|
|
Note: Use your browser's
EDIT/Find command to quickly locate keywords
such as child support, dropout, foster care, health
insurance, homeless, race, projections, reading habits, runaway, teen
births, television viewing, welfare recipients,
or WIC
in the descriptions of resources listed below.
|
Aged |
- Profile of Older
Workers in California (2004)
PDF-24 pages
- Discussion and statistics on issues concerning older workers:
compensation packages, which industries are most affected, which
industries have job opportunities, how much do older workers earn, and
more.
-
- Condition of Older Adults 2003
[Orange County]
Online:
Section 1 |
Section 2 |
Section 3 |Section
4
-
- Condition of Older
Adults 2002
[Orange County]
top
-
Geographic Level: Orange County
- Print: DOCS DESK ORCO A340
C66 2002
- Online:
PDF-134 pages
- Longevity/life expectancy, race/ethnicity, geographic distribution,
educational attainment, lifelong learning, economic indicators (income,
poverty), housing, transportation, civil and social engagement, health
status, health care coverage, and more.
|
|
Aged—Long
Term Care |
-
Rand California:
Long Term Care
[CSUF only]
top
- This database reports information on California’s long-term
care facilities and the patients they serve. For example, use this
database to compare the number of long-term care facilities per 100,000
population across counties. The database begins in 1990.
|
|
Child Abuse |
-
Child
Abuse Referral Reports for California
- State and county data (all counties in California).
-
Children Youth and Families Budget and Data Report: 2005-2006
[Los Angeles] (2006) PDF-84 pages
- Details the City of LA's budget for 222 programs serving children,
youth and families, along with data on 5 indicators of well-being.
Indicators, given by city council district, include: health (prenatal
care, birth weight), safety/survival (child abuse referrals, mortality
rates), economic well-being (percentage in poverty), social-emotional
well-being (teen births, television watching), and
achievement/workforce readiness (high school dropout rates). The
report also includes policy recommendations and a detailed description
of programs.
-
CalWorks Children in the County of Los Angeles
(2005) PDF-28 pages
-
Portrait of children in CalWORKS in LA County in 2003. Includes: a
demographic profile (by supervisorial district, age, ethnicity/race,
language spoken, type of household), program characteristics (length of
time in program, child care, rules & penalties, parents sanctioned), and
issues of well-being (teen pregnancy, child abuse, proportion in LA
County schools, drop out rates, health coverage). Also includes an
overview of caseload and poverty trends in LA County.
-
Status of Children Ages 0-5 (2005) [OCHNA] PDF-155 pages
- Population characteristics, birth/death data, health care resources,
health care access, prenatal/maternal behaviors/ child safety (child
abuse), school readiness, and more. Discussion and statistics)
.
-
Los Angeles
Almanac
- Geographic
Levels: State, County (Los Angeles), City (Los Angeles)
- In SEARCH box, type term such as
child abuse or
foster care. This web site retrieves
information and statistics from Los Angeles county and city agencies
such as Los Angeles County Department of Children's & Family Services
and the Los Angeles Police Department. Some charts gives comparative
data for state and county.
-
Orange County Community Indicators [ANNUAL]
top
- Print:
CATALOG RECORD
- Online:
INTERNET VERSION
(1999-2005 editions--scroll
down to list of reports)
Image Survey: Orange County strengths, challenges, and trends.
Education:
health status, child care quality and affordability, prenatal care,
causes of death for children under five, immunization rates, physical
fitness of children, health-insurance coverage, illicit drug use, and
mental health. Public Safety: child
abuse.
|
|
Child
Care |
National Child Care Information Center
Child Care State Information (statistics for California and all
50 states)
Child Care Information
Database (statistics by state)
2005 Child Care Portfolio
[California Childcare Resource and
Referral Network]
Geographic Level: Orange County
and all 58 California Counties Evaluates childcare in California in relation
to: availability (number of infant, preschool, school age slots),
affordability (costs as percentage of family budget/cost of living),
children and family demographics (age of children, employment level,
education attainment, foreign born residents, language), and more.
Data is given on all of California's 58 counties.
-
Child Care Portfolios 2001, 2003, 2005
- A comprehensive
California statewide report in both narrative and graphic format
highlighting child care supply, demand, and cost issues in the context
of current policy, demographic and labor force trends. Includes 58
separate county level reports report in both narrative and graphic
format highlighting child care supply, demand, and cost issues in the
context of current policy, demographic and labor force trends.
-
- Lasting Returns: Strengthening California's Child Care and Development
System (2001)
- Geographic Level: California
- Online: Executive Summary
- Online: Full Report
PDF-40 pages
- This report provides an overview of California's child care system
and examines the state's subsidized system in detail. It reports that
nearly 280,000 children in California qualify for child care assistance
on the basis of income but do not receive it. Seven principal
recommendations are given.
