Reference

                                                   

A Pollak Library Research Guide to Management Resources
Modified and maintained by Rob Sage

The CSUF library has a wealth of resources for your management research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. This guide is especially designed for CSUF business students. 

The links below will show you the following:

Articles: How to find articles on your business topic.  These articles may be found in books, journals, or may even be in full text online!
Books: How to find books on your business topic
Journals: A list of business-related journals CSUF owns
Reference: A list of guides, dictionaries, directories, etc.
Web Sites: A list of recommended business-related Web Sites
FAQ: A guide to finding answers to the most frequently researched business topics.

 

Management: Reference Sources

Reference materials consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc.   All items listed are available in the reference collection, located on the 1st floor of the North Wing of the Pollak Library, unless noted otherwise.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
 

Online access to the full-text of some of the most popular business reference works.  Available titles include:

Business Information Handbook 2003 2003
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 1, 1995
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 2, 1996
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 3, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 4, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 5, 1998
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 6, 1999
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 7, 2000
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 8, 2001
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 9, 2002
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 10, 2004
Company Profiles for Students 3v, 1999
Encyclopedia of American Industries 5th ed., 2008
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook 2v, 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce

 

Bibliographies
A bibliography is a list of books or other materials that would be useful in finding information on your topic.

Business Research Sources: A Reference Navigator by F. Patrick Butler REF HF 54.52.U5 B88
A guide to the most useful business reference books.  A complete description and how-to guide for each item is provided.

The Basic Business Library: Core Resources by Bernard S. Schlessinger  REF Z765 .B8 B37
A guide to over 1000 business reference tools.  Some information (such as price) is out of date, but this is still a valuable tool when first looking for business resources.

Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It.  REF DESK HF 5356.L36
Provides sources on where to find information by topic.

Dictionaries 
These dictionaries are useful in finding the meaning of words used in commerce, management or business.

Concise Dictionary of Business Management by David A. Statt  REF HD 30.15 .S73

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management  Ref HD30.15 .B456

The Blackweel Encyclopedic Dictionary of Strategic Management,   Ref
HD30.28 .B59

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Human Resource Management  Ref HF5549.A23 B58  

The Human Resources Glossary : A Complete Desk Reference for HR Executives, Managers, and Practitioners By William R. Tracey  5th Floor South HF5549.A23 T73  

Oxford Reference Premium Online: Economics and Business
Search online through dictionaries of business, accounting, economics, human resources, and finance.  Bilingual dictionaries of business are also available.  Note:  you must login to the CSUF portal before accessing this resource.

The Ultimate Business Dictionary:  Defining the World of Work Ref HF1001.U45

 Encyclopedias
Use these current encyclopedias to find brief descriptions of concepts, people, places, and things in business management.

Encyclopedia of Management REF HD30.15 .E49  

Encyclopedia of Business, 2nd Edition. REF HF 1001 .E466 Vol.1 and Vol. 2

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance REF HF 1001 .E467  Vol. 1, Vol. 2, and Vol. 3


Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science  REF T57.6 E53

Regional Encyclopedia of Business and Management 5th Floor South HF1001 .R44

Almanacs
Use these Almanac as a handy reference to facts and figures.


The Portable MBA Desk Reference REF HD 38.15 . P67

The Irwin Business and Investment Almanac.  5th Floor South HF 5003 .D681

Business Ratios and Formulas:  A Comprehensive Guide REF HF 5691 .B73
Provides definitions, uses, and formulas for hundreds of business ratios.
 

Quotations

The Manager's book of quotations  REF HD38 .M31875

In the Words of Great Business Leaders REF PN 6084 .B87 I5

A compilation of  interviews with business leaders throughout history giving their thoughts on specific topics such as selling, working hard, and bosses.

The Wiley Book of Business Quotations: More than 5,000 Insights, Opinions, and Witicisms About Doing Business Today  REF PN 6084 .B87 W55

 Updated: 06 May 2009