Pollak Library à Research Guides à Research Guides by Subject
CSUF Logo

Military Science
Library Research Guide

Books     top

Books -- recommended subject headings:


Articles     top

Databases: Political Science [CSUF only]
Scholarly articles from peer-reviewed journals.

NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Center [free]
Full-text current reports from the U.S. Dept. of Justice on corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, victims, and more.

Justice Information Center Abstracts Database [free]
Indexes over 185,000 publications including government documents, books, research reports, articles, and unpublished reports. Search by title, author, subject, or NCJ number. Covers 1970's to current date. Some publications have links to full text; some provide abstracts only. Pollak Library owns some, but not all, of the publications indexed.


Journals     top

Find Journals by Title
Search by title of the journal to find out if we have access to print and/or electronic versions of the journal and how to access it.

Military Science Journals
Links to full-text online journals.

Current Military Science Journals Location
Aerospace Power Journal Internet
Approach: the Naval Safety Center's Aviation Magazine Internet and
DOCS/US D 202.13:
Armor: the Magazine of Mounted Warfare Internet
Army AL&T Internet
The Army Communicator Internet
The Army Lawyer Internet and
DOCS/US D 101.22:27-50
The DISAM Journal of International Security Assistance Management Internet
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine PERIODICALS TL693 .I117
IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems PERIODICALS  TL693 .I21
Infantry Internet
International Security Internet and 
PERIODICALS  JA1 .I65
Joint Force Quarterly: a Professional Military Journal Internet
The Journal of the American Military History Foundation Internet
The Journal of the American Military Institute Internet
The Journal of Military History Internet
The Leadership Quarterly Internet
Mech: the Naval Safety Center's Aviation Internet and
DOCS/US D 202.19:
Maintenance Magazine DOCS/US D 101.84:
Military Review Internet
Military Law Review DOCS/US D 101.22:27-100
Naval Aviation News Internet
The NCO Journal: a Quarterly Forum for Professional Development Internet
Parameters : Journal of the US Army War College Internet and 
DOCS/US D 101.72:
The Reporter DOCS/US D 302.11:
Science & Technology Review Internet and
DOCS/US E 1.53:
Technology Horizons: Selected Science and Technology Articles Internet
U.S. Active Duty Military Personnel Casualties Internet

Reference--Encyclopedias     top

Oxford Reference Online Premium [CSUF only]
Includes Oxford Companion to American Military History, Oxford Companion to Military History, Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military, and Oxford Companion to World War II.

Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
Search 185 encyclopedias in all disciplines, including history, biography, and social science.

The Acronym Book: Acronyms in Aerospace and Defense (1990)
REFERENCE TL509 .M67

Air Warfare: An International Encyclopedia (2002)
REFERENCE UG628 .A73

Defense and Foreign Affairs Handbook (1999)
4th Floor South UA 10 .D43
Military and defense data on every country in the world.

Defense and Security: A Compendium of National Armed Forces and Security Policies (2005)
REFERENCE  UA 10 .D432 2005 V.1-2
Review and analysis of global military and security policy. Scholarly essays by experts covering geopolitics, conflicts, alliance structure, military size and budget, and more. Key statistics. Chronology of important security events from 1945-2004. Index.

Dictionary of Military Terms (2004)
REFERENCE  U24 .B68 2004

Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II (1999)
REFERENCE  D843 .C568 1999

Encyclopedia of Leadership (2004)
REFERENCE HD57.7 .E53 2004 V.1-4

Encyclopedia of the American Military: Studies of the History, Traditions, Policies, Institutions, and Roles of the Armed Forces in War and Peace (1994)
REFERENCE  UA 23 .E56 V.1-3

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History (2000)
REFERENCE  DS557.7 .E53 2000   

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict (1999) 
REFERENCE  HM 291 .E625 V.1-3
Especially useful for an overview of Military Studies and encyclopedia articles on terrorism, psychological effects of combat, veterans, social theories of war and peace, territorial disputes, war crimes, military tactics, evolution of weaponry and many other  topics.

Encyclopedia of Wars (2005)
REFERENCE  D25 .A2 P49 2005 V.1-3

National Archives: Information on Specific Wars [free] new
Links to National Archives publications on the American Revolution, War of 1812, Mexican War, Civil War, Spanish American War, Philippine Insurrection, Boxer Rebellion, World War I, World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War.

National Archives: Military Resources [free]new
Links to military reference materials, military history and research, and to specific resources by branch of service or by military engagement.

Naval Warfare: An International Encyclopedia (2002)
REFERENCE  V23 .N32 V.1-3
People, wars, ships, battles, and operations who have influenced the development of naval warfare. 