-
Los Angeles County Child Care
Information & Resources Directory
- Report on the
capacity and demand for child care. Includes information on
nontraditional hours, special needs children, and county demographics.
|
|
Children |
California's Children: Just
the Facts
PDF-2
pages
top
- Fact sheet on
California's children.
Children Now report card 2006-07:
State of the
State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages
- (Obesity, health insurance, adolescent health, education, family
well-being--how California's children are faring and policy
recommendations in the areas of health, education and family
well-being.)
-
-
Children Youth and Families Budget and Data Report: 2005-2006
[Los Angeles] (2006) PDF-84 pages
- Details the City of LA's budget for 222 programs serving children,
youth and families, along with data on 5 indicators of well-being.
Indicators, given by city council district, include: health (prenatal
care, birth weight), safety/survival (child abuse referrals, mortality
rates), economic well-being (percentage in poverty), social-emotional
well-being (teen births, television watching), and
achievement/workforce readiness (high school dropout rates). The
report also includes policy recommendations and a detailed description
of programs.
-
- Conditions of Children in Orange
County, 2005 [11th Annual Report]
CATALOG RECORD
- Online:
INTERNET VERSION
Sections on Health, Economic Well-Being, Educational
Achievement, and Safe Homes & Communities. Special section on Physical Health of Children, including access to health care,
deaths, and anemia and overweight children.
-
- America's Children: Key
National Indicators of Well-Being [ChildStats]
top
- Geographic Level: U.S.
Print: DOCS/US PR 42.8:C 43
CATALOG RECORD
Online:
INTERNET VERSION Discussion and statistics on
Population and Family
Characteristics (population, race, difficulty speaking English,
family structure, births to unmarried women, child care, children's
environments), Economic Security
(poverty/income, parental
employment, housing, food, access to health care),
Health
(general health, limitations, immunizations, low birthweight, mortality,
teen births),
Behavior and Social Environment (cigarette smoking,
alcohol use, illicit drug use, youth victims), and
Education
(family reading, early childhood care, math and reading achievement,
high school courses, graduation, higher education). 2001 edition has a
special report on youth employment while in school.
-
- Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth
top
- Geographic Level: United States
- Online:
2003 INTERNET VERSION
Online:
2002 INTERNET
VERSION
- Print:
CATALOG RECORD
- Comprehensive statistics on key trends and important population
sub-group differences for 90 indicators of well-being. Data cover 1970's
to 1990's. Population, family structure, neighborhoods, poverty and
income, parental and youth employment, mortality, health conditions,
health insurance coverage, social development (voting behavior,
television viewing habits, arrest rates), behavioral health (seat belt
use, exercise, tobacco and substance abuse, sexual activity and
contraceptive use, teen pregnancy, teen births, teen abortion),
education (including reading habits and student computer use). Sources
of data are cited.
-
-
CalWorks Children in the County of Los Angeles
(2005) PDF-28 pages
-
Portrait of children in CalWORKS in LA County in 2003. Includes: a
demographic profile (by supervisorial district, age, ethnicity/race,
language spoken, type of household), program characteristics (length of
time in program, child care, rules & penalties, parents sanctioned), and
issues of well-being (teen pregnancy, child abuse, proportion in LA
County schools, drop out rates, health coverage). Also includes an
overview of caseload and poverty trends in LA County.
-
Status of Children Ages 0-5 (2005) [OCHNA] PDF-155 pages
- Population characteristics, birth/death data, health care resources,
health care access, prenatal/maternal behaviors/ child safety (child
abuse), school readiness, and more. Discussion and statistics)
.
-
Children with Special Health Care Needs
(2005) PDF-6 pages
- Statistics on children in L.A. County with special health care needs
(SHCN) such as asthma, diabetes, birth defects, cerebral palsy and
others. Statistics are broken down by: age group, ethnicity, income
level, service planning areas, language and gender. Includes links to
local children's health and family resources.
- WIC in the States:
Thirty-One Years of Building A Healthier America (2005)
- U.S. and state-level
data. WIC’s achievements in its 31 year history and its importance to
women, infants and children, documenting the growth in WIC participation
nationally and in each state and Indian Tribal Organization.
-
State
Profile of California: Data from the 2002 National Survey of America's
Families (2004) [Urban Institute]
- Detailed series of tables on economic security, child well-being,
child care, and health care. The tables compare California with the
nation as a whole on all of these measures.
- California's Young
Children: Demographic, Social, and Economic Conditions (2002)
top
- Online:
PDF-16 pages

- Excerpt: "Examines how the social and economic circumstances of
California's young children vary according to race and ethnicity,
nativity and immigrant generation, region, family structure, and
parents' education and workforce participation. Findings indicate that
young children in immigrant families , who make up almost half the
state's young child population, have the greatest needs but appear to be
under-enrolled in current programs." Social and economic indicators,
immigrant status of children by region, family structure by race and
ethnicity, workforce participation by race and ethnicity,
child care
arrangements, income, poverty, health insurance, public assistance,
bibliographic references. (November 2002)
-
Publications List: Children Now
- Children Now, a child advocacy organization,
makes its research reports on a variety of topics available to the
public.
