|







| |
Mathematics: Reference
Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing,
consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks,
almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the icons below to link to the Library
Catalog
records and find the locations and call numbers of some useful resources.
Jump to: Biography | Career Materials
| Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
| Handbooks & Manuals | Research
| Biography |
 |
Biographical Encyclopedia of
Mathematicians
Profiles
178 representative figures throughout history. Sidebars define
major achievements.
|
|
 |
Notable Mathematicians: From
Ancient Times to the Present
Brief
biographies of 303 mathematicians. Coverage is worldwide and
ranges throughout recorded history.
|
|
 |
Notable Women in Mathematics:
a Biographical Dictionary
Biographies
of 59 women mathematicians. Emphasis is on twentieth-century
figures, although some historical figures are included.
|
|
 |
World Directory of
Mathematicians
An international
directory of mathematical organizations and mathematicians.
|
| Career Materials |
 |
Assistantships and Graduate
Fellowships in the Mathematical Sciences
Comparative
information on graduate programs in the mathematical sciences.
|
|
 |
Great Jobs for Math Majors
Information
on possible career paths and advice for conducting a job
search.
|
| Dictionaries
& Encyclopedias |
 |
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of
Mathematics
Brief
information on a wide variety of mathematical terms and concepts ranging
from the popular to the scholarly. Extensively
cross-referenced. Includes frequent examples and references for
further information.
|
|
 |
Encyclopaedia of
Mathematics
Covers all fields of mathematics with articles ranging from lengthy
surveys on major issues to quick reference definitions. Most
articles include references for further information.
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Mathematics Education
Describes mathematics education at elementary, secondary, and
postsecondary levels. Covers assessment, curriculum, governmental
role, history of math and math education, instructional materials and
methods, international comparisons, issues, psychology of learning,
resources, teacher preparation, etc. |
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Statistical Sciences
Covers all areas of statistical theory and the application of
statistical methods. |
|
 |
Russian-English
Dictionary of Mathematics
English translations of
Russian terms from all major branches of mathematics, from elementary to
advanced levels.
|
| Handbooks
& Manuals |
 |
CRC Handbook of Mathematical
Sciences
A
comprehensive reference for tables, functions, conversions, etc. in all
areas of mathematics. Includes sections on constants and
conversion factors; algebra; combinatorial analysis; geometry;
trigonometry; logarithmic, exponential, and hyperbolic functions;
analytic geometry; calculus; differential equations; special functions;
numerical methods; probability and statistics; astrodynamics; and
mathematical symbols and abbreviations.
|
|
 |
CRC Standard Mathematical
Tables and Formulae
A
comprehensive reference for tables and formulae from all areas of
mathematics. Includes sections on analysis, algebra, discrete
mathematics, geometry, continuous mathematics, special functions,
probability and statistics, scientific computing, financial analysis,
calendar computations, the Greek alphabet, professional mathematical
organizations, and more.
|
|
 |
The Mathematical Olympiad
Handbook: an Introduction to Problem Solving Based on the First 32
British Mathematical Olympiads 1965-1996
An
introduction to problem solving methods using the problems from the
British Mathematical Olympiads as examples.
|
| Research |
 |
A Primer of Mathematical
Writing: Being a Disquisition on Having Your Ideas Recorded, Typeset,
Published, Read and Appreciated
A
handbook of advice for scholars publishing mathematical research.
|
|