Reference
A Pollak Library Research Guide to Marketing Resources

Modified and maintained by Rob Sage
rsage@fullerton.edu
(657) 278-4057

The CSUF library has a wealth of resources for your marketing research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. This guide is especially designed for CSUF marketing students.

The links below will show you the following:

Articles: How to find articles on your business topic.  These articles may be found in books, journals, or may even be in full text online!
Books: How to find books on your business topic
Journals: A list of business-related journals CSUF owns
Reference: A list of guides, dictionaries, directories, etc.
Web Sites: A list of recommended business-related Web Sites
FAQ: A guide to finding answers to the most frequently researched business topics.

Marketing: Reference Sources
Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the links below to connect to the library catalog record for location and call numbers of some useful resources that cover  business administration topics. Below each link are some descriptions of a few of the most useful books we have in each category of reference book. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online access to the full-text of some of the most popular business reference works.  Available titles include:

Business Information Handbook 2003 2003
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 1, 1995
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 2, 1996
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 3, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 4, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 5, 1998
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 6, 1999
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 7, 2000
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 8, 2001
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 9, 2002
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 10, 2004
Company Profiles for Students 3v, 1999
Encyclopedia of American Industries 4th ed., 2v, 2005
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook 2v, 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce

Statistical Sources
Use these materials to locate useful statistics on businesses, countries, industries, etc.

MRI+
A national probability sample of people 18+.  MRI+ can be used to determine what demographic groups are most likely to use a particular product.  Information is up-to-date through 2004.

Simmons Media and Markets
Stand alone computer available at the end of Business Table 2A
A national probability sample of people 18+.  Simmons can be used to determine what demographic groups are most likely to use a particular product.  Information is up-to-date through 2002.  A guide to using Simmons is available for download at http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/business/Simmons_instruction_session.ppt.

TableBase
A searchable database of tables, charts, and graphs from business and industry publications.  This resource is great for finding statistical information such as market share, market size, sales, etc.

Market Share Reporter       
Business Tables
Compilation of market share reports for brand name products and companies.

World Market Share Reporter
Business Tables
Compilation of global market share data for companies and countries.

International Marketing Data and Statistics
Business Tables
Essential business and marketing statistical information on countries and sub regions of the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania. Includes 20+ years of data showing trends in many subject areas.

Survey of Buying Power
Business Tables
Annual publication provides data for Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA's) and Designated Market Areas (DMA's),including projected trends in consumer spending, population growth, and retail sales.

American Generations Series
Business Tables
This series includes books that provide demographic and lifestyle data, statistics, and trends among The Mellennials (Youth Market), Generation X (Young Adult Market), Baby Boomers, and Americans 55 and older.

American Incomes
Business Tables
Provides the demographics of “who has money” through the extensive use of statistics.

The American Marketplace:  Demographics and Spending Patterns
Business Tables
A great source for American demographic information.

American Men and Women:  Demographics of the Sexes
Business Tables
This book gives researchers an insight into the marketplace by describing consumers' life styles and attitudes in detail.  Narrative discussion accompanies each table, analyzing data and highlighting trends.

Best Customers:  Demographics of Consumer Demand
Business Tables
provides data on who the best and biggest consumers for over 300 products.

Household Spending:  Who Spends How Much on What
Business Tables, Demographics and Consumers
Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics nationwide survey of 25,000 household spending records is analyzed.

Racial and Ethnic Diversity:  Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Business Tables
Detailed statistics about each racial group including business, education, health, housing, income, living arrangements, population, spending, and labor force. Data on perceptions of diversity, black progress, group stereotypes, immigration, language, and personal outlook and behavior.

Regional Markets:  The Demographics of Growth and Decline
Business Tables
Provides points of comparison and view of trends for regional growth and decline which highlight demographic changes within the U.S. population.

MSA Profile
Business Tables
Provides data on population, income, and employment for all MSAs, PMSAs, and CMSAs.

The Lifestyle Market Analyst
Business Tables
Breaks down the American population geographically with information about interest, hobbies and activities popular in each demographic and geographic group.

Sourcebook of County Demographics
Business Tables
The Sourcebook provides profiles of residents by age, race, household, income, spending profiles and consumer type throughout the U.S. It provides demographics for the current year and forecasts for the next five years.

Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics
Business Tables
The Sourcebook provides demographic profiles of residents of each zip code and includes current year data and forecasts for the next five years.

Bibliographies  
A bibliography is a list of books or other materials that would be useful in finding information on your topic.

Business Research Sources: A Reference Navigator by F. Patrick Butler  Ref HF 54.52.U5 B88
A guide to the most useful business reference books.  A complete description and how-to guide for each item is provided.

The Basic Business Library: Core Resources by Bernard S. Schlessinger.
4th Floor South Z765 .B8 B37

A guide to over 1000 business reference tools.  Some information (such as price) is out of date, but this is still a valuable tool when first looking for business resources.

Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
REF DESK HF 5356.L36

Provides sources on where to find information by topic.

Dictionaries 
These dictionaries are useful in finding the meaning of words used in marketing, sales, and advertising.

Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising by Michael John Baker
REF HF 4514 .B273 1990

Dictionary of Marketing Terms.  Edited by Peter D. Bennett
Ref HF4514. D4874 1995.

Delson's Dictionary of Motion Picture Marketing Terms by Don Delson and Stuart Jacobs
Ref PN1993.5 .D45
A collection of advertising, sales, production, and financial terms used in the film industry

Oxford Reference Premium Online: Economics and Business
Search online through dictionaries of business, accounting, economics, human resources, and finance.  Bilingual dictionaries of business are also available.  Note:  you must login to the CSUF portal before accessing this resource.

 Encyclopedias
Use these current encyclopedias to find brief descriptions of concepts, people, places, and things in marketing, sales, or advertising.

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
REF HF5415 .E527
600 of the most well known brands in America since 1950, chosen for market share, name recognition and longevity. Volume 1 contains consumable products, volume 2 has personal products and volume 3 has durable goods. History of the product and reasons for success (or failure) covering the research, quality development, marketing and advertising. Each entry starts with the current logo and then a brief history of the origin of the brand or product, strategies and innovations in advertising, marketing strategies and distribution, current performance appraisal and a brief bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns.  Edited by Thomas Riggs
REF HF 5387 .E53

IEBM Encyclopedia of Marketing
REF HF 5412 .I32
A detailed, encyclopedic dictionary of marketing terms, biographies, and products.


Quotations

The Manager's book of quotations
REF HD38 .M31875 1989 


In the Words of Great Business Leaders
REF PN 6084 .B87

A compilation of  interviews with business leaders throughout history giving their thoughts on specific topics such as selling, working hard, and bosses.

The Wiley Book of Business Quotations: More than 5,000 Insights, Opinions, and Witicisms About Doing Business Today
REF PN 6084 .B87 W55


Updated: 18 Oct 2007