-
-
Kids
Count Census Data Online
- Geographic Levels:
City,
County, State, U.S. Congressional Districts
- Data from Census 2000 on age, race,
Hispanic origin, and living arrangements.
-
- Starting
Points: Meeting the Needs of Our Youngest Children (1994)
- The report provides research evidence on the "quiet crisis" that
young children face, and it offers a comprehensive set of
recommendations to meet their needs. These include preparation for
responsible parenthood, improved preventive health and child care, and
stronger community supports for families. The report was influential in
the recent extension of the Head Start program to infants and toddlers.
Profiles of participating sites and coordinating organizations, the
program focus, major program components, and contacts.
|
|
Children--California Report
Cards |
California Report Card--Home Page-
Children Now: California Report Card 2008: The State of the
State’s Children
- Examines different aspects of childhood well-being
including Health (health insurance, oral health, obesity, asthma,
mental health, infant and adolescent health); Education (early
education, k-12 and after school); and Public Safety (crime,
juvenile justice, foster care, and more). Letter grades are given
to describe the state and progress of these categories of
well-being. General considerations for policy recommendations are
also provided.
-
- Children
Now report card 2006-07:
State of the
State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages
- (Obesity, health insurance, adolescent health, education, family
well-being--how California's children are faring and policy
recommendations in the areas of health, education and family
well-being.)
-
California Report Card 2005: An Assessment of Children's
Well-Being PDF-28 pages
- Assesses key
indicators of childhood well-being in California. Indicators
include: health (health & dental insurance coverage,
childhood obesity, childhood and adolescent health, teen birth rates,
juvenile arrests and incarceration rates, child abuse), family economic
security (income and food security), and education (early education,
K-12, after school activities. Includes policy recommendations.
-
-
California Report Card 2004: Children in Immigrant Families
PDF-48 pages
- Excerpt: "The California Report Card 2004 focuses on children in
immigrant families to help Californians better understand the lives of
almost half of California's children and families, about whom
stereotypes often prevail. It synthesizes new data on California's
children in immigrant families, spotlights innovative programs and
policies, and makes recommendations for improving children's well-being
across our state."
-
- California Report Card 2001- -report not
available but see
r elated article from
L.A.
Times:
-
"State's Children Facing Fewer
Risks, Study Says: Safety:
Annual survey reports declines in child abuse, gun injuries and teen
births. School performance remains a cause for concern,"
Los Angeles Times, Wednesday, November 28, 2001, Home Edition, Part
2 Page 3. For full
text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
This article summarizes findings from the California Report Card 2001
providing discussion and statistics ("The numbers of Los Angeles County
children in foster care dropped to 13.1 per 1,000 in 2001, from 18.7 in
1997. The number of gun injuries decreased from 415 in 1997 to 282 in
1999, while 113 gun deaths were recorded in 1999 compared with 145 in
1997. The county also recorded sharp drops in child abuse cases, with
53.1 reports per 1,000 in 2000 compared with 71.2 reports in 1996.
Meanwhile, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and San Bernardino counties
all showed increases in the numbers of expectant mothers receiving
prenatal care.").
|
|
Cost of Raising a Family |
-
Making Ends
Meet: How Much Does it Cost to Raise a Family in California? 2007
PDF-28 pages
- Geographic Levels: State, Metropolitan Areas
Estimates the cost of a basic standard of living in California for
four family types. It calculates annual family budgets and hourly
wages needed to cover costs of housing and utilities, child care,
transportation, food, health coverage, payroll and income taxes, and
miscellaneous expenses, but does not account for savings, vacations
or emergencies. Because the cost of living varies across
California, the report also provides detailed budgets for the four
family types in 10 regions in the state, including Los Angeles
County.
Related article: "Parenthood Can Be a Costly Venture" [statistics on costs of
raising a child to age 18], Orange County Register, January 3, 2004. For
full text, search
ProQuest Newspapers
by Article Title.
|
|
Demographics |
-
Demographic
Profiles [CENSUS 2000]
top
- Geographic levels: U.S.,
California, All Counties, All Cities, All Congressional Districts
- Note: For a congressional
district, select CALIFORNIA and then type just the number of
the district in the next box: 39
Sex, age, detailed race, Hispanic origin, household
data, education, marital status, grandparents as caregivers, detailed
ancestry, employment status, commuting to work, occupation by broad
category, income, poverty status, disability status, housing, heating
fuel, monthly homeowner costs, rent as percent of income, and more.
|
|
Domestic
Violence |
- Prevalence of Domestic Violence in California
(2002)
top
- Print: DOCS DESK CALIF L960 V56
- Online:
PDF-74 pages
- Discussion and statistics on domestic violence in California.
