women and the military
Military history
Naval art and science
Military planning
Civil-military relations
Military policy
War
Battles
Deterrence strategy
Weapons of mass destruction
Strategy
French and Indian War 1755 1763
Nuclear warfare
United States History Revolution 1775 1783
United States History Civil War
World War 1914 1918
World War 1939 1945
Vietnam War 1961 1975

FINDING BOOKS NOT OWNED BY CSUF

Try some of these other library catalogs to find additional materials:

Link+

Melvyl

WorldCat

 

Reference books are good sources to consult at the beginning of a research project. They help define your topic, provide chronology and context, identify key people and events, and locate both primary and secondary source material for your research. There are many books in our reference collection related to military history, including encyclopedias and dictionaries of specific wars & battles, biographical sources, atlases, and more. Search or browse the following call numbers and subject headings:

D:                World History

E-F:            United States History

U:                Military Science

V:                Naval Science

Specific Wars -- Examples

United States History Revolution 1775 1783

United States History Civil War

World War 1914 1918

World War 1939 1945

Vietnamese Conflict 1961 1975

Bibliography -- Examples

A Guide to the Sources of United States Military History Call Number: E181z .G83 1975 

This four-volume set is arranged by war and includes bibliographic essays, lists and discussions of important published and unpublished primary and second sources for the study of U.S. military history. Includes suggestions for further research.

The following web sites provide substantive research information about the military. When you come across additional sites, use Six Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites to determine whether the information is credible, and then e-mail this site to suggest a link.

Evaluation: Six Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites

See also: Web sites in U.S. History

Associations

"Devoted to stimulating and advancing the study of military history."

United States Government

Links to resources compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Repository for Air Force historical documents.

Responsible for writing the official history of the US Army. Full-text online books from the Colonial Era through the Cold War years; online photographs, bibliographies and more.

Official history program of the US Navy. Online photographs, bibliographies of Naval history, some full-text publications.

"The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 5.4 million soldier records in the National Archives. Other information will include: histories of regiments in both the Union and Confederate Armies, links to descriptions of 384 significant battles of the war, and other historical information."

Primary Source Digital Collections

General

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Prepared by Rosemary McGill, Judy Ruttenberg, Robert Sage, and Susan Tschabrun. Maintained by Robert Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: January 03, 2008 .