Sample Objectives

Information Literacy Guide, Pollak Library
California State University, Fullerton

Home
Standards
CSU IL Initiative
CSUF IL Initiative
CSUF Resources
Departments
Sample Objectives
Library Assignments
Tutorial
Web Links
Bibliography

 

Information Literacy: Sample Objectives

Jump to: Biological Sciences Business & Economics English Social Sciences Speech

Biological Sciences: Biology 316 Top of Page

Biology 316 Objectives Top of Page

When this session is over, you should be able to:

bulletAccess library subscription databases.
bulletUse several web-based Biology article citation databases to find articles on a subject or by an author.
bulletDistinguish between primary and secondary articles.
bulletIdentify article citation elements.
bulletUse the library catalog (OPAC) to locate copies of articles and books owned by Pollak Library in paper and electronic format.
bulletKnow how to submit requests for items not owned by Pollak Library.
bulletKnow where to go for assistance with research and using the Library.

Business & Economics: Management 501, Economics 320 Top of Page

Management 501 Objectives Top of Page

When this session is over, you should be able to:

bulletKnow where to access library subscription databases.
bulletUse databases to find articles on a company, industry or topic.
bulletUse keyword and subject searching techniques.
bulletBe able to find materials by SIC or NAICS codes.
bulletIdentify article citation elements.
bulletUse the library catalog to locate books and journal titles.
bulletUse the Business Pages to find books and web sites on companies and industries.
bulletKnow how to submit requests for items not owned by Pollak Library.
bulletKnow where to go for assistance using the Library, databases or for doing other research.

Economics 320 Objectives Top of Page

When this session is over, you should be able to:

bulletKnow where to access library subscription databases.
bulletUse databases to find articles on an economic topic.
bulletUse keyword and subject searching techniques.
bulletIdentify article citation elements.
bulletUse the library catalog to locate books and journals.
bulletKnow how to submit requests for items not owned by Pollak Library.
bulletKnow where to go for assistance using the Library, databases or for doing other research.

Social Sciences: Anthropology 100

Anthropology 100 Objectives Top of Page

During this library session, students will learn to:
bulletAccess and navigate the Pollak Library Home Page.
bulletExecute searches in the OPAC in order to locate course-related information in books, documents, and the titles of journals held at CSUF.
bulletIdentify, access, and use appropriate electronic information resources like Expanded Academic, and General Science in order to locate articles in periodicals.
bulletInterpret bibliographic citations.
bulletRequest books and articles manually and electronically.

Visitors from March 7, 2001 to present: Hit Counter

Created: March 7, 2001  Updated: 22 Jan 2007


Prepared by Suellen Cox scox@fullerton.edu and Margaret Hogarth (2001).
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.