-
- Domestic Violence, Alcohol, & Welfare:
Connecting Different Worlds: Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug, and
Family Violence Services in CalWORKs
(August 2001) PDF-58
Pages
top
-
"It has been over three years since California
started implementation of welfare reform, officially known as the
California Work Opportunities and Responsibility for Kids Act. Since the
enactment of the law in 1997, 42 percent of welfare recipients have
found jobs, unemployment dropped to the lowest rates in decades, and the
state's welfare rolls have dropped by 43
percent. However, questions remain about the "hard
to serve" clients with multiple barriers to
employment - many of whom probably need
multiple services to succeed in the workplace. This paper focuses on the
hard-to-serve population - those whose
mental health, alcohol and other drug, or family violence issues may act
as barriers to employment. The paper examines prevalence data and
barriers to service. It also discusses exemplary local programs and
provides policy options for county service integration, funding and
allocation issues." -Excerpt.
-
- Toolkit to End Domestic Violence
- This publication does not address California needs specifically. To
provide concrete guidance to communities, policy leaders, and
individuals engaged in activities to end violence against women, the
National Advisory Council on Violence Against Women developed the Toolkit To End Violence Against Women.
Each chapter focuses on a
particular audience or environment and includes recommendations for
strengthening prevention efforts and improving services and advocacy for
victims.
|
|
Drug &
Alcohol Abuse |
-
Community Indicators of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Risk
top
- Geographic Level: County [Orange County,
Los Angeles County, and all other California counties]
Data on 26
community indicators, including measures of risk factors associated
with alcohol and other drug use, measures of overall substance use
prevalence, and measures of the consequences associated with problem
use. Includes six-year trends with state and county-level comparisons.
One report for each county.
-
-
State
Estimates of Persons Needing But Not Receiving Substance Abuse
Treatment, 2002
- The NSDUH Report
provides data on the substance abuse treatment gap by States. Estimates
are provided separately for alcohol and for illicit drug use. Estimates
of need are based on responses to problems that met the DSM-IV criteria
for substance dependence or abuse. These data are based on SAMHSA's 2002
National Survey on Drug Use and Health.
See
Prevalence of Drug and
Alcohol Abuse in California
See
RAND California: Drug
and Alcohol Use Statistics [CSUF ONLY] |
|
Education |
Education
Needs Index This website provides an Education Needs
Index (ENI) for all 3,140 counties in the United States. The index is a
measurement of current socio-economic forces that influence education
conditions for each county. Indicators that make up the index are based
on the following categories: education (such as percent of residents
with a high school degree, college degree), economics (such as
unemployment rate, per capita income), market factors (such as projected
population growth), and population factors (such as percent of
population over 44). In addition, the site also allows for comparisons
across states regarding poverty, college attainment, the unemployment
rate and more. |
|
Foster Care |
Statistics:
Children in Public Foster Care Awaiting Adoption
Statistics:
Foster Care FY 1999-2003: Entries, Exits, and Numbers of Children In Care
on the Last Day of Each Federal Fiscal Year
- Foster Care Fundamentals: Overview of California's Foster Care System
(2001)
PDF-62 pages
top
- Discussion and statistics on foster care role
and responsibilities, characteristics of foster children, shelter care,
kinship care, group care, placements, adoption, transitions from foster
care, costs of foster care, policy and practices. This is a California
Research Bureau report.
-
-
Steps
to Independent Living
(L.A. County Emancipation Services and Independent Living
Program)
-
A site for current and former foster youth
from L.A. and Orange County.
-
This website lists resources for current and
former foster youth living in L.A. County. The resources include:
housing assistance, job and career planning, education/vocational
training information, legal services, counseling/crisis support
information, guides to healthcare access, life skills management, and
others.
-
- Helping Those Whoe Need
it Most: Meeting the Mental Health Care Needs of Youth in the Foster
Care and Juvenile Justice Systems
(2005) PDF-72 pages
- Introduction: "Young people who are
transitioning out of the foster care and juvenile justice systems often
have serious mental health needs. They can have many strikes against
them: families with histories of violence, mental illness, incarceration
and/or substance abuse; learning disabilities or neurological
conditions; and histories of abuse, neglect or trauma. Some have been
driven into the juvenile justice system, or onto the streets, because of
undiagnosed or inadequately treated psychiatric problems. These hard
lives can result in mental health needs that the foster care and
juvenile justice systems struggle to address, with limited success. Why
do efforts to provide mental health services to these young people so
often fall short? What can be done to improve the system? This report,
by author and journalist Nell Bernstein, explores these questions and
proposes some answers from young people who have experienced the system
from the inside, and from practitioners who work with them."
|
|
Health
Insurance |
2007 Overview of the Uninsured Orange County PDF-28 pages

-
Ninety Years
of Health Insurance Reform Efforts in California (2007) PDF-65 pages

-
-
California 2006/07 Report Card:
State of the
State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages
- Health insurance and other indicators with analysis on how
California's children are faring and policy recommendations in the
areas of health, education and family well-being.
