Find Articles  

Home Page
About the Library
Remote Access
Starting Your Research
Types of Info
Find Books
Find Articles
Periodical Puzzler
Citations
Evaluating Web Sites
Glossary of Terms

Back Next

Pollak Library has many indexes for finding articles. A periodical index is a tool for finding articles -- usually by subject, author or title. Examples of periodical indexes our library owns are ERIC, PsycINFO and Academic Search Premier.

ABOUT "FIND ARTICLES"
Databases are online indexes to articles. You can search them by keywords, subjects, titles, authors, and many other ways. They retrieve articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, substantial/news magazines, and popular magazines--see below for descriptions of these different kinds of articles.

bullet

Databases by Subject List of databases organized by major or subject

bullet

Find Journals by Title Search this list by journal title to see if the Pollak Library has the journal--and the article--that you need in any format (electronic full-text, print, or microform).

bullet

How do I find scholarly or peer-reivewed journals?
bullet

Scholarly Journals v. Popular Magazines Chart

bullet

How do I find articles that report empirical research?
 

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS: Journals are often published faster than books, and usually contain current original research in a particular field. Scholarly articles are written for a specialized audience, by experts in the discipline. In contrast to newspapers and magazines, journals are often devoted to a specific subject or discipline, use specialized language, and usually contain: 
Introduction
Research Methodology 
Author Credentials
Footnotes and Bibliography
Sometimes referred to as "peer reviewed" or "refereed"
See also the  scholarly & popular journals module in the Expanded Academic tutorial above.

 

NEWSPAPERS:
bulletContain current, general information
bulletGood source of public opinion
bulletWritten by reporters and columnists for a general audience
bulletCover a variety of topics
bulletMight identify sources (sometimes these are confidential) but not with footnotes

 

SUBSTANTIAL NEWS/MAGAZINES:
bulletContain current, general information - sometimes on a particular topic
bulletCan include in-depth reporting, but without scholarly format (footnotes, e.g.)
bulletWritten by staff writers and reporters, aimed at an educated audience

POPULAR MAGAZINES:
bulletMay be general or focused on a particular subject 
bulletWritten by non-specialists for a general audience
bulletHeavy advertising, eye-catching layout, color

 

 Want to try the Periodical Puzzler now? See how well you do.

 Etc.

bulletNeed something that CSUF doesn't own? You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) - It's free!
bulletDo you need some extra help?  Click on Ask A Librarian for several options.

horizontal rule

Starting Your Research Sub-Web:
Starting Your Research ||| Types of Info ||| Books & More ||| Articles & More ||| Glossary of Terms

    

 Next Section

horizontal rule

 

Prepared by Rosemary McGill and Judy Ruttenberg.  Maintained by Barbie McConnell.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2000 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:May 05, 2008