Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media (2007)
- Encyclopedia of Psychology (2000)
Note: In INDEX, see Media Effects
Statistics ▲
- National Institute on Media and the Family: Facts
- National Institute on Media and the Family: Fact Sheet
- National Institute on Media and the Family: Reports
- National Center for Children Exposed to Violence: Statistics: Violence in the Media
- KFF: TV Violence
- KFF: Children and Video Games
- Substance Use in Popular Movies and Music (1999)
- Substance Use in Popular Prime-Time Television (2000)
Books▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television and children
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television programs for children law and legislation
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television programs rating
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: mass media and children
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: violence in mass media
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: violence on television
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: violence on television law and legislation
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television advertising and children
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television advertising law and legislation united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: television censorship
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: violence in popular culture
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: video games psychological aspects
- Library Catalog KEYWORDS: children television violence
Books of note:
- Children and television: fifty years of research (2007) [bibliography]
- Sesame Street and the reform of children's television (2007)
- The Faces of Televisual Media: Teaching Violence, Selling to Children (2003)
- Kid Stuff: Marketing Sex and Violence to America's Children (2003)
- Online: Children's Internet Protection Act: Report on the Effectiveness of Internet Protection Measures and Safety Policies (2003) Summary | Full report
- Online: An Examination of the Entertainment Industry's Efforts to Curb Children's Exposure to Violence Content (2001)
- Abandoned in the Wasteland: Children, Television, and the First Amendment (1995)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Articles of note:
For help using ProQuest Newspapers, Academic Search Premier, LexisNexis, or ABI, inquire at the Reference Desk.
- "Exposure of US Adolescents to Extremely Violent Movies." Pediatrics,
August 2008. v. 122, no. 2. pp. 306-312. Available in Academic Search Premier.
-
Free online:
Your Child: Television [Univ. of Michigan reports]
Web site with reports on children and TV, TV and brain development, TV violence, fear and trauma from TV shows, TV and school performance, TV and children's attitudes, and more. From University of Michigan Health System.
- Free online:
What Goes In
Must Come Out: Children's Media Violence Consumption at Home and Aggressive
Behaviors at School (2002) [National Institute on Media and the Family
report]
- "The Effects of Media Violence on Society."
Science, 3/29/2002. Vol. 295 issue 5564, p. 2377. 2 p. 1 graph.
Available in Academic Search Premier. Print: PERIODICALS Q1 .S28.
- "Television Viewing and Aggressive Behavior During Adolescence and
Adulthood." Science, 3/29/2002. Vol. 295 Issue 5564, p2468, 4p.
Available in Academic Search Premier. Print: PERIODICALS Q1 .S28.
- "Effects of Violent Video Games on Aggressive Behavior, Aggressive
Cognition, Aggressive Affect, Physiological Arousal, and Prosocial Behavior: A
Meta-Analytic Review of the Scientific Literature." Psychological Science,
Sep 2001, Vol. 12 Issue 5, p353, 7p, 2 charts, 2 diagrams, 1 graph. For full
text, search Academic Search Premier by title. Print: PERIODICALS BF1 .P816.
- Related article:
"Adolescents' TV Watching Is Linked to Violent Behavior Psychology: A 17-year study tracked 700 young people into their adult lives. Hours of viewing were correlated with acts of aggression." Los Angeles Times, March 29, 2002, Page A-18.
- Related article:
- "TV News Distorts Nature of Violent Risk, Study Says," Los Angeles Times,
Home Edition, Saturday, December 1, 2001 Section B, Page 4.
- "Impact of Media on Children and Adolescents: A 10-Year Review of the
Research." Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry,
April 2001, v40 i4 p392. Available full text in Factiva.
- Exposure to Violence Among Urban School-Aged Children: Is It Only on
Television?" Pediatrics, October 2000, v106 i4 p949.
Online: Available full text on LexisNexis Academic. Print: PERIODICALS RJ1 .A45.
- "Tobacco and Alcohol Use Behavior Portrayed in Music Videos,"
American
Journal of Public Health, v87 n7 p1131-1135, July 1997. Available full text
on ABI/Inform. Print: PERIODICALS RA421 .A411.
- "Mass Media Effects on Violent Behavior," Annual Review of Sociology, v22 p103-128, 1996. Available in database Annual Reviews. Print: 5TH FLOOR SOUTH HM1 .A763 1996.
FTC Reports ▲
- FTC REPORT 2001 (December):
FTC Releases Second Follow-Up Report on the Marketing of Violent Entertainment to Children: Motion Picture and Electronic Game Industries Have Demonstrated Commendable Progress; Recording Industry Has Not Changed Target Marketing Practices, But Has Made Improvements in Other Areas - FTC REPORT 2001 (April):
Marketing Violent Entertainment to Children: A Six-month Follow-Up Review of Industry Practices in the Motion Picture, Music Recording & Electronic Game Industries: A Report to Congress - FTC REPORT 2000 (September 11, 2000):
Report on the Marketing of Violent Entertainment to Children