-
-
What
Does it Take for a Family to Afford to Pay for Health Care?
(2007)
PDF-14 pages

-
- Health Insurance Coverage Fact Sheets for California Counties and
Regions

- County and regional profiles.
-
-
Snapshot: California's Uninsured 2005
- Health insurance coverage sources and trends; employer-based
coverage and uninsured population trends; likelihood of coverage by
ethnicity, age, and income; and uninsured rates for noncitizens.
Spreadsheets containing the detailed data from the Employee Benefit
Research Institute’s analysis of the Current Population Survey, from
which this graphical snapshot is drawn, are also available.
-
Decline in Job Based Health Care Coverage in the United States and
California: A Crisis for Working Families
(2006) [UC Berkeley Labor Center]
-
Summary PDF
-
Evaluates
extent of employer based health coverage in the US and
California. Information on: coverage demographics (by
race/ethnicity, age, education, gender, income levels) type (public,
private, employer- based), coverage trends (from 2000 to projected
trends of 2010), implications for continued decline in coverage, and
more.
-
- Income,
Poverty, and Health Insurance
- Geographic Levels: United States, State
(one table of state data)
Uninsured by race/ethnicity, age, nativity (foreign-born), household
income, education, and years of work experience.
2004 edition:
Highlights
2003 edition:
PDF-77 pages
|
Highlights
- "Number of Uninsured in Question Health Care: UCLA
study finds the total of state residents without coverage is
significantly lower than federal census figures indicate."
Los Angeles Times, June 20, 2002, Page B-1.
- This article focuses on California residents without health
insurance. Discussion and statistics. For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
|
|
Health
Needs |
-
Health
Snapshots (January 2008)
-
Geographic Levels:
County, regional Key health related indicators such as rates of heart
disease, diabetes, cancer, health insurance coverage, food
insecurity and more. Data are available by county and also by
Service Planning Areas (SPAs) for LA County. LA County data can
also be compared to other counties as well as the state.
-
-
Health and Well-Being of Children: A Portrait of States and the
Nation: 2005
-
Statistics on health
status, health care, and additional socio-economic indicators.
-
-
Improving Children's Health: Understanding Children’s Health
Disparities and Promising Approaches to Address Them (2006)
PDF-93 pages
-
Profile of racial/ethnic and
socio-economic health disparities of children using data from the
National Health Interview Survey. Includes data on: unmet
medical/dental needs, insurance coverage, overall health, infant
mortality, immunizations, chronic conditions (obesity, asthma),
lead poisoning and more. The report also contains community
strategies and public policy practices meant to reduce health
disparities among children.
-
- Key Indicators of Health by Service Planning Area
2002/2003 (2004) [Los Angeles County Department of Health Services]
PDF-16 pages
- Data on over 60 health indicators for Los Angeles County and each of
the eight Service Planning Areas (SPAs). Indicators by SPA include
alcohol and drug use, poverty, neighborhood safety, TV viewing, child
care, parental support, disability, obesity, insurance status, prenatal
care, depression, AIDS, teen births, cancer mortality, suicide,
homicide, and many more.
-
- County Health Status Profiles
top
- Geographic Levels: State County
Online:
Health Status Profiles
Print: CATALOG
RECORD Causes of Death (motor vehicle crashes, firearm injuries, homicide,
suicide, cancer, breast cancer, health disease, drug-related deaths),
Morbidity Indicators (AIDS, measles, Tuberculosis, syphilis), Infant
Mortality by Race/Ethnicity, Natality (low birthweight, teen births,
prenatal care), Breastfeeding, Persons Under 18 Below Poverty.
-
- Health Data Summaries for California
Counties top
- Geographic Levels: State, County
- Print: CATALOG
RECORD
- For state and for each county, gives 165 health and sociodemographic
indicators: Population Projected to 2010 and 2020, Population by Age, by
Sex, by Race/Ethnicity, Median Family Income, Population Below Poverty
Level by Age and by Race/Ethnicity, Housing Value, Unemployment,
Education, Births by Education of Mother & Father, Births by Age (teen
births), Prenatal Care, Births by Race/Ethnicity, Deaths by Age, Deaths
by Cause, Fetal and Neonatal Deaths by Race/Ethnicity, Communicable
Diseases, AIDS, Substance Abuse, Drug-Related Deaths, Homicide by
Weapons, Medi-Cal Abortions.
