Citations  

Home Page
About the Library
Remote Access
Starting Your Research
Types of Info
Find Books
Find Articles
Periodical Puzzler
Citations
Evaluating Web Sites
Glossary of Terms

Back Next

INTRODUCTION TO CITING SOURCES: Footnotes, References, Bibliographies, etc.

As you are doing research, remember to record ALL the necessary information about each of the books, articles, Web sites, etc. that you use. Although style manuals vary slightly, there are essential pieces of information that each will require for your bibliography. The table below is just a guide; you will still need to consult the print manuals. TIP: Use the e-mail function of the Library Catalog and periodical indexes to e-mail citations to yourself and thereby keep track of complete citations of each of the resources you use.  Or keep track of citations by exporting the needed information to the RefWorks bibliographic management tool.  (See link on left hand side of the Pollak Library home page, below Quick Links.  For more information on RefWorks, see the Library's RefWorks Guide.

Basic elements of information for a bibliography
Books Articles Electronic X-tras
Author(s) or Editor(s) Author(s) Web Site Address
Title Article Title Database Name
Publication Date Journal Title Database Vendor
Publication City Volume & Issue Number Date Accessed
Publisher Publication Date
Page Numbers

POLLAK LIBRARY CITATION GUIDES:

APA Style Guide [PDF] | APA Sample Document [PDF]
MLA Style Guide [PDF] | MLA Sample Document [PDF]

Chicago Style Guide
[PDF] | Chicago Sample Document [PDF] 

How Do I Cite Sources?

CAMPUS RESOURCES:

CSUF Dean of Students, Judicial Affairs Office page of Student Resources.  Among the links on this page, you will find a link to Academic Integrity Resources, including the "Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism: How to Write an Effective Research Paper."

The Late Night Show:  Academic Integrity Tutorial:  Created in collaboration by individuals at the Pollak Library and CSUF Judicial Affairs Office, this tutorial includes the following sections:
bullet

"Get Organized:  Starting Your Research"

bullet

"Academic Integrity:  Avoiding Plagiarism"

bullet

"Citing Sources:  Documenting Your Sources"

bullet

"Campus Resources:  Places to Go for Help"

horizontal rule

Back Next

Prepared by Rosemary McGill and Judy Ruttenberg.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2000 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created January 3, 2000. Last Updated: May 05, 2008