Looking
for newspaper/magazine/journal articles on Radio-TV-Film topics? This page
will help get you started.
Databases
The Library subscribes to databases that provide articles on communications topics.
To get to them, follow these steps:
s go to the Library's
homepage and click "FIND
DATABASES"
s at
the right, click on "RADIO/TV/ FILM"
s you
will then see a list of databases that are perfect for finding articles related
to radio, TV, and film.

KEYWORD SEARCHING: Once you are in a database, search
for articles similar to searching on Google: type in keywords of what you
want (e.g. television and censorship and FCC). A list of articles
will then come up. If you see "FULL TEXT" next to any on the list, great!
You can click and read the full-text immediately. If "FULL TEXT" is not
stated, then click on the yellow "Find it" button

SUBJECT SEARCHING: You don't have to only
search with random keywords. Random keywords can often bring up hundreds
of unrelated articles, simply because the keywords appeared somewhere in
the article. Instead, change your search box to a SUBJECT search,
and type a word. This will look for articles entirely ABOUT that word, not
just find that word randomly. For example, an article ABOUT
censorship, not just an article that has the word censorship in it.
Printed
Indexes
To find articles older than 1985, you will need to consult printed
indexes, since databases typically don't cover older than that. Printed
indexes do the same thing as databases--let you find articles by subject,
author, etc.--they are just slower because you have to look the citations up
manually. Here are some printed indexes helpful to RTVF students:
Film
literature index
(from 1973-1994)
Retrospective
index to film periodicals (from 1930-1971)
Los Angeles Times
Newspaper Index (from 1972-1984)
Update: this is now a database! Click
here
New York Times
Newspaper Index (from 1851- 2004)
Update: this is now a database!
Click here
Prepared by: John
Hickok, Audiovisual/Communications Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2009 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.