Reference

LINGUISTICS: A POLLAK LIBRARY RESEARCH GUIDE
Suellen Cox, Library Instruction Coordinator

Pollak Library, CSU Fullerton

Home

Go to Library Home Page

Search the Pollak Library Online Catalog

HOME

Library Catalog

 

Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbook, etc.  A small sample of the collection is represented below.  Click on the title in the table below to link to the Library Catalog record for location and call number.

Dictionaries

The Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics 2000

A Dictionary of Language 2001

Dictionary of Languages 1998
A definitive reference providing statistics, maps, and information on more than 400 languages.

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics 2003
Contains information on the specialized usage of over 4,000 items in linguistics and phonetics.

A Student 's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics 1997
Provides definitions of terms.


Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language 1997
Provides information on a language and identity, structure of language, the mediums of language, child language acquisition, languages of the world, and more.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages 2004

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 1994
This ten volume set provides comprehensive and international articles covering a wide range of language and linguistic topics.

Encyclopedia of Semiotics 1998
Includes signed articles covering schools of thought, scholars, technical terms, and more.

Facts About the World's Languages 2001
Provides information on most contemporary languages, and several ancient languages. The focus is on philology, history and culture.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics 2003
This four volume set is comprehensive, covering the full range of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, typological, functionalist specialties.

Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia 1998
Provides definitions of key terms and concepts. Extensive bibliography.

Linguistic Cultures of the World 1997

Linguistics Encyclopedia 2002
Includes over 80 articles on various traditional areas and current research. 

Guides, Handbooks and Compendium

Compendium of the Worlds Languages 2000
Provides articles comparing over 300 languages and 40 language families. Information includes background and historical information, affiliation, location and number of speakers, dialects, script, phonology, morphology, and syntax.

Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature 2000

Indexes

Language and Language Behavior Abstracts 1967-1994
Provides citations to articles in magazines and journals from 1967-1994. Thesaurus of Linguistic Indexing Terms is also available.

 

 

Prepared by Suellen Cox: scox@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 04/30/07 .