-
- Orange Countywide Health Needs Assessment
top
- Geographic Level: Orange County
- Print: CATALOG
RECORD
- Online: PDF-441
pages
Major report on Orange County's needs. County
Profile, Access to Health Care, Behavioral/Mental Health, Major
Diseases, Health Risk Behaviors (includes alcohol and drug use, tobacco,
sexual behavior, teen births, STD's, AIDS), Injury Prevention, and
Mortality.
NOTE: CSUF owns the
1999 Report
in print.
Fall 2000 Report
including
Executive Summary: A Closer Look
with further in-depth analysis of OCHNA data by age, race/ethnicity,
income and region is now available online: |
|
Homeless |
Los
Angeles County:
Changes in Homelessness, Supportive Housing, and Tenant
Characteristics Since 2005 PDF-31 pages
Changes in numbers of people homeless (total, chronic, and disabled),
who is being served by permanent supportive housing (single adults,
families, as well as where they came from, for example, street or
shelter), what government agencies and funding streams have done since
the initial report, and more.
Cities:
Hunger and Homelessness Survey (December 2007) PDF-72 pages
[city profiles of homelessness including Los Angeles, Santa Monica,
and San Francisco]
Homeless Counts in Major US Cities and Counties 2005 PDF-4 pages
(2006)
- Los Angeles County:
Dying without Dignity: Homeless Deaths in Los Angeles County:
2000-2007 PDF-44 pages
(2008)
Nature and prevalence of death among homeless
individuals from 2000 to 2007 in LA County. Demographics (ethnicity,
gender, age), causes of deaths, geographic distribution and
more. Comparisons to other major metro areas. Policy recommendations
on preventing deaths among homeless in LA County.
-
Homeless Populations and Subpopulations (2005) PDF-1 page
United Way of Greater Los Angeles: Housing & Homelessness
- Homelessness in California (2001)
top
- Research Brief
PDF-2 pages
- Full report
PDF-114 pages
-
- Education for Homeless Children and Youth
Program (2002)
Go to
CATALOG RECORD and click on
Access on Internet.
-
-
Recommendation of the Interagency Task
Force on Homelessness: Prepared for Governor Gray Davis (2002)
PDF-105 pages
- The task force attempted to provide a plan addressing homelessness
prevention using risk-assessment tools with a goal of integrating
services and providing programs to the homeless in California over the
next ten years.
-
- "The Region; Housing, Job Pinch Increases
O.C.'s Homeless; Economy: Experts say the ranks are up 17% in a year"
- Article in Los Angeles Times,
Home Edition, August 16, 2002, Page B-7. For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
|
|
Homeless Children
|
-
Homeless
Children [California]
top
|
|
Immigration |
- California Report Card 2004: Children in Immigrant Families
PDF-48 pages
- Excerpt: "The California Report Card 2004 focuses on children in
immigrant families to help Californians better understand the lives of
almost half of California's children and families, about whom
stereotypes often prevail. It synthesizes new data on California's
children in immigrant families, spotlights innovative programs and
policies, and makes recommendations for improving children's well-being
across our state."
-
- California's
Demographic Future (2003) PDF-13
pages
- Discussion and statistics on the next decade. Covers
aging, immigration, policy and more.
-
-
Metropolitan Magnets for International
and Domestic Migrants
(2003) [Brookings Institution]
- Immigration
to the
81 largest metro areas, including Los Angeles, with
educational achievement and race/ethnicity data.
-
- Demographic Future for
California: Projections 1970 to 2020 that Include a Growing Immigrant
Population with Changing Needs and Impacts (2001) [USC]
PDF-49 pages
- Age, sex, race/ethnicity data for
native-born and foreign-born population in California providing
projections for public policy planners.
-
- Immigrants,
Diversity, & Age:
Major Demographic Shifts Occurring in California
(1999) [CRB]
PDF-10 pages
top
- Geographic
Level: State
- Concise
10-page report on the four major demographic trends (natural increase in
population, migration (domestic and international), increase in
diversity, and increase in persons 65 years and over) and charts on
population growth 1941-1998, ethnic diversity 1970-2020, births by
ethnicity 1990-1996, and persons 65+ 1970-2020. Published by the
California Research Bureau. Available at
www.library.ca.gov/CRB/99/notes/v6n5.pdf .
|
|
Los Angeles Orange County Statistics |
-
United Way of Greater Los Angeles Research Catalog
- Links to reports on AIDS, Children, Crime, Demographics, Health
Insurance, Homeless, Housing, Immigration, Income, Poverty, Race,
Welfare, and more.
