Patents
Home General Patents Trademarks

 

Intellectual Property: Patents

United States International Specialized Databases Tutorials Dictionaries

Intellectual Property: Patents - United States Top of Page

Delphion Intellectual Property Network (formerly the IBM Patent Server)
This searchable database from IBM has all U.S. patents including the drawings back to 1974. It has selective patents (without drawings) issued between 1971 and 1973. It also has European patents with their images (back to 1980), and applications without images back to 1979. It also includes some Japanese patents as well as patent applications from the World Intellectual Property Office (back to 1990).
US Patent Office Patent Database
This is searchable full text database in five-year blocks back to 1976, and in one additional block covering the years 1790-1975. However, the 1790-1975 block can only be searched using patent numbers and current U.S. Classifications.
Search steps:
  1. Use the Index to the US Patent Classification System at USPTO. http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/oeip/taf/c_index/index.htm
  2. Use the alphabetical subject Index to look up common english terms (and closely related synonyms) and find their patent classification number.
  3. Use the class numbers to look up the classification of subjects related to your search terms in the Manual of U.S. Patent Classification. The Manual contains the technical description and exact definition of items and indicates the subject hierarchy of terms.
  4. Search by class/subclass listing.

Intellectual Property: Patents - International Top of Page

Canadian Patent Database
The free Canadian Patent Database provides access to over 75 years of Canadian patent descriptions and images from more than 1,400,000 patent documents.
Delphion Intellectual Property Network (formerly the IBM Patent Server) 
This searchable database from IBM has all U.S. patents including the drawings back to 1974. It has selective patents (without drawings) issued between 1971 and 1973. It also has European patents with their images (back to 1980), and applications without images back to 1979. It also includes some Japanese patents as well as patent applications from the World Intellectual Property Office (back to 1990).
esp@cenet
This is a free-of-charge patent search facility provided by the European Patent Organisation. It provides access to European (EP) patents, PCT (WO) patents, worldwide patents, and Japanese patents. It also provides access by country to patents.
European Patent Office
This site provides indexing to over 30 million patent documents from European and other patent offices worldwide, including Japanese, German, and U.S. patents. The records provide basic patent information and in many cases an English abstract. 
Japan Patent Office
This provides free access to the Industrial Property Digital Library. http://www.ipdl.jpo.go.jp/homepg_e.ipdl
US Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO has a page entitled Other Intellectual Property Offices 
http://www.uspto.gov/web/menu/other.html. This has links to sites worldwide.

Intellectual Property: Patents - Specialized Chemistry, DNA Top of Page

Intellectual Property: Patents - Chemistry Top of Page

Chemical Patents Plus
Offers the full text for all classes of patents issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office from 1975 to the present, including partial coverage from 1971-1974. Complete patent page images are available for patents issued from 1 January 1995. You must register but searching is free. It includes all chemical patents covered in Chemical Abstracts, based on either the U.S. patent or an earlier issued foreign equivalent patent document of the same patent family. You can request the 2-D and 3-D structure views for the CAS Registry Numbers for specific substances that are identified in the patent claims. Registration is required but is free.
Patent coverage in Chemical Abstracts
Abstracts in print format) This just includes coverage information for Chemical Abstracts. You cannot search for a patent using this link.

Intellectual Property: Patents - DNA Top of Page

DPD: DNA Patent Database
The DPD, a joint project of the Georgetown University's Kennedy Institute of Ethics and the Foundation for Genetic Medicine, allows free public access to the full text and analysis of all DNA patents issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (PTO). This database enables users to conduct boolean searches of the full text of the patents and of delimited fields. - site intro

Intellectual Property: Patents - Databases Top of Page

LexisNexis Academic Universe
CSUF only database. Choose Legal Research, then Patents under Patent Research. This database only covers US patents since 1971. 

Intellectual Property: Patents - Tutorials Top of Page

Patent Searching Tutorial - How to Search by Patent Number 
Learn how to select an appropriate patent web site for searching. Find out how to locate patent numbers. Get hands-on interactive practice searching by patent number at the Delphion (formerly IBM) Patent Server.

Intellectual Property: Patents - Dictionaries Top of Page

Glossary of Patent Terms
By Derwent.
 

Visitors from June 12, 2001 to present: Hit Counter
Created: June 12, 2001  Updated: 28 Sep 2001