|
Newspapers are an important resource in
historical research. Pollak Library has both online
and microfilm copies of many
18th, 19th and 20th century U.S. newspapers. The online newspapers are
available on the
Databases A-Z list on the homepage.
The microfilm copies of newspapers are located in the filing cabinets
on the 2nd floor North. Several common newspapers are also available in
paper format on the 2nd floor North, but when the
microfilm copy is received, the paper copy is discarded. The
call number range for most microfilm and paper newspapers is AN13 - AN15.
New!
Online Full-text
searchable historical newspapers:
A growing number of newspapers are available online for full-text searching.
Los
Angeles Times
(1881-1986)
New
York Times (1851-2004)
The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-1985)
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)
Searchable database of more than 1,000 historical American newspapers from
the late 17th, 18th, and 19th, and early 20th centuries.
Microfilm Newspapers at CSU Fullerton, Pollak Library:
 | Alphabetical
|
 | Geographical
|
 | Online Newspapers with Indexes |
Newspapers and Indexes at other institutions:
 | California Newspaper Project
Location index to many of the California newspapers since 1846. |
 | Try the
WorldCat
database and search either the title or for a specific location with the
term newspapers e.g. Orange County, Calif. -- newspapers |
 | African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography
Call Number: Ref
PN4882.5z
A37 A national census to over 6500 newspapers and periodicals
written, published and/or edited by or for African-Americans since
1927. Arranged alphabetically by title, each entry includes publication and
cataloging information and a limited list of libraries holding the
newspaper. |
 | American Newspapers 1821-1936 : A Union List.
Call Number: Ref
Z6945
.A53 Useful for finding older libraries that have copies of
these papers. This is an older source, published in 1937. |
 | Brigham, Clarence. History and Bibliography of American
Newspapers 1690-1820. 3 vols
Call Number: Ref
Z6951
.B86 Newspapers listed alphabetically within each state. Detailed
information on the publication e.g. number of issues, publisher, name
changes. Limited list of libraries holding the newspaper.
|
 | Milner, Anita. Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject
Guide Call Number: Ref
Z6951
.M635 Libraries, historical societies and some newspapers have
often attempted indexing or acquired published indexes. Institutions with
newspaper indexes are listed by state and community, then newspaper title,
dates covered and institution. |
Indexes:
One problem using microfilm copies of newspapers is the lack of indexing.
Online indexes and many print indexes go back to the 1970s but not much further
and there are few readily available indexes to most newspapers. Milner's
book, Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide,
provides help by listing some libraries that have varying levels of indexing for
specific U.S. newspapers.
When there is no index, try to get an exact or approximate
date and then search from that date forward.
 | Christian Science Monitor:
1987-1994 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.C461 |
 | Los Angeles Times
(see online version for keyword searching)
 | Los Angles Times Index: 1972- Call Number: Ref
AI21
.L65 N49 |
 | L.A. Times Card Index on Microfilm
1881-1945
Call Number:
AI21
.L65
(periodicals)
Not everything published was indexed. Use the Reel List to determine the correct subject reel. On
the top left of the card is the year e.g. 17 is 1917. Each card
has a brief description of the newspaper item, usually handwritten,
followed by the date, section, page, and column information e.g. May 4
II : 3 : 6. For this entry you would get the May 1917 reel, go to May 4,
section 2, page 3, column 6. |
 | L.A. Times Card Index on Microfilm: the Reel List
Call Number: Ref
AI21
.L65
There are 6 sections to the master list:
 | Subjects 1927-1935 rolls #1-52 |
 | Geographical 1927-1935 rolls #53-74 |
 | Names 1927-1935 rolls #75-192 |
 | General 1935-1945 rolls #75-192 |
 | General 1912-1927 rolls #193-234 |
 | General 1881-1897 roll #234 |
|
 | The Perspective Index: 1964-70 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.L71
An index to the Los Angeles Sunday Times Perspective,
Opinion, and West magazine sections |
 | Online databases: c.1975 |
|
 | New York Times: (see online version for keyword
searching)
1851-1912 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.N4
1913-1999 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.N44 |
 | San Francisco
1976-1986 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.S25 S2611 |
 | Wall Street Journal:
1957, 1961-1999 Call Number: Ref AI21
.W2 |
 | Washington Post:
1972-1978 Call Number: Ref
AI21.W33
W361 |
 | Palmers Index to the Times (London) newspaper: (see
online version for keyword searching)
1790-1941 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.T5
|
 | Times Index
1785-1786 Call Number: Ref
AI21
.T5
1941-1957
Call Number: Ref
AI21
.T5
1957-1972
Call Number: Ref AI21
.T5
1973-1999 Call Number: Ref AI21
.T5 |

|