-
-
Los Angeles
Almanac
- Geographic
Levels: State, County (Los Angeles), City (Los Angeles)
- In SEARCH box, type term such as child abuse or
foster care. This web site retrieves
information and statistics from Los Angeles county and city agencies
such as Los Angeles County Department of Children's & Family Services
and the Los Angeles Police Department. Some charts gives comparative
data for state and county.
- Los
Angeles County: 2004 Children's Score Card (2004)
PDF-34 pages
- Health,
family, income, school readiness.
-
- "Prospects
for O.C.'s Youth on the Rise: Statistics on gang violence, teen pregnancy
and abuse improve. But indications of increased child poverty still worry
one county official." Los Angeles Times, September 24, 2003,
Wednesday, Orange County Edition, Part 2 Page 3. For full text, search
Los Angeles Times database by Article Title.
|
|
Need Indicators
|
-
Health Snapshots
(January 2008)
-
Geographic Levels:
County, regional Key health related indicators such as rates of heart
disease, diabetes, cancer, health insurance coverage, food
insecurity and more. Data are available by county and also by
Service Planning Areas (SPAs) for LA County. LA County data can
also be compared to other counties as well as the state.
-
-
Orange County Community Indicators [ANNUAL]
top
- Print:
CATALOG RECORD
- Online:
INTERNET VERSION
(1999-2005 editions--scroll
down to list of reports)
Image Survey: Orange County strengths, challenges, and trends.
Senior Well-Being :
baby boomers issues. Economic and Business
Climate: tourism, spending, world trade, consumer confidence
index, per capita income, housing demand and affordability, average
commute times, jobs by industry, high-technology cluster diversity.
Technology & Innovation:
e-commerce, patent
grants and venture capital, computers in schools, technology-related
degrees. Education:
health status, child care quality and affordability, prenatal care,
causes of death for children under five, immunization rates, physical
fitness of children, health-insurance coverage, illicit drug use, and
mental health. Public Safety: child
abuse, crime rate, gang-related crimes, hate crimes.
Environment :
coastal water quality, recreational resources, air quality, water use
and supply.
-
s age 10-14, adolescent suicides, reported runaways. California
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs.
|
|
Nutrition |
-
State of the States 2006: A Profile of Food and Nutrition Programs
Across the States (2006) PDF-146
pages
-
Geographic
Level: U.S., 100 50 states
This report examines food and nutrition programs for the states.
Participation rates, changes over time and other data by state on: the
Food Stamp Program, child nutrition (WIC, school lunch, breakfast and
summer programs, the Child and Adult Care Food Program), Emergency Food
Assistance Program, and the Commodity Supplemental Food Program are
included. Hunger and poverty data are also provided for the US and
individual states.
-
-
Nutrition Services Division
[California Dept. of Education] top
- Geographic
Levels: State, County
- Statistics including
County Profiles on school lunch programs including number of breakfasts
and lunches serviced, free/reduced price meals, percent of students
eating meals at school, average prices, costs, and sources of funding.
-
-
Preventing Childhood Obesity [Los Angeles] (2007) PDF-12 pages
 - Examines the relationship between childhood obesity, economic
hardship and availability of open spaces in dozens of LA County
cities and communities. Childhood obesity rates are ranked and
comparisons with each community are provided. General
recommendations on what communities and cities can do to reduce
obesity rates are presented.
- Food
Stamp Access in Urban America: A City by City Snapshot
(2005) PDF-32 pages
- Food stamp usage in 25 of America's largest metropolitan areas. Includes
food stamp participation (usage rates, trends and enrollment gaps),
characteristics of program participants, practices to expand food stamp
access, an overview of hunger in US cities, and more.
- WIC in the States:
Thirty-One Years of Building A Healthier America (2005)
- Geographic
Levels: U.S., State
- U.S. and state-level
data. WIC’s achievements in its 31 year history and its importance to
women, infants and children, documenting the growth in WIC participation
nationally and in each state and Indian Tribal Organization.
-
-
Women, Infants, & Children
[WIC] top
- Geographic
Level: United States
- WIC's mission is
to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to
age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to
supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health
care. This website has full-text reports and studies on related topics
including nutrition, breastfeeding.
|
|
Poverty |
-
Child Poverty in California
(2006)
[PPIC]
- Trends, race, county data.
-
-
Poverty in California (2006)
[PPIC]
- Trends, race, county data.
-
-
Dynamics of Economic Well-Being: Participation in Government
Programs, 2001-2003: Who Gets Assistance? (2006) PDF-26 pages
- U.S.-level data only (no state-level data). Statistics by race,
age, and more.
-
-
Demographic
Profiles
[CENSUS 2000]
top
- Geographic levels: U.S.,
California, All Counties, All Cities, All Congressional Districts
- Note: For poverty,
while viewing report for a city, county, or state, scroll down to page 3
(just below INCOME data).
