library logo

Poverty
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Titles

Encyclopedias

Statistics
Books
Articles
Web Sites
California & Orange County
World

Recent Titles 

Encyclopedias 

new title Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

new title Poverty in the United States: an encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy (2004)
REFERENCE  HC110.P6 P598 2004 v. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

new title American Incomes (2007)
REFERENCE BUSINESS TABLE 2A CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Family Life
REFERENCE  HQ534 .E53 1999 Vol. 1-5 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Psychology
REFERENCE   BF31 .E52 2000 Vol. 1-8 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Sociology
REFERENCE  HM425 .E5 2000 Vol. 1-5 CATALOG RECORD

Statistical Handbook on the American Family
REFERENCE  HQ536 .S727 1999 CATALOG RECORD


Statistics 

Books 

opac screenBelow is a list of recent books. To find additional books, search the Library Catalog by the samples searches listed here.


To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Con
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

Articles of note:   top

"Ending Poverty," CQ Researcher, September 9, 2005.

"State's Poverty Profile Changes; Economics: In contrast to the U.S., nearly half of impoverished children in California live in a two-parent household. Most are the offspring of at least one immigrant." Los Angeles Times, August 26, 2002. 

Measuring Resources: Another Look at Poverty Among Older Persons, Economics of Aging, Spring 2002, pp. 1-4 PDF-8 pages  

"Third of O.C. Kids Poor: Cal State Fullerton analysis says when housing costs are factored in, O.C. poverty rate spikes," Orange County Register, August 17, 2001. For full text, search ProQuest Newspapers by Article Title.

E-Journal: The Future of Children (scholarly journal) - Search for articles on poverty


California & Orange County 

World 

Library Catalog SUBJECT search: poverty

  Library Home Page 
Locations of visitors to this page