A Pollak Library Reference Guide
by Barbie McConnell, Reference & Instruction Librarian/Science Librarian
|Pollak Library > Research Guides > Research Guides by Special Topic > HISTORY OF SCIENCE|
- Center for the History and Philosophy of Science, Technology and Medicine -- Inside article
New Center on campus. Dr. Craig McConnell, Director.
Celebration of Charles Darwin's 200th birthday in Feb. 2009 and the 150th anniversary of the announcement of his revolutionary theory on 1 July 2008.
- Academic Search Premier
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles. Includes popular and scholarly articles in history (including history of science) and science.
- America: History and Life
Abstracts of scholarly articles, etc. on the history (including history of science) of North America.
- Historical Abstracts
Abstracts of scholarly articles, etc. on the history (including history of science) of all parts of the world except North America.
- Isis Cumulative Biography: 1913-65 OPAC RECORD
Isis Cumulative Biography: 1966-75 OPAC RECORD
Isis Cumulative Biography: 1976-85 OPAC RECORD
Isis Cumulative Biography: 1986-95 OPAC RECORD
An index to articles in the history of science.
NOTE: See also Library Research Guides for Biography Resources and Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering (Coming Soon)
- American Men and Women of Science
Standard reference tool for brief biographical information on scientists in America. OPAC RECORD
- Biographical Dictionary of Scientists
Short biographical entries on about 1200 scientists from ancient to modern times. Coverage is largely North America and Europe, but does include scientists from other continents. Includes brief historical reviews of the sciences of astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering and technology, geology, mathematics, physics. Appendices include chronologies of Nobel Prizes in Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, and Physics and a Glossary of scientific terminology. Includes an author, subject, and title index. OPAC RECORD
- Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists
Biographical entries on 472 scientists from antiquity to the present. Articles often include pictures and/or sidelines with brief explanations of the relevant science, culture, etc. OPAC RECORD
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Biographical entries on the professional lives of scientists deceased by 1970 publication date. Indexed by topic as well as individual. OPAC RECORD
- Dictionary of Scientists [electronic book]
Brief entries including basic biographical information, but focusing primarily on the scientific achievements of the subjects. OPAC RECORD
- Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists OPAC RECORD
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Supplement OPAC RECORD
Biographical information on approximately 1300 twentieth-century scientists from a variety of natural, physical, and applied sciences. While the volume is heavily focused on Western males, it does include over 225 women, nearly 150 Asian American, African American, Hispanic American, and Native American scientists. About 75 scientists are from outside North America and Western European countries. These are easily identifiable using the Gender and Nationality/Ethnicity Indexes. A subject index is also included. The supplement adds about 250 new biographies and updates 65 from the original set.
- Who Was Who in American History--Science and Technology
Brief biographical entries on American scientists deceased by the 1976 publication date. OPAC RECORD
- AccessScience: The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
A comprehensive encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes dictionary definitions and longer entries. Entries are useful to both the layman and the scientist.
- Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
- Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology
- Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science
- Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
- Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery
- Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations
- Scientific Quotations: The Harvest of a Quiet Eye
A collection of quotations on science by scientists, writers, philosophers, poets, and academicians. Organized by author. Indexed by keyword. OPAC RECORD
- Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Each entry is a guide to the major historical works on an individual, a discipline or institution, or a broad theme in the history of science.
- Asimovís Chronology of Science and Discovery
Short entries on events in the history of science from 4,000,000 B.C. to 1988 A.D., organized by date. Indexed by name and subject. OPAC RECORD
- The History of Science and Technology: a Browser's Guide to the Great Discoveries, Inventions, and the People Who Made Them, from the Dawn of Time to Today
Short entries on events in the history of science from 2,600,000 B.C. to 2003 A.D., organized by date. Includes a combined name and subject index. OPAC RECORD
- Readerís Guide to the History of Science
Each entry is a guide to the major historical works on an individual, a discipline or institution, or a broad theme in the history of science. OPAC RECORD
- Echo Research Center: Directory of web sites on the history of science, technology, and industry with some reviews.
- Eric Weisstein's World of Science: Math and science resources, including biography.
- History of Science Society: Professional association devoted to scholarly research and popular interest in the history of science.
- Internet History of Science Sourcebook: an academic web site providing access to historical texts in the history of science.
Prepared by Barbie
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002-2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/history_of_science/default.htm
Created: 08/27/02. Updated: 08/13/08 .