-
-
American Community Survey: Orange County 2002
- Scroll down to POVERTY. This report updates the Census 2000
report on Orange County and discusses several social and economic
indicators. For similar reports on other areas go to
American Community Survey Data Profiles.
|
|
Preschool--Economics
of |
-
The Economics of
Investing in Universal Preschool Education in California (2005)
- Analysis of the economic
returns from investing in high-quality preschool education in the state
of California.
|
|
Race &
Ethnicity |
- Portrait of Race
and Ethnicity in California: An Assessment of Social and Economic
Well-Being (2001)
- Geographic levels: State, County (limited data)
- Print:
CATALOG RECORD
- Differences in socioeconomic status by race/ethnicity and how
patterns have changed over time.
Demographics
(population by race/ethnicity 1970-1998, projections by race/ethnicity
1990-2040), Geographic Distribution
(race/ethnicity by county 1970-1998, migration patterns by
race/ethnicity 1985-1990),
Educational Outcomes
(race/ethnicity data 1980-1997),
Health Outcomes
(health insurance by race/ethnicity 1989-1997,
vaccinations, low birthweight, AIDS by race/ethnicity, death rates by
ethnicity), Labor Market Outcomes
(employment/unemployment by race/ethnicity 1979-1997, earnings and
occupations by race/ethnicity and sex),
Economic Outcomes
(income by
race/ethnicity, stock ownership by race/ethnicity 1970-1997, home
ownership, poverty rates),
Crime and
Criminal
Justice (arrests by ethnicity,
Three Strikes
inmates by race/ethnicity, race/ethnicity of California Superior Court
judges), Political Participation
(voters by race/ethnicity, party affiliations, number of elected
officials by race/ethnicity 1980-1998). Published by Public Policy
Institute of California.
|
|
Teen
Pregnancy |
- Teen Pregnancy and Parenting in California
(2005)
- California Dept. of Education web site with statistics on
teen pregnancy and parenting.
-
-
Teen Pregnancy and Sexually Transmitted Infections
[California Adolescent Health Collaborative]
- Data and discussion on prevention.
-
-
Maternity Before Maturity: Teen Birth
Rates in California (2003)
PDF-25 pages
-
- County Health Status Profiles
- Geographic Levels:
State, County
- Online:
2007
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
- in 2003 edition, see pages 51-52
-
- See
Rand California
[CSUF ONLY]
-
- See
Teenagers' Pregnancy Intentions and
Decisions: A Study of Young Women in California Choosing to Give Birth
[discussion and statistics] (1999)
-
-
City Data: The Right Start: Conditions of
Babies and Their Families in America's Largest Cities
- Geographic Level: Cities
top
- Click on City Profiles to see
statistics on teen births by ethnicity and maternal characteristics,
prenatal care, low birthweight, also Healthy Birth Index and Risk Index Based on Maternal Characteristics.
|
|
Vital
Statistics |
- Vital Statistics of California
top
- P rint:
CATALOG RECORD
- Online:
California Vital Statistics Data Tables
- Geographic Levels: State, County
- Comprehensive statistics statewide and selected county data. County
data includes Births by Race/Ethnicity and Age of Mother (teen births),
Births by Age of Father, Birth's by Race/Ethnicity of Mother, Births
Mother's Education, Births by Father's Education.
|
|
Welfare
Recipients |
- Results from the First
California Health and Social Services Survey
[RAND] (2004)
PDF-87
pages
- Evaluation of CalWORKS for the Department of Public Social Services
(DPSS) based on a household survey of nearly 3,000 welfare
recipients and leavers in six California counties, including Los
Angeles. Includes data on the respondents’ knowledge of CalWORKS,
attitude towards the program, earnings, income, poverty, hunger,
housing, child care, health, substance abuse, mental health, domestic
violence, and more.
|
|
Welfare, Domestic
Violence & Alcohol |
Connecting Different Worlds: Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug, and
Family Violence Services in CalWORKs
(August 2001) PDF-58
Pages
top
-
"It has been over
three years since California started implementation of welfare reform,
officially known as the California Work Opportunities and Responsibility
for Kids Act. Since the enactment of the law in 1997, 42 percent of
welfare recipients have found jobs, unemployment dropped to the lowest
rates in decades, and the state's welfare
rolls have dropped by 43 percent. However, questions remain about the
"hard to serve"
clients with multiple barriers to employment -
many of whom probably need multiple services to succeed in the
workplace. This paper focuses on the hard-to-serve population
- those whose mental health, alcohol and other drug, or family
violence issues may act as barriers to employment. The paper examines
prevalence data and barriers to service. It also discusses exemplary
local programs and provides policy options for county service
integration, funding and allocation issues." Excerpt.
|
AGENCIES
Nonprofit Agency:
United Way of Greater Los Angeles
Orange County Agencies
top
California Agencies
U.S. Agencies
Non-Government Agencies
Updated:
06/02/08
top
|