|
Management: Articles
Articles from journals or magazines usually provide the most current
information on a topic. Articles in journals provide scholarly, professional or
technical information. Articles in magazines are useful for brief, general,
introductory information. To find references to current articles on Business,
consult one or more of the indexes or databases listed below.
Management Databases
The Pollak Library subscribes to a large number of
business management databases.
Many of the business databases have full text, but some
contain only bibliographic citations with or without an abstract. Most articles
that you find will only have the text of the article, not the graphical
information such as tables, graphs, charts, photographs, etc.
If you find an article that is not in full text or you need
the graphical information not included in the full text of the article, you need
to check the Library Catalog
for the journal title. If the library has the journal, note the call number and
the issues owned to be sure your article will be there.
Which Database Should I Search?
ABI/Inform Complete:
One of the best sources for
scholarly journals in business. Check this database first when you are
starting a research paper and need reliable sources.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
In addition to scholarly
sources, ABI/Inform also has a large collection of articles from
magazines (Business Week, The Economist), local business
publications (Orange County Business Journal), Trade & Industry
Publications (Advertising Age, WWD), and newspapers (Wall
Street Journal, New York Times).
·
ABI/Inform
is very easy to search. All articles have extensive citations.
Citations are a record of terms that describe the article based on
subject, product, industry, company, and many other variables. All
variables in the citation may be searched. For instance, If I want
articles about outsourcing jobs to India. I can search for
outsourcing in the Subject and India in Location.
·
Most articles contain
abstracts. Abstracts are brief summaries of the articles that you
can read to help you decide whether the article is useful to your
research. Abstracts can make the research process go much more
efficiently.
·
Most articles are in
full-text, and include all tables, charts, images, and graphics.
|
·
Articles, particularly from
newspapers and popular magazines, may appear in full-text closer to
publication in other databases such as Lexis-Nexis and Factiva.
·
The total amount of sources
and articles is less than other databases such as Lexis-Nexis
and Factiva |
Business Source Premier
One of the best sources for
scholarly journals on business. Business Source Premier is a database to
check first when you are starting a research paper and need reliable
sources.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
Business Source Premier
has the largest collection of
up-to-date scholarly business journals.
·
Most articles in Business
Source Premier have abstracts, summaries of the articles to help you
decide if it is useful to your research.
·
You can search through the
full-text of the articles, or limit your search to abstracts or
specialized fields, such as subject, geography, company, or people.
·
Includes the full-text of all
Datamonitor Reports including company profiles, SWOT
Analyses, country profiles, and industry profiles.
|
·
Articles, particularly from
newspapers and popular magazines, may appear in full-text closer to
publication in other databases such as Lexis-Nexis and Factiva.
·
The total amount of sources
and articles is less than other databases such as Lexis-Nexis
and Factiva.
|
Business Full-Text
Business Full-Text
has the smallest collection of articles. It is
best used to gather ideas and general information on your topic.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
Business Full-Text
contains mostly full-text articles.
·
This smaller database makes
it easier to find articles on general topics.
·
You can search through the
full-text of the articles, or limit your search to abstracts or
specialized fields, such as subject, company, or industry (SIC code).
·
Searches may be limited by
publication type, date, or document type.
|
·
Articles, particularly from
newspapers and popular magazines, may appear in full-text closer to
publication in other databases such as Lexis-Nexis and Factiva.
·
The total amount of sources
and articles is less than all other business databases.
|
Lexis-Nexis Academic:
Lexis-Nexis
is best used when you need the very latest
information on your business topic. It is also very useful as a supplement to
what you find in other databases or when you have a very narrow topic.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
Lexis-Nexis
provides a huge amount of articles from over 5,000 sources, particularly
from newspapers. Lexis-Nexis provides articles from newspapers,
magazines, and trade & Industry publications from all over the world.
·
Lexis-Nexis
is timely. Many articles appear in Lexis-Nexis on the same day,
they are published.
·
Lexis-Nexis
places limits on how many articles you can retrieve at once. If over
1,000 articles are returned, you will be forced to narrow your search
down.
·
All articles include the
full-text.
|
·
Lexis-Nexis
only allows you to search through the text of each article. There
aren’t any citations or abstracts to make searching for and identifying
useful articles easier.
·
There are not very many
scholarly journal articles available in Lexis-Nexis.
·
You can not search through
the entire database at once.
·
You must select what type of
article you want before searching. For instance, if you are looking for
magazine or journal articles on outsourcing jobs to India, you
must first select General News, then select Magazines and
Journals.
·
Tables, charts, images, and
graphics are not included.
|
Factiva:
Use Factiva when you
need to find articles on a very narrow topic, need to supplement what you find
in other databases, or need up-to-the-minute articles on your topic.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
Factiva
has an enormous database of articles from
well over 5,000 periodicals.
·
In addition to searching
through the text of the articles, Factiva has subject, industry,
region or company variables that may be used to limit your search.
·
All articles are in
full-text format.
|
·
Factiva
searches its entire database at once and does not place any limits on
how many articles you can retrieve at once. Your search must be very
narrow or else you could end up with thousands of articles.
·
Citations and abstracts are
not available.
·
Most tables, charts,
graphics, and images are not available.
|
JSTOR:
Use
JSTOR when you need scholarly research articles on your topic.
|
Advantages |
Disadvantages |
|
·
JSTOR
provides exact copies of articles from scholarly journals. All
information from the journal, including tables, charts, images, and
graphics is included.
·
JSTOR
has an enormous archive of journal articles. If you need historical
information on your topic, JSTOR is the place to go.
·
JSTOR
is a cross-disciplinary database. For instance, if you search for
articles about outsourcing jobs to India, you will get articles
from publications on business, economics, political science, law,
sociology, and even geography!
·
Each article in JSTOR has an
abstract, a summary of the article to help you decide if it is useful to
your research.
·
You can search through the
full-text of the articles, or limit your search to just the title and
abstract |
·
JSTOR
does not contain many current issues of its journals. It serves mainly
as a historical archive of journal articles.
·
Searches are limited to the
text, abstract and basic citation information (title, author,
publication, date, etc.). Subject and other variables are not included.
·
JSTOR
only includes scholarly journals. Articles from newspapers, trade &
Industry publications, and magazines are not included.
|
Finding an article that we do not own
If you have checked Library Catalog and we do not own the
journal there are several ways you can obtain it:
Step 1: See if it is in electronic format in another
database. Do this by checking the
Electronic Journal Titles List.
Step 2: If you need it in a hurry, check to see if it is held
by another library in the area. You can use the
Worldcat database to find out which libraries own a particular title.
Step 3: If you have time, you can fill in an
Interlibrary loan
request form to have the article sent to this library from another
institution.
Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at
California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
|
|
|