Articles
Mathematics: A Pollak Library Research Guide
by Barbie McConnell, Reference Librarian

 

Home
Articles
Books
Journals
Reference
Web Sites
FAQ

Click here to return to Pollak Library home page Click here to search Pollak Library catalog Click here to see A-Z list of databases in the Pollak Library
Library Home Page Library Catalog Databases

Mathematics: Articles

Articles from journals or magazines usually provide the most current information on a topic.  Articles in journals provide scholarly, professional or technical information. Articles in magazines are useful for brief, general, introductory information. To find references to current articles in mathematics, consult one or more of the indexes listed below.

Once you have located a relevant article, check Find Journals by Title to see if Pollak Library subscribes to the journal in which the article appears. See the FAQ Page in this web for more information.

Mathematics

MathSciNet
bulletSubject index of bibliographic data for mathematics publications.
bulletIncludes reviews for many of the publications listed.
bulletIncludes the contents of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.
bulletClick here to see Journal title abbreviations used.  
NOTE:  You will need the free Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ to view this file.
bullet CSUF only.
 

General

Academic Search  Elite
bulletSome citations; some abstracts; some full-text; some full-image.
bulletOver 1500 journals and magazines, from 1980 to current date, including several mathematics titles.
bullet CSUF only.
 
JSTOR
bulletFull-text; Full-image.
bulletHistorical backfile of major journals including 11 titles in mathematics, 11 in statistics, and 7 in general science.
bulletCoverage extends from the first issues of each journal (some back as early as the 17th century) to within 2-5 years of the current date.
bullet CSUF only.
 
Science Science Citation Index
bullet Web of Science (1988-current date)
bulletPlease click on "logoff" when finished.  (Limited to 3 simultaneous users.)
bulletCitations and abstracts with lists of cited references and some links to full-text.
bulletIndex to more than 5,700 journals.
bullet CSUF only.
bulletFor older references see print edition of Science Citation Index in Library.
 
Science Direct
bulletClick on link, then click on Search.
bulletSome full-text, full image.
bulletOver 1100 research journals, including several in mathematics.
bullet CSUF only.
 
Wiley InterScience
bulletSome citations, most full-text, full image, tables-of-contents.
bulletIncludes 14 journals in mathematics and statistics.  From 1997 to the present.
bullet CSUF only.
 
Prepared by Barbie McConnell: bmcconnell@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 05/01/07 .