|







| |
Physics: Astronomy Reference
Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing,
consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks,
almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the icons below to link to the Library
Catalog
records and find the locations and call numbers of some useful resources.
Jump to: Atlases &
Field Guides |
Career Materials | Catalogs,
Almanacs, & Handbooks | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Research
| Atlases
& Field Guides |
 |
Cambridge
Guide to Stars and Planets
A field guide
to aid in observing the stars, planets, constellations, etc.
|
|
 |
The Cambridge
Star Atlas
Maps
designed to aid the beginning or advanced stargazer. Chapters
include "The Moon," "The Monthly Sky Maps,"
"The Star Charts," and "The All-Sky Maps."
|
|
 |
A Field
Guide to the Stars and Planets
A field guide
to aid in observing the stars, planets, constellations, etc.
|
|
 |
SkyAtlas 2000.0:
Twenty-Six Star Charts, Covering Both Hemispheres, and Seven Detailed Charts of
Selected Regions
Detailed
star charts including approximately 86,000 stars to visual magnitude 8.5
and about 2,700 deep sky objects.
|
|
 |
The Times
Atlas of the Moon
Detailed atlas
of the lunar terrain.
|
|
 |
Universe
Guide to Stars and Planets
A field guide
to aid in observing the stars, planets, constellations, etc.
|
| Career Materials |
 |
Graduate
Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields
Comparative information on
North American graduate programs in physics and astronomy. Also
includes a number of programs in nuclear engineering, electrical
engineering, chemical physics, materials science, meteorology,
geophysics, medical physics, and oceanography.
|
| Catalogs,
Almanacs, & Handbooks |
 |
The Concise
Planetary Ephemeris for 1950 to 2000 A.D. at Noon: Given at Noon
Ephemeris Time in True Longitudinal and True Declination Coordinates of
Date
Concise
tables giving data as per the title. Also includes charts of the
lunar phases for the same time period and diurnal proportional
logarithms.
|
|
 |
Sky
Catalogue 2000.0
Summarizes
the characteristics of over 45,000 stars of visual magnitude 8.05 or
brighter. Volume 1 includes information such as name, numbers in
standard catalogs, characteristics of location and motion, visual
characteristics, etc. Volume 2 gives additional data on double
stars, variable stars, and nonstellar objects.
|
|
 |
Space
Almanac : Facts, Figures, Names, Dates, Places, Lists, Charts, Tables,
Maps Covering Space from Earth to the Edge of the Universe
A
detailed resource of facts on astronauts and cosmonauts, space stations,
space shuttles, rockets, satellites, the solar system, and deep space.
Includes information such as the mission, the astronauts or cosmonauts,
date and duration of a launch; the foods available; who did a spacewalk
and why.
|
| Dictionaries
& Encyclopedias |
 |
The Astronomy and
Astrophysics Encyclopedia
Brief articles
on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics.
|
|
 |
A
Dictionary of Astronomy
Nearly
4000 terms useful to both amateur and professional astronomers.
Tables at the back provide details on Apollo lunar landing missions,
constellations, the Messier objects, etc.
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Astronomy and Astrophysics
Lengthy
articles on many aspects of astronomy and astrophysics.
|
|
 |
The
Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy
3500 terms for
the amateur astronomer or student of astronomy at the university
level. Tables at the back provide details on planets, satellites,
asteroids, astronomical and physical constants, etc.
|
|
 |
History of
Astronomy: an Encyclopedia
Articles on
historical and cultural aspects of astronomy from antiquity to the 1990s
spanning various cultures.
|
|
 |
McGraw-Hill
Dictionary of Astronomy
3400
terms in astronomy, astrophysics, and aerospace engineering.
Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations. Appendices include
conversion factors for the U.S. Customary System, metric system, and
International System; eclipses; details on planets, asteroids, meteor
showers, constellations, brightest and nearest stars, the Local Group of
galaxies, and telescopes.
|
|
 |
Scientific
and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations
A
dictionary of acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations used in scientific
and technical fields.
|
| Research
|
 |
AIP
Style Manual
American
Institute of Physics' guidance on writing papers for physics or
astronomy journals.
|
|
 |
Guide
to Information
Sources in the Physical Sciences
Guide to resources for
research in physics and astronomy. Focuses on the history of
publication in physics and the types of materials. Includes an
annotated bibliography of previous guides to physics and related
literature. Discusses abstracting and indexing databases, books,
journals, online sources (includes a list of job hunting resources),
patents, a-v materials, dissertations, grants, bibliographic management
tools, document delivery, copyright and reserves, etc.
|
|