Bibliography

Information Literacy Guide, Pollak Library
California State University, Fullerton

Home
Standards
CSU IL Initiative
CSUF IL Initiative
CSUF Resources
Departments
Sample Objectives
Library Assignments
Tutorial
Web Links
Bibliography

 

Information Literacy: Bibliography

Jump To: Information Literacy Teaching Information Literacy

Information Literacy Top of Page Web Resources, Full Text Resources, Print Resources

Information Literacy: Web Resources Top of Page

bulletAmerican Library Association. Presidential Committee on Information Literacy. Final Report. 17 April 1995. <http://www.ala.org/acrl/nili/ilit1st.html>.
bulletAmerican Library Association. American Association of School Libraries. Wisconsin Educational Media Association. Position Paper on Information Problem Solving. 1993. <http://www.ala.org/aasl/positions/PS_infolit.html>.
bulletAmerican Library Association. American Association of School Libraries. AASL/AECT National Guidelines Vision Committee. Information Literacy Standards for Student Learning. 7 Oct. 1996. <http://www.ala.org/aasl/ip_nine.html>.
bulletCalifornia Association of Academic and Research Libraries. Recommended Texts For Consideration Related to Information Literacy. October 1996. <http://www.cabrillo.cc.ca.us/~tsmalley/WASC.html>.
bulletOregon Educational Media Association. Oregon Information Literacy Guidelines.  Feb. 1997. <http://www.teleport.com/~oema/infolit.html>.
bulletShapiro, J. J. And Hughes, S.K. Information Literacy as a Liberal Art. EDUCOM Review 31(March/April, 1996):2. <http://www.educause.edu/pub/er/review/reviewarticles/31231.html>.

Information Literacy: Full Text Resources Top of Page

bulletEisenberg, M. B. & Johnson, D. Computer Skills for Information Problem-Solving: Learning and Teaching Technology in Context. Washington: ERIC Clearinghouse, March 1996. ERIC Document ED392463 [CSUF only].
bulletFord, B. J. and Breivik, P. S. "Learning Through Information Literacy." American Libraries 24 (1993):98. <Expanded Academic>
bulletFrappaolo, C. "Planning for the Information Revolution." Information Today 10 (1993): 17-18. <Proquest Direct>
bulletHancock, V. Information Literacy for Lifelong Learning. ERIC Document ED358870 1993. [CSUF only]
bulletRader, H.B. "Information Literacy and the Undergraduate curriculum." Library Trends 44 (1995): 270-78. <Expanded Academic> OPAC RECORD
bulletRatteray, O.M.T. & Simmons H. L. Information Literacy in Higher Education: A Report on the Middle States Region. Washington: ERIC Clearinghouse, September 1995. ERIC Document ED388136 [CSUF only].
bulletTurrell, L. Library Online! A Guide to Computer Research. Washington: ERIC Clearinghouse, 1997. ERIC Document ED400830 [CSUF only].

Information Literacy: Print Resources Top of Page

bulletAmstutz, Donna & Whitson, Donna. "University Faculty and Information Literacy: Who Teaches the Students?" Research Strategies 15 (Winter 1997): 18-25 OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletAtton, C.F. "Using Critical Thinking as a Basis for Library User Education." The Journal of Academic Librarianship 20 (November 1994): 310-313. OPAC RECORD
bulletBarron, D.D. "If All Roads Lead to Rome, Why Are We in Athens?: School Library Media Programs and National Standards." School Library Media Activities Monthly 14 (Sept. 1997): 47-50.
bulletBehrens, Shirley. "A Conceptual Analysis and Historical Overview of Information Literacy." College and Research Libraries 55 (1994): 309-322. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletBjorner, S.N. "The Information Literacy Curriculum: A Working Model." IATUL Quarterly 5 (1991): 150-160. RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletBlandy, S.G. "The Librarian's Role in Academic Assessment and Accreditation: A Case Study." The Reference Librarian 38 (1992): 69-87. OPAC RECORD
bulletBranch, K. A. "Library Instruction and Information Literacy in Community and Technical Colleges." RQ 35 (Summer 1996): 476-483. OPAC RECORD
bulletBreivik, P. S. Information Literacy: Educating Children for the 21st Century. Lafayette, New York: Scholastic,  1994.  Eric Document ED373801
bulletBreivik, P. S. Student Learning in the Information Age. Phoenix, Arizona: American Council on Education and Oryx Press, 1998. OPAC RECORD
bulletBreivik, P. S. "Information Literacy: When Computers aren't Enough." Learning and Leading with Technology 23 (February 1996): 65-7. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletBreivik, P. S. & Gee, G. E. Information Literacy: Revolution in the Library. New York: Macmillan, 1989. OPAC RECORD
bulletBreivik, P. S. and Senn, J. A. Information Literacy: Educating Children for the 21st Century. New York, New York: Scholastic, Ind., 1994. OPAC RECORD
bulletBreivik, P. S. and Senn, J. A. Information Literacy: Educating Children for the 21st Century. (2nd ed.) Washington, D.C.: National Education Association, 1998. OPAC RECORD
bulletBruce, C. S. "Information Literacy: A Framework for Higher Education." Australian Library Journal 44 (August 1995):158-170.
bulletBruce, C. The Seven Faces of Information Literacy. Adelaide: Auslib Press, 1997.
bulletCalifornia School Library Association. From the Library Skills to Information Literacy: A Handbook for the 21st Century. Castle Rock, Co.; Hi Willow Research and Publishing, 1997.
bulletCrane, B. "A Model For Teaching Critical Thinking Through Online Searching." The Reference Librarian 44 (1994): 41-52. OPAC RECORD
bulletDaragan, P. "Developing Lifelong Learners: An Integrative and Developmental Approach to Information Literacy." Research Strategies 14 (Spring 1996): 68-81. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletDoyle, C. Information Literacy in an Information Society. A Concept for the Information Age. Syracuse, New York, 1994. ERIC Document ED372763.
bulletFarmer, L. Workshops for Teachers: Becoming Partners for Information Literacy. Worthington, Ohio: Linworth Publishing, 1995.
bulletFarmer, L.S.J. "Authentic Assessment of Information Literacy Through Electronic Products." Book Report 16 (Sept/Oct. 1997): 11-13 [Ebsco Host].
bulletFernandez, G. "Critical Thinking in Library User Education." Florida Libraries 38 (October 1995): 124.
bulletGeorge, M.W. "Information Literacy: A Selective Review of Recent Literature." New Jersey Libraries 26 (1993): 3-4.
bulletGeorge, M.W., Kuhlthau, C. & Nash, Stanley. "Information Literacy and Critical Thinking: Definitions and Distinctions." New Jersey Libraries 26 (1993): 2-26. RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletGeorge, R. & Luke, R. "The Critical Place of Information Literacy in the Trend Towards Flexible Delivery in Higher Education Contexts." Australian Academic & Research Libraries 27 (September 1996): 204-212.
bulletGibson, G. "Critical Thinking: Implications for Instruction." RQ 35 (Fall 1995): 27-35 OPAC RECORD.
bulletGreer, A., Weston, L. & Alm, M. "Assessment of Learning Outcomes: A Measure of Progress in Library Literacy." College & Research Libraries 52 (November 1991): 549-557. OPAC RECORD
bulletHancock, V.E. "Information Literacy, Brain-Based Learning, and the Technological Revolution: Implications for Education." School Library Media Activities Monthly 12 (September 1995): 31-34.
bulletJohnson, D.A., Eisenberg, M.B. "Computer Literacy and Information Literacy: A Natural Combination." Emergency Librarian 23 (May/June 1996): 12-16. [Ebsco Host]
bulletKafai, Y., Bates, M.J. "Internet Web-Searching Instruction in the Elementary Classroom: Building a Foundation for Information Literacy." School Library Media Quarterly 25 (Winter 1997): 103-11.
bulletKautzman, A.M. "Teaching Critical Thinking: The Alliance of Composition Studies and Research Instruction." Reference Services Review 24 (1996): 61-66. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletKibbey, M. Skills for Life: Library Information Literacy for Grades 6-8. Worthington, Ohio: Linworth Publications, 1994.
bulletKunkel, L.R., Waver, S.M. & Cook, K.N. "What Do They Know?: An Assessment of Undergraduate Library Skills." The Journal of Academic Librarianship 22 (November 1996): 430-434. OPAC RECORD
bulletLaGuardia, C. et al. Teaching the New Library: a How-To-Do-It Manual for Planning and Designing Instructional Programs. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1996. OPAC RECORD
bulletLawton, B. "Library Instruction Needs Assessment: Designing Survey Instruments." Research Strategies 7 (Summer 1989): 119-128. OPAC RECORD
bulletMcCrank, L. J. "Information Literacy: A Bogus Bandwagon?" Library Journal 116 (May 1991): 38. OPAC RECORD
bulletMartorana, J. and Doyle, C. "Computers On, Critical Thinking Off: Challenges of Teaching in the Electronic Environment." Research Strategies 14 (Summer 1996): 184-91. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletMensching, T. E. Coping with Information Illiteracy: Bibliographic Instruction for the Information Age. Ann Arbor, Michigan: Pierian Press, 1990.
bulletMorrison, H. "Information Literacy Skills: An Exploratory Focus Group Study of Student Perceptions." Research Strategies 15 (Winter 1997): 4-17. OPAC RECORD
bulletMullins, L. S. "Partnerships in Information Teaching and Learning: Building a Collaborative Culture in the University Community." New Jersey Libraries 26 (1993): 18.
bulletNeal, J. G. "Academic Libraries: 2000 and Beyond." Library Journal 121 (July 1996): 74-76. OPAC RECORD
bulletRader, H.B. "Information Literacy and the Undergraduate curriculum." Library Trends 44 (Fall 1995): 270-78. <Expanded Academic> OPAC RECORD
bulletRead this First: An Owner's Guide to the New Model Statement of Objectives for Academic Bibliographic Instruction.
Chicago, Illinois: Bibliographic Instruction Section, Association of College and Research Libraries, 1991.
bulletRettig, J. "The Convergence of the Twain or Titanic Collision? BI and Reference in the 1990's Sea of Change." Reference Service Review 23 (Spring 1995): 7-20.
bulletRoss, T. W. & Bailey G.D. "Wanted: A New Literacy for the Information Age." NASSP Bulletin 78 (September 1994): 31-35. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletSchultz, C.L. Development of an Information Literacy Course for Community College Students. Dissertation, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 1995.
bulletSmith, J.B. "Achieving a Curriculum-Based Library Media Center Program." American Library Association, 1995. Eric Document ED389321
bulletSnavely, Loanne & Cooper, N. "The Information Literacy Debate." The Journal of Academic Librarianship 23 (January 1997): 9-14. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBR
bulletStrege, K. "Information Literacy." PNLA Quarterly 61 (Winter 1997): 18-20. RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletSykes, J.A. Library Centers: Teaching Information Literacy, Skills, and Processes, k-6. Englewood, Colorado: Libraries Unlimited, 1997. ERIC Document ED411792.
bulletTierney, J. "Information Literacy and a College Library: A Continuing Experiment." New Directions for Higher Education no. 78, 20 (Summer 1992): 63-71. OPAC RECORD
bulletWalster, D., Welborn, L. "Colorado's Information Literacy Guidelines." School Library Media Activities Monthly 12 (Mar. 1996): 23-7 RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletWalster, D. "Student-Centered Information Literacy Programs: The Colorado Vision." School Library Media Annual (SLMA) 13 (1995): 45-53. RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBR
bulletWarmkessel, M. M. & McCade, J. M. "Integrating Information Literacy into the Curriculum." Research Strategies 15 (1997): 80-88. OPAC RECORD RESERVE BOOK ROOM RBRINC001
bulletWolf, C. & Wolf, R. Basic Library Skills (3rd ed). Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland & Co., Inc., 1993.
bulletZenor, S. D. "AECT/AASL National Guidelines: The Update of Information Power." Tech Trends 42 (January/February 1997): 2.

Teaching Information Literacy Top of Page

bulletBarclay, D. A. Teaching Electronic Information Literacy: A How-to-do-it Manual. New York: Neal-Shuman, 1995. OPAC RECORD
bulletBarnett, D. Research It! Write It! A Step by Step Guide to Research and Writing. Highsmith Press, 1997.
bulletBleakley, A., & Carrigan, J. Resource-Based Learning Activities: Information Literacy for High School Students. Chicago, IL: American Library Association, 1994. OPAC RECORD
bulletConan, M. & Heavers, K. What You Need to Know About Developing Study Skills, Taking Notes and Tests, Using Dictionaries and Libraries. Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Company, 1994. OPAC RECORD
bulletDruce, A. Library Lessons for Grades 7-9. Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press, 1996. OPAC RECORD
bulletGarrett, L. J., & Moore, J. Teaching Library Skills in the Middle and High School: A How-to-do-it Manual. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1993. OPAC RECORD
bulletIanuzzi, P. Teaching Information Literacy Skills. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1998.
bulletJoyce, M. Z., & Tallman, J. I. Making the Writing and Research Connection with the I-search Process: A How-to-do-it Manual for Teachers and School Librarians. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1996. OPAC RECORD
bulletKuhlthau, C. C. Teaching the Library Research Process (2nd ed.). Metuchen, N. J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994.
bulletList, Carla. Introduction to Library Research.(2nd ed.) College Custom Series, New York: McGraw Hill, 1993.
bulletMcInerney, C. F. Find It!: The Inside Story at Your Library. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Lerner Publications, 1989.
bulletMeister, T. Pardon Me, But Your References Are Showing! (2nd ed.). Fort Atkinson, Wisconson: Highsmith, 1996.
bulletMendrinos, R. Building Information Literacy Using High Technology: A Guide for Schools and Libraries. Englewood, Co.: Libraries Unlimited, 1994. ERIC Document ED375820.
bulletMoody, R. B. Coming to Terms: Subject Search Strategies in the School Library Media Center. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1995.
bulletWolf, C. E. Basic Library Skills (2nd ed.). Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland, 1986.
   

Visitors from March 24, 2001 to present: Hit Counter
Created: March 7, 2001  Updated: 22 Jan 2007


Prepared by Suellen Cox scox@fullerton.edu and Margaret Hogarth (2001).
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.