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World (2001)
REFERENCE  JA 61 .O95 2001
Arranged in a dictionary fashion, this book is a guide to international relations and national domestic politics throughout the world. It includes biographies, concepts, conventions, treaties, international law, forms of government, historical events, international issues, international organizations, and domestic issues. Especially useful are the articles in individual countries.


Reference--Biographies     top

To find books on specific persons:
    1) Search the Library Catalog by the person's name as a Subject.
    2) Search the Library Catalog by the person's name as a Keyword.

Oxford Reference Online Premium [CSUF only]
Includes Oxford Companion to American Military History, Oxford Companion to Military History, Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military, and Oxford Companion to World War II.

Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
Search 185 encyclopedias in all disciplines, including history, biography, and social science.

Amazons to Fighter Pilots: A Biographical Dictionary of Military Women (2003)
REFERENCE  U52 .A44
Biographical information on women soldiers and women sailors.

American Military Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present (1999)
REFERENCE  E181 .F84 V.1-2

Dictionary of American Military Biography (1984)
REFERENCE  U52 .D53 1984  V.1-3


Reference--Statistics     top

World Fact Book [CIA] [annual] (free)
Arranged by country. For every country, gives statistics on military service age and obligation, manpower avilable for military service, military expenditures in dollars, military expenditures per GDP, plus data on government, economy, and more.

SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament [annual]
REFERENCE 
UA10 .I551  2007 
Descriptions of major conflicts, military spending/expenditure data, arms production, names of major arms-producing companies, sale of weapons, traffic in nuclear and radioactive materials, and chemical and biological weapons development. Published by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. The most current edition is kept in Reference. Older editions, which begin with 1972, are kept on the 4th floor of Library South under the same call number. 

Statistical Abstract of the United States [online] [free]
See SECTION: National Security & Veterans Affairs for defense outlays and military personnel and expenditures. The sources of statistics are listed and can lead the user to further data. The library owns this annual book in print back to 1878.

Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1500-2000 (2002)
REFERENCE  D214 .C54 2002

U.S. Active Duty Military Personnel Casualties [online] [free]


Reference--Directories     top

United States Government Manual [online] (free)
Note: After clicking on above link, scroll down to Department of Defense.
List of principal offcials, summary statement of agency's purpose and role in the Federal Government, brief history of the agency including its legislative or executive authority, description of programs and activities. Organizational chart.

Federal Regional Yellow Book: Who's Who in the Federal Government's Departments, Agencies, Courts, Diplomatic Missions, Military Installations and Service academies outside of Washington, DC
REF DESK JK 6 .F425
Updated twice yearly, companion book to Federal Yellow Book.

Federal Yellow Book: Who's Who in Federal Department and Agencies
REF DESK  JK 6 F45
Updated twice yearly. Divided into three sections: Executive Office of the President, office of the Vice President, departments, and independent agencies.

Political Handbook of the World [annual]
REFERENCE JK 37 .P6 [latest]


Reference--Career Information     top

Occupational Outlook Handbook [online] (free)
Of special note in the 2006/07 edition is the section Job Opportunities in the Armed Forces. Published annually and contains advice for people who are investigating all types of careers. Job descriptions, outlook, expected earnings, working conditions, required training and the types of advancement. It is freely available online to the general public.

Financial Aid for Veterans, Military Personnel, and their Dependents
REFERENCE  UB 403 .F47 2006-2008


Web Sites--Recommended Web Sites     top


Web Sites--Evaluating Web Sites     top
There are many Web sites that contain information of interest to students of Military Science. However, there are no rules governing what can be published on the Web. In addition to authoritative publications, the Internet contains information which may not be true, is a sales pitch, is biased, or is designed for children. When searching on the Web, first of all you must evaluate each site individually.

Following are basic Web site evaluation criteria. For more detailed guidelines, see: Six Criteria for Evaluating a Web Site

AUTHORITY The page lists the author credentials and its domain is preferred (.edu, .org, .gov or .mil would be preferred).
OBJECTIVITY The page provides accurate and objective information.
ACCURACY The page lists the author and institution that published the page and provides a way of contacting him/her.
CURRENCY The page is current and updated regularly (as stated on the page) and the links (if any) are also up-to-date.
CONTENT/ RELEVANCY The page meets your research needs, is college level, and the subject is adequately covered.
AESTHETICS The page has a balance of images and graphics, is visually appealing.

Web Sites--Citing Web Sites     top

APA: Handout | REF DESK: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
                          REF DESK: APA Style Guide to Electronic References new 

MLA: Handout | REF DESK: MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 

Chicago: Handout | REF DESK: Chicago Manual of Style

Turabian: REF DESK: A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations

General: REF DESK: Electronic Styles: A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information     

This guide was created by Cynthia Bruns, CBruns@fullerton.edu, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton (2002-2006).
Updated and maintained by
Catherine Kaye (2006-present).
Questions and comments about this guide are welcomed.
Last updated: 04/30/08