As you are doing research, remember to record ALL the necessary information about the books, articles, websites, etc. that you use. Although style manuals vary slightly, there are essential pieces of information that each will require for your bibliography. The table below is just a guide; you will still need to consult the print manuals. (HINT: Use the e-mail function of the OPAC and most periodical indexes to help keep track of complete citations as you go.):

Basic elements of a bibliography
Books Articles Electronic X-tras
Author(s) or Editor(s) Author(s) Web Site Address
Title Article Title Database Name
Publication Date Journal Title Database Vendor
Publication City Volume & Issue Number Date Accessed
Publisher Publication Date
Page Numbers

Pollak Library Introduction to Citation Formats

click here to print this document as a 2-page Adobe Acrobat .pdf file

Academic research requires you to cite the sources you consult. CSUF students generally use four major style manuals described in this handout. It is your responsibility to check with your instructor about which to use for a particular assignment. The examples below are not official, nor do they cover all forms of bibliographic citation. To complete a proper bibliography, reference list, footnotes, etc. you must consult the print manuals, located behind the Reference Desk on the first floor of Library North.

Scholarly Articles

EXAMPLE*


Topics in Early Childhood Special Education.

Fall 1999 v 19 i3 p 151
Parent Education Within a Relationship-Focused Model.
Jean F. Kelly; Kathryn E. Barnard.

You need:

bulletJournal title
bulletDate
bulletVolume & Issue Number
bulletPage Numbers
bulletArticle Title
bulletAuthor/s

If you use an article from an electronic full-text database like Expanded Academic or LexisNexis, you must indicate that in your bibliography with the following additional elements:

bulletDatabase name and URL
bulletDate YOU retrieved the article
APA

From print journal

         Kelly, J.F., & Barnard, K.E. (1999). Parent education within a relationship-focused model. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 19, 151-157.
APA

From Expanded Academic ASAP

        Kelly, J.F., & Barnard, K.E. (1999). Parent education within a relationship-focused model. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 19, pp. 151+. Retrieved March 24, 2000, from InfoTrac database (Expanded Academic ASAP) on the World Wide Web: http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com
   
MLA

From print journal

Kelly, Jean F., and Kathryn E. Barnard. "Parent Education Within a
Relationship-Focused Model." Topics in Early Childhood Special Education 19 (1999): 151-157.
MLA

From Expanded Academic ASAP

Kelly, Jean F., and Kathryn E. Barnard. "Parent Education Within a
Relationship-Focused model." Topics in Early Childhood Special Education 19 (1999): 151. InfoTrac. Expanded Academic ASAP. Pollak Library, Fullerton, CA. 24 Mar. 2000 <http://www5.infotrac.galegroup.com/>.
   
Chicago Manual of Style**

From print journal

Kelly, J.F., and K.E. Barnard. 1999. Parent education within a
relationship-focused model. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education 19: 151-157.
Chicago Manual of Style

From Expanded Academic ASAP

NA
   
Turabian

From print journal

Kelly, Jean F., and Kathryn E. Barnard. 1999. Parent education
within a relationship-focused model. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education 19 (Fall): 151-157.
Turabian

From Expanded Academic ASAP

Kelly, Jean F., and Kathryn E. Barnard. 1999. Parent education
within a relationship-focused model. Topics in Early Childhood Special Education 19 (Fall). 151-157. Database on-line. Available from InfoTrac, Expanded Academic ASAP, A56950904; accessed 24 March 2000.
*Periodical examples are drawn from Expanded Academic ASAP. Elements you need are listed in the order in which they appear in the example, not necessarily in the order they will be used in your bibliography.
**Citations from The Chicago Manual of Style are based upon Documentation 2.

Newspaper Articles

EXAMPLE*


The New York Times. Dec. 16, 1999 pA17 col 1
F.A.A. Orders Toddler Seats on Airliners.(Late edition - Final)David Stout.

You need:

bulletNewspaper title
bulletDate
bulletPage numbers
bulletSection and column
bulletArticle title
bulletAuthor
APA          Stout, S. (1999, December 16). F.A.A. orders toddler seats on airliners. The New York Times, p. A17.
MLA
Stout, David. " F.A.A. Orders Toddler Seats On Airliners." New
York Times 16 Dec. 1999, late ed.: A17.
Chicago Manual of Style**
Stout, David. 1999. F.A.A. orders toddler seats on airliners.
New York Times, 16 December, late edition.
Turabian [Rarely included in reference list. As a footnote]:

         David Stout, " F.A.A. Orders Toddler Seats On Airliners," New York Times, 16 December 1999, sec. A, p. 17.

*Periodical examples are drawn from Expanded Academic ASAP. Elements you need are listed in the order in which they appear in the example, not necessarily in the order they will be used in your bibliography.
**Citations from The Chicago Manual of Style are based upon Documentation 2.

Books

EXAMPLE*


Saving childhood: protecting our children from the national assault on innocence/ Michael Medved and Diane Medved
New York: HarperCollins Publishers/Zondervan, c 1998

You need:

bulletTitle
bulletAuthor/s
bulletPlace of Publication
bulletPublisher
bulletDate
APA          Medved, M., & Medved, D. (1998). Saving childhood: Protecting our children from the national assault on innocence. New York: HarperCollins.
MLA
Medved, Michael and Diane Medved. Saving Childhood: Protecting
Our Children from the National Assault on Innocence. New York: HarperCollins, 1998.
Chicago Manual of Style**
Medved, Michael, and Diane Medved. 1998. Saving childhood:
Protecting our children from the national assault on innocence. New York: HarperCollins.
Turabian
Medved, Michael, and Diane Medved. 1998. Saving childhood:
protecting our children from the national assault on innocence. New York: HarperCollins.

*This book example is drawn from the CSUF OPAC. Elements you need are listed in the order in which they appear in the example, not necessarily in the order they will be used in your bibliography.
**Citations from The Chicago Manual of Style are based upon Documentation 2.

Websites

nichd.jpg (19682 bytes)

EXAMPLE


National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
http://www.nichd.nih.gov

You need:

bulletAuthor of the page or site
bulletSite title
bulletDate created or updated
bulletAddress (URL)
bulletDate you accessed site

 

APA
NICHD Public Information and Communications Branch (1997,
April). Fact Sheet: Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. Retrieved January 12, 2000 from the World Wide Web: http://www.nichd.nih.gov/publications/pubs/sidsfact.htm
MLA
United States. Natl. Inst. of Child Health and Human
Development, Fact Sheet: Sudden
Infant Death Syndrome. Apr. 1997. 12 January 2000 <http://www.nichd.nih.gov/publications/pubs/sidsfact.htm>.
Chicago Manual of Style* NA
Turabian NICHD Public Information and Communications Branch. 1997. Fact Sheet: Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. (April). Internet. Available from http://www.nichd.nih.gov/publications/pubs/sidsfact.htm; accessed 12 January 2000.

*Citations from The Chicago Manual of Style are based upon Documentation 2.
Introduction to Citation Formats last updated: October 2000

 
bullet

CyberCitations: Explanations and examples of citing electronic resources, including web sites, e-mail, full-text articles from databases, etc.

(c)2000 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last revised: September 28, 2001