|







| |
Physics: Physics Reference
Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing,
consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks,
almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the icons below to link to the Library
Catalog
records and find the locations and call numbers of some useful resources.
Jump to: Biography
| Career Materials | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Handbooks & Manuals | Research
| Biography |
 |
Biographical
Dictionary of Scientists. Physicists
Brief
biographical information on many physicists ranging in time from
Democritus (c.460-370 BC) to Val Lodgson Fitch and James Watson Cronin
who shared the 1980 Nobel Prize in Physics. |
|
 |
The
Nobel Prize Winners: Physics
Coverage
of the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics from 1901-1988.
Entries include a biography, description of the individual's scientific
career, and coverage of the award ceremony, including critical reception
of the presentation. |
| Career Materials |
 |
Graduate
Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields
Comparative information on
North American graduate programs in physics and astronomy. Also
includes a number of programs in nuclear engineering, electrical
engineering, chemical physics, materials science, meteorology,
geophysics, medical physics, and oceanography. |
| Dictionaries
& Encyclopedias |
 |
A
Dictionary of Physics
Covers physics,
including terms in astrophysics and physical chemistry. Also
includes some terms from astronomy, mathematics, metal science,
computing, and electronics. |
|
 |
Dictionary of
Physics
Covers all
aspects of physics. Many entries include useful diagrams, detailed
discussion, and/or worked examples. |
|
 |
Dictionary of
Physics and Mathematics Abbreviations, Signs, and Symbols
Abbreviations,
signs, and symbols used to represent concepts, quantities, and
operations in physics and mathematics. Access by term or by
abbreviation. |
|
 |
Encyclopedia of
Modern Physics
Includes
articles on "the most rapidly advancing fields of theoretical and
applied physics." Broad topics include atomic and molecular
physics; phenomenology; quantum physics, mechanics, and fields;
condensed matter; plasmas; nuclear physics and physics of elementary
particles and fields; relativity and gravitation; statistical physics
and thermodynamics. |
|
 |
Historical
Encyclopedia of Atomic Energy
Short articles
on topics related to atomic energy: brief biographies of
scientists and political figures; information on key legislation,
events, places, organizations, and scientific concepts. Focus is
more historical and political than scientific. Entries include
suggested readings. |
|
 |
Scientific
and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations
A dictionary of acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations used in scientific and technical fields. |
|
 |
Wörterbuch Physik:
Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch, Russisch: mit etwa 75,000 Wortstellen
A translation
dictionary including 75,000 physics terms in English, French, German,
and Russian. |
| Handbooks
& Manuals |
 |
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Sections on:
Basic constants, units, and conversion factors; Symbols, terminology and nomenclature; Physical constants of organic
compounds; Properties of the elements and
inorganic compounds; Thermochemistry, electrochemistry, and kinetics; Fluid
properties; Biochemistry; Analytical chemistry; Molecular structure and
spectroscopy; Atomic, molecular and optical physics; Nuclear and particle physics;
Properties of solids; Polymer properties; Geophysics, astronomy, and
acoustics; Practical laboratory data; Health and safety information;
Mathematical tables.
|
|
 |
Handbook of
Heat Transfer
Covers all
aspects of heat transfer, starting with the basic concepts.
Information of use to individuals involved with heat transfer technology
at any level.
|
|
 |
Handbook
of Optics
A general
reference to concepts, techniques, devices, instruments, measurements,
and properties specific to the field of optics.
|
| Research
|
 |
AIP
Style Manual
American
Institute of Physics' guidance on writing papers for physics or
astronomy journals. |
|
 |
Guide
to Information
Sources in the Physical Sciences
Guide to resources for
research in physics and astronomy. Focuses on the history of
publication in physics and the types of materials. Includes an
annotated bibliography of previous guides to physics and related
literature. Discusses abstracting and indexing databases, books,
journals, online sources (includes a list of job hunting resources),
patents, a-v materials, dissertations, grants, bibliographic management
tools, document delivery, copyright and reserves, etc. |
|
 |
Information
Sources in Physics
Aid to
navigating the information resources in physics. Organized by
subject. |
|
 |
Recent
Advances and Issues in Physics
Short articles
(with bibliographies) on recent advances and social issues in all
aspects of physics. Brief biographical sketches of individuals
influential in 20th century physics. Also includes chapters on
careers, organizations, and